2018 Hyundai Accent Problems and Top Complaints – Is Your Car A Lemon?

Engine, structure, and electrical system issues among the top complaints received by the NHTSA from vehicle owners

By Brian Jones | Updated on

By Brian Jones | Updated on


The 2018 Hyundai Accent has been hailed as a cost-effective means of transportation, but the automaker also claims that the new models are a “compact that’s big on style.” However, style might be all this vehicle has going for it because the engine, structure and electrical system all appear to be faulty.

Click on other model year to view more problems: 2019   2021

Don’t be stuck with a lemon. You have legal rights to cash, return or buyback.

The law makes Hyundai pay legal fees.

We've fixed thousands of lemon problems. Message or call 877-795-3666 today.

NHTSA Complaints for the 2018 Hyundai Accent

Complaint CategoryNumber of Complaints
Engine
4
Electrical System
2
Fuel/propulsion System
1
Service Brakes
1
Latches/locks/linkages:trunk Lid:latch:emergency Mechanical Release
1
Unknown Or Other
1
Air Bags
1
Structure:body
1

Problems with the Engine

No one expects that the 2018 Hyundai Accent engine is going to be a powerhouse, but it should be reliable enough to get from one place to another. However, that’s not the case.

One Edmunds review states, “At about 140 miles, the car started running rough and the Check Engine light came on. It felt like the car was running on two cylinders. I pushed in the clutch and revved the engine, and the problem seemed to clear up. But as I continued driving, there were occasional surges. Then, on an uphill, the car felt like it was missing. We managed to get home, and had the car towed to the dealer. They replaced the spark plugs. I’m not sure what kind of spark plugs last only 140 miles, but I hope the replacements are of higher quality.”

Aside from spark plug problems, this 2018 Hyundai Accent also suffers from bigger issues. Service Bulletin #5NP-P4Y7D-08 states that the Check Engine Light might come on, requiring a replacement speed sensor or oil pressure harness to correct the problem. As with the spark plugs, everyone hopes that the replacement parts are of higher quality than the originals. With Hyundai only focusing on style, it’s not likely.

Problems with the Structure

The style of a car is only as good as the structure underneath it. With the 2018 Hyundai Accent, it’s clear that this design wasn’t well thought out.

Another Edmunds user says, “In 2019 my husband and I bought a 2018 Hyundai Accent used with 32,000 miles on it. We’ve had it for almost a year and 1/2 and we just hit 77,000 miles. Within the first 2 weeks we got the car the front left bumper popped out of place. We’ve had the clip replaced 3 times now and it pops right back out after 2 or 3 days.”

Additionally, Hyundai knows that there are serious problems with the lighting of the 2018 Hyundai Accent. Service Bulletin #20-BD-014H points out that the headlamps, daytime running lamp, fog lamp and rear combination lamp can all suffer from excessive condensation. Hyundai does do one thing right – it uniformly installs bad or defective parts on vehicles. At least there is continuity.

Problems with the Electrical System

The 2018 Hyundai Accent might not have all of the bells and whistles of a luxury car, but the electrical system still has a big job to perform. If this system doesn’t run right, the drive can be downright unbearable.

That’s what is shown with this Edmunds review. “For the past 2 months the A/C has been flickering off and on while we are riding down the road or just sitting with the car [cranked] up and the air on.”

When it comes to electrical system problems, Hyundai has chosen not to release any significant bulletins. It seems that the automaker feels it might be best to simply ignore the situations and hope that customers don’t notice. The company seems to underestimate those driving its cars, assuming that all they care about is the “style.”

Your Lemon Law Legal Rights

Think you have a lemon? Sit back and let the experts work out your lemon case at no cost to you. The law makes Hyundai pay legal fees. You may be able to get your lemon out of your life. Every year, auto manufacturers buy back, replace or pay cash settlements to thousands of ‘lemon’ owners like you.

Complaint Data

CategoryEngine, Fuel/propulsion System, Service Brakes
DateFeb 15, 2022
StateCA
Description
My 17 yr old son was driving his 2018 hyundai accent home from work, and was merging onto the freeway and when he realized the cars in front of him dead stopped he slammed his brakes but was unable to stop in time. Happens all the time right? It should just have a little front end damage, when the vehicle in front of him only had minor bumper damage. But, instead, within just moments, his vehicle burst into flames and he only had seconds to react. He grabbed his phone and wallet and had to exit through the passenger door because he was on the freeway and needed to get to safety. His car was completely engulfed in flames and burnt the entire car. He was very close to being either badly burned or killed, if he hadn't acted as smart and quick as he did. What if this car was carrying a family with small children, or an elderly person who couldn't move fast or react like my son did. It could have been a much, much worse situation. I just don't want this to happen to anyone else. We, along with everyone else at the scene, including chp and friends who are mechanics, believed this fire should not have happened, and we all feel like something must have been wrong with his vehicle for this fire to have happened. We just purchased this vehicle in sept of 2021 from mission bay chevrolet, we had only made 2 payments at the time of the accident. We have seen far worse accident and far worse front end damage on other vehicles and these car did not catch on fire. Cars aren't supposed to catch on fire in an accident if this nature, this should not have happened, and we really want some answers as to why? Thank you for your time!
CategoryElectrical System
DateFeb 08, 2022
StateTX
Description
My 2018 hyundai accent caught fire in motion on the way to get gas on june 21, 2021. The car had no recalls and no electrical issues prior to the explosion. Fire department ruled the accident as electrical, I had the vehicle for 6 months. A loud explosion sound came from the hood, it started smoking and we pulled the car off the road, moments later it caught fire and created an explosion spreading from the hood to the back of the car. Because I dont have a car, I had temporarily close my small online business, this has been a nightmare.
CategoryEngine
DateJan 18, 2022
StateTX
Description
My 2018 hyundai accent had to recalls when purchased with a auto loan january 2021, in june 2021 the vehicle caught fire and exploded in the motion. Vehicle had been serviced for brake rear drums, 2 diagnostics before june. Fire department ruled fire as electrical.
CategoryLatches/locks/linkages:trunk Lid:latch:emergency Mechanical Release
DateNov 08, 2021
StateGA
Description
The contact owns a 2018 hyundai accent. The contact stated the trunk failed to close. The contact stated that he tied a cord on the trunk ledger and added a hook to keep it closed however, the trunk was still slightly opened. The contact stated that he contacted the dealer several times to schedule an appointment for diagnostic testing, but the dealer had not returned his calls. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The contact received a recall notification for nhtsa campaign number: 21v619000 (latches/locks/linkages). The vehicle was not diagnosed nor repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 2,800.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateSep 10, 2020
StatePR
Description
Tengo un auto huyndai accent 2018 con aparente problema de alineamiento. Al manejar y soltar el guia el auto se mueve hacia el lado izquierdo inmediatamente. Lo he llevado a alinear a dos talleres diferentes y ha pasado la prueba pero continua con el mismo problema. Se le rotaron las gomas y todava sigue con el mismo problema. Quiero saber cual seria el problema del vehculo para poder arreglarlo.
CategoryElectrical System
DateFeb 18, 2020
StateMD
Description
I've had my car for less than 2 years and the battery completely drained/dead. Hyundai refuses to cover it under the 3 year warranty due to my car having over 36k miles. The car was brand new when I purchased it and I've never had a car battery died so fast ever in my life. Also, sometimes the backup camera won't turn off and will stay on even after driving frond for more than 10 minutes. It will only turn back off if I turn the car completely off and then back on again.
CategoryAir Bags
DateDec 26, 2018
StateIL
Description
When my wife uses a seat pillow for back pain on the new car the light that the air bag is not enabled comes on. This is unacceptable and did not happen with a previous hyundai. I was told by the seller's service department that this is normal. It is repeatedly happening when the pillow is in use.
CategoryStructure:body
DateJul 01, 2018
StateWI
Description
Water getting inside of car doors during/after light rain. Considerable amounts of water drain out of door bottom drain holes when car doors are first opened after rain storm. Some water apparently does not drain until all 4 doors are opened. I have waited as much as 24 hours on an hot day before opening car doors and still have water draining out. Concerned about long term rust out of door bottoms.
CategoryEngine
DateApr 23, 2018
StateAL
Description
Accelerator pedal that is too sensitive. With the engine running and I start to accelerate from stationary, the accelerator pedal has an initial surge in power that was not intended by user input. This could cause the car to be out of the users control momentarily and could cause an accident if the driver does not allow for this issue. I have run some diagnostic tools on this vehicle and can confirm the engine is not doing what the accelerator pedal commanded it to do. I can see about 1% pedal input but I see about 10% on engine throttle response. This issue is persistent. The accelerator pedal is almost linear if thee engine is on but not running
CategoryEngine
DateMar 18, 2018
StateFL
Description
Dealer: coconut creek auto mall 4960 north state rd, coconut creek, fl 33073. I --purchased a new 2018 hyundai accent on march 15th, the car's motor after several hours started jerking when the car came to a stop, the revolution needled started spiking. The car started to shake. - I returned the march 15th car (1st car)back to the dealer, they gave me another (2nd) new hyundai accent 2018. We drove the car home, after several hour the same problem, the 2nd car started jerking/shaking. We went back to the dealer on 3/16/18, explained the issue and told the dealer that hyundai should check into this motor jerking/shaking because it may be a mechanical or design related issue which can represent a safety hazard for those not aware of the problem. In summary; 2 cars in a period of 3 days with the same safety hazard mechanical problems. If you google the web you will notice this is not a new problem people are/have experience with hyundai cars. Google and you will read for yourself ## vin passed ## hyunda accent 2018 ##

Who are we? We are Lemberg Law, a Consumer Law Firm

Lemberg Law is a consumer law firm helping victims of bad manufacturing and run-arounds from auto companies. We are ranked A+ by the BBB. Call our Helpline today!  There is no charge unless we win.

Share your story

Does this ring a bell? Have you had a bad experience too? Sound off and share your experience with other visitors in the comment box below.

Brian Jones

About the Author:

Brian Jones spent more than 20 years working as an ASE Certified Master Tech and Parts Specialist at multiple dealerships. Brian has become an authority in the industry, traveling across the country to consult for car dealerships and contributing his expertise as a writer for several major automotive publications. In his spare time, Brian enjoys working on pickup trucks, muscle cars, Jeeps and anything related to motorsports.

See more posts from Brian Jones
BE THE FIRST TO COMMENT

Leave a Reply or Comment

Write a comment below to share online. Or, instead you can to our legal team.

Please select your star rating.

Briefly describe your experience Briefly describe your experience

What’s your name? What’s your name?

What’s your phone number? Please enter a valid phone number

Want to know if you could sue? Get a free legal evaluation Lemberg Law?

Get Your No-Obligation
Case Evaluation

Send a secure message to our legal team.

What’s your name? What’s your name?
What’s your email address? What’s your email address?
What’s your phone number? What’s your phone number?
Briefly describe the problem Briefly describe the problem
Confidentiality Guarantee: We keep your information completely confidential and will not send you spam or sell your information.