2018 Ford Fusion Problems and Top Complaints – Is Your Car A Lemon?

Build quality, steering, brake and engine issues among the top complaints received by the NHTSA from vehicle owners

By Brian Jones | Updated on

By Brian Jones | Updated on

The 2018 Ford Fusion is marketed as a reliable vehicle at a reasonable price. The automaker claims that newer models are a “big part of the big picture.” Yet, customers are struggling with numerous parts, including the steering, service brakes, engine, structure and air bags.

 

Don’t be stuck with a lemon. You have legal rights to cash, return or buyback.

The law makes Ford pay legal fees.

We've fixed thousands of lemon problems. Message or call 877-795-3666 today.

NHTSA Complaints for the 2018 Ford Fusion

Complaint CategoryNumber of Complaints
Engine
33
Unknown Or Other
26
Power Train
25
Electrical System
13
Steering
8
Fuel/propulsion System
8
Air Bags
6
Wheels
6
Seat Belts
5
Structure:body
4

Problems with the Steering

The key to staying on the road is to have a steering system that is responsive and accurate. However, the 2018 Ford Fusion is causing some concern with drivers.

Here is one NHTSA complaint to consider. “When the temperature outside goes over 70 degrees, there’s creaking noises underneath, sometimes very loud when turning, even when parked, moving the steering wheel left or right makes the noise. Looking online, there are several complaints that report the same problem. My car has only 72k miles and it feels like something is going to break. It has been happening all summer this year and it’s getting louder. This has to be a recall.”

Actually, it did turn into a recall. NHTSA Campaign Number 18V167000 states that more than one million vehicles are possibly equipped with a loose steering wheel retaining bolt that could cause the steering wheel to detach while driving. Obviously, if this occurs, there is no longer control over the vehicle. If anyone wants to get a feel for the “big picture” this problem might cause, just go watch the cartoons where the wheel comes off in the driver’s hands. However, in these situations, it’s just not that humorous.

Problems with the Engine

There’s no question that a car’s engine is one of the most vital components. When it runs smoothly, the journey is enjoyable. When it doesn’t, well…

Read this NHTSA review. “Coolant leaked internally. Rough while idling. Loss of power while driving down the interstate.”

Coolant leaking into the engine is a major defect that shouldn’t occur with modern vehicles. However, this is the least of the Fusion’s problems. Service Bulletin #SSM 47922 also discusses issues that are causing the oil filter housing center stem to become damaged and separated. When this happens, oil flows through the reservoir drain port, leading to low oil pressure and engine damage. So, what is the “big picture” Ford has planned with the Fusion? Is it to get a new engine every few years?

Problems with the Air Bags

What is the most important safety feature in any vehicle? Aside from the seat belts, the air bags are probable the most needed. Yet, this system is also defective with the Fusion models.

Another NHTSA complaint states, “Takata airbag. Received notice of airbag recall over two years ago. Still no remedy. We want to use the vehicle for vacation travel but are worried about the safety of the person in the passenger seat.”

These people have been waiting for two years to have the air bag problem fixed. During that time, it’s likely that Ford didn’t suspend their car payments out of courtesy. No; instead they are expected to drive a dangerous vehicle. Aside from the massive air bag recall, there are other concerns. Service Bulletin #SSM 46901 talks about the air bag indicator light illuminating, stating that the system is not working. Since Ford isn’t going to fix it, the only solution would be to leave the passenger seat open, making this five-passenger vehicle a four-seater instead.

Problems with the Brakes

Brakes are another necessary feature to remain safe, but once again the Fusion just fails.

Here is one more NHTSA complaint worth reading. “I was driving home from work through a residential district and was slowing to make turns, I experienced a horrible screeching noise that was coming from what sounded like the front driver side wheel area. It sounded like the screeching of metal on metal. I found a safe location and pulled off the road in a residential neighborhood. The issue occurred again while tow truck operator was driving the vehicle on the back of his flatbed and again appeared to correlate the use of the brake while driving it up the inclined flat-bed.”

In this situation, Ford has not issued any communications. The automaker appears to remain silent in hopes that people stop focusing on how much of a lemon the Fusion is. Still, getting behind the wheel of this vehicle is like driving a deathtrap. From the steering wheel that can fall off to the air bags which won’t deploy, there’s so much wrong before even dealing with the malfunctioning brake system. This Ford vehicle should be getting a closer look at the “big picture” from the junkyard.

Problems with the Build Quality

Looking at all of the defective systems of the Fusion, one can assume that the structure of this vehicle is made to the same level of quality.

That’s what is seen with this Edmunds review. “I liked the Fusion but found out the hard way that nothing locked in the trunk is safe. Our back passenger window was broken and they were easily able to pull the back of the backseat down and take everything we had in the trunk. We were headed on vacation and luggage…everything was taken. Please don’t leave anything locked in the trunk and think it is safe. The trunk is very easy to get into.”

Ford hasn’t been quiet about structure-related issues. Even Service Bulletin #TSB 20-2233 talks about how the newer models are struggling with corrosion of the aluminum body panels. There might even be some peeling paint and bubbling occurring too. Of course, the only solution is to replace the panels, but what is causing the trouble in the first place? Maybe the automaker was too busy looking at the “big picture” to pay attention to such important details. Either way, the Fusion is falling apart at the seams.

Your Lemon Law Legal Rights

Think you have a lemon? Sit back and let the experts work out your lemon case at no cost to you. The law makes Ford pay legal fees. You may be able to get your lemon out of your life. Every year, auto manufacturers buy back, replace or pay cash settlements to thousands of ‘lemon’ owners like you.

Complaint Data

CategoryEngine, Power Train, Unknown Or Other
DateJan 07, 2023
StateTN
Description
While driving down the road the car suddenly flashed engine coolant is over-temperature warning and shut off and lost power. Inside of my vehicle the car was not showing it was running hot on the temperature hand. I was on a blind curve and barely made it to a pull off before the car completelyshut off. There have been no signs of over heating before this. There is a coolant intrusion in the cylinder and the engine block needs to be replaced. 120000 miles and out of warranty.
CategoryElectrical System, Fuel/propulsion System, Unknown Or Other
DateJan 05, 2023
StateFL
Description
When I stop to get fuel/gas for my car, I am unable to turn the ignition off because if I do, the car will not restart immediately or at all. There is also a jerking motion immediately after fueling and while driving. There is a "wailing" noise immediately proceeding the car shutting down. The check engine light is on.
CategoryPower Train
DateNov 14, 2022
StateNY
Description
The contact owns a 2018 ford fusion. The contact stated while driving at an undisclosed speed, the transmission failed to shift into the intended gear, with the "shift system fault" message displayed and the transmission warning light illuminated. Additionally, the transmission inadvertently shifted into park(p). The vehicle was towed to the dealer, where it was diagnosed that the transmission bearing needed to be replaced. The dealer replaced the transmission bearing. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and advised the contact to file a complaint with the nhtsa hotline. The failure mileage was approximately 80,000.
CategoryLatches/locks/linkages:doors:latch
DateNov 09, 2022
StateFL
Description
Doors lock besides driver door if it does lock ot locks you inside the vehicle only way to get out is to roll down the window and open from outside or climb over to get out of a different door! I have had to climb out of the window to get out my car before.
CategoryEngine
DateOct 26, 2022
StateTX
Description
Misfires on cylinder 2. Engine burning oil slowly. Mileage is only 64,390.
CategoryPower Train
DateOct 24, 2022
StateFL
Description
The contact owns a 2018 ford fusion. The contact stated that after reversing out of the driveway, the vehicle failed to shift out the reverse(r) after multiple attempts. The contact stated that the gear shifter indicated the vehicle was in park(p). The contact heard an abnormal clunking noise coming from the gear shifter as the shifter fault message appeared on the instrument panel. Due to the failure, the contact had the vehicle towed to a dealer where it was diagnosed with a defective shifter cable bushing. The manufacturer was notified of the failure and referred the contact to the nhtsa hotline. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was approximately 79,000.
CategoryPower Train
DateOct 17, 2022
StateOK
Description
The contact owns a 2018 ford fusion. The contact stated that while driving at an undisclosed speed, the gear shifter detached, and the contact was unable to shift into the intended gear. The vehicle was towed to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the transmission shifter cable bushing was missing and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired and remained at the dealer. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and informed the contact that there was no recall associated with the vin. The contact related the failure to nhtsa campaign number: 22v413000 (power train) however, the vin was not included in the recall. The failure mileage was approximately 89,000.
CategoryWheels
DateOct 16, 2022
StateNY
Description
At a. Recent appointment at local ford dealer, I was told that tires could not be rotated due to swollen lug nuts. I perceive that as a safety concern as in event of a flat out out on the road, I would be stranded. Dealer quoted a price of over 0 to replace. Seems to me that this should be fords responsibility. I feel uneasy driving my fusion now.
CategoryFuel System, Other:kinetic:flywheel,bearings
DateSep 28, 2022
StateMS
Description
The contact owns a 2018 ford fusion. The contact stated while driving at 50-55 mph, she heard an abnormally loud sound coming from the front the of the vehicle. There was no warning light illuminated. The contact was able to drive to her residence, where she turned off and restarted the vehicle. However, the failure persisted. The vehicle was towed to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the flywheel needed to be replaced. The part was replaced; however, the failure reoccurred a year later. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic where it was diagnosed that the flywheel needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure and referred the contact to the nhtsa hotline and a case was filed. The failure mileage was unknown.
CategoryPower Train
DateSep 28, 2022
StateWV
Description
The contact owns a 2018 ford fusion. The contact stated while his wife driving 5 mph, there was an abnormal sound coming from the vehicle. The contact stated no warning light was illuminated. The contact took the vehicle to an independent mechanic and was informed that the flex plate on the flywheel was fractured. The vehicle was not repaired. A dealer was not contacted. The manufacturer had been informed of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 51,000.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateSep 24, 2022
StateTN
Description
Dial on gear shift kept saying "shift fault, see manual " after investigating, bushing from shifter cable bushing was missing. Many other fusions have had this complaint and recall was issued for certain years. Possibilities are car going out of gear while parked and rolling away. This is a safety for the ford fusion.
CategoryFuel/propulsion System
DateSep 08, 2022
StateTX
Description
Fuel vacuum system failure. Results in the check engine light coming on. Vehicle has died in the middle of the highway. Took vehicle to mechanic and they stated that this is a very common issue they have fixed in over half of the ford fusions he has seen. Vehicle will cut off and will not start. Shows a code for fuel/emissions.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateSep 08, 2022
StateLA
Description
I have had this issue twice now. The vehicle says shift sensor fault or shift sys fault or something. The bushing on the transmission has failed for the 2nd time. Both times stopping me from being able to drive my vehicle to be able to get to my place of employment.
CategoryEngine, Engine And Engine Cooling
DateAug 30, 2022
StateTX
Description
The contact owns a 2018 ford fusion. The contact stated that while operating the vehicle, the check engine warning light remained illuminated with a message stating "engine coolant over temperature" displayed. Additionally, the engine sputtered while the vehicle was being started and there was gray smoke coming from the exhaust pipes. The contact stated that the vehicle would not properly accelerate while depressing the accelerator pedal. The vehicle was taken to the local dealer who diagnosed the vehicle and determined that coolant was leaking into cylinder #1, causing damage to the engine long block. The contact was informed that the engine needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not yet repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure but no assistance was offered. The failure mileage was 112,000.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateAug 28, 2022
StateIL
Description
Unknown. My wrench light has came on 3 times since owning this car. The first 2 times it has came on I was not able to switch out of park after starting my car, but shortly after the light went off on its own and I was able to drive my car. This friday (8/26/22), when on my way to work the wrench light came on again and this time stayed on, I was not able to switch out of park from starting it as well. I had my car towed and I'm currently waiting for the mechanic to see what's wrong with my car( 8/27/22)
CategoryElectrical System
DateAug 24, 2022
StateTX
Description
Son was driving 20 mph and vehicle acted like it shut off, door chime started dinging, steering and brakes locked up and my son crashed into a group of trees, totaling the car. It had electrical issues prior and had shut off once before while he was in a parking lot. The auto shut off at stops worked correctly for a while and stopped working. Parking lights would come on while driving. Just a bunch of weird electronic things before final crash. The car had been repaired from a previous accident, but had been acting odd before that. I think previous owner had crashed it also and I'm wondering if that crash could have been caused by the same malfunctions. Also, air bags never deployed in either of his accidents which was very odd.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateAug 22, 2022
StateMD
Description
Calling this a safety issue may be a stretch, but I can see where a potential exists. In my 2018 ford fusion the trunk frequently pops open of its own accord while the vehicle is parked and ignition is off. It happens often enough that I am afraid to leave anything of value in it. My wife is afraid that it could happen someday while we're driving the vehicle. A trip to my local ford dealer yielded nothing, and they told me that they had never heard of such a thing happening. They did offer to "troubleshoot" it for me at their full labor rate! Nothing found on the ford website. A google search, however, revealed that this has occurred frequently in the fusion and in other ford vehicles, as well as in vehicles from other manufacturers. I love the car and would hate to get rid of it because of this vexing problem, but I'm afraid to leave my golf clubs in the car while I run into a store. Also, the fear that it could pop open while vehicle is in operation leaves me with fear that something could fly out of the trunk and cause an accident or injury. Same google search has shown a number of reports of this happening.
CategoryEngine, Power Train
DateAug 17, 2022
StateOH
Description
There is a coolant leak into the cylinder which causes it to misfire. Ford is aware this is a known problem!!
CategoryEngine
DateAug 17, 2022
StateWI
Description
I am a retired mechanic with over 13 years of professional experience working at multiple dealerships. I purchased my 2018 ford fusion with 2. 0l ecoboost on 6/29/2022 with 73,555 miles. Two days after delivery, within 1 minute of leaving home, the check engine light was illuminated. When I returned home, I used my diagnostic scanner to find code p0300 set. What I found interesting is that the scanner indicated that the code had been cleared 298 miles earlier, which indicated either the prior owner cleared the code, or the dealership cleared the code prior to marketing it for sale. Two days ago, on the way home from work, the check engine light came on again, and I was able to determine that the code was a p0302, misfire on cylinder 2. I checked the coolant level of the car, and it was below the minimum mark on the reservoir. I removed the spark plug from cylinder #1 and cylinder #2 for visual inspection and comparison. Visual inspection of the plugs had a normal carbon build-up on the piston in cylinder #1 and on the ground electrode of the same spark plug, whereas on cylinder #2 there was no carbon buildup on the spark plug nor on the top of the piston; it was "wet looking". I reinstalled the spark plugs, and topped the coolant off and bled air out of the coolant system. I did utilize a combustion gas leak detection tester marketed by blue point that I have used in the past to diagnose faulty head gaskets, but the results were inconclusive. On my drive to work the next day, the check engine light was no longer illuminated. This morning, I examined the coolant reservoir, and there is a noticeable decrease in volume of coolant in the reservoir from the day before, along with the misfire on startup and illumination of the check engine light, with code p0302 being set. To date, the selling dealership and ford have denied my request for any extended warranty assistance for replacement of the defective designed 2. 0l engine. I now have a car I cannot use at all.
CategorySteering
DateAug 17, 2022
StateKY
Description
I just bought my car almost 2 months ago. It has 32,000 miles. Having steering issues.
CategoryElectrical System, Engine, Unknown Or Other
DateAug 12, 2022
StateAL
Description
My car shuts down for some reason while I'm driving and has been running rough for the last couple of days. Also my horn does not work at all. This is a hazard for not only me but everybody. My vehicle have not been inspected, or not that I know of. When I first brought the car 2 years ago I noticed the horn was weak but was told that's how they sound. I forgot when my check engine light came on but it had to be 2 or 3 months ago. Just recently my car started to stop on me while I'm in traffic, the first time it happened was in june. I also went to autozone to see why the check engine light, but it only says small evap leak.
CategoryPower Train
DateAug 10, 2022
StateNY
Description
2 weeks ago I went to drive my car and an error code popped up on my screen stating shift sys fault service required. I took my car to a mechanic I have been using and he checked the codes to diaganose it. He stated that it needs a range control module, range sensor. According to the mechanic this is located inside the transmission and will require quite a bit of time to replace. This sensor controls what gear the car is in. On top of this the mechanic called the ford dealer for the part and I was told the part was on back order with no date yet on when it will come in. Since this happened I have received an update on the part, they were saying possible 08/09 but now as of today has been backed up to 08/19. From my understanding this car has had a recall for the model years 2013 to 2016 for this same error code coming up, but in the past this has dealt with the actual shifting mechanism not the module inside. So at any rate this is definitely a safety issue since I can't drive my car due to it possibly popping out of gear or not staying in park. While it still functions currently I am hesitant to drive it anywhere due to the possiblity of not being able to get it into or out of drive.
CategoryElectrical System:12v/24v/48v Battery
DateAug 09, 2022
StateAZ
Description
The contact owns a 2018 ford fusion. The contact stated that while driving at an undisclosed speed, the vehicle hesitated during acceleration and then stalled with the transmission warning light illuminated. The doors were unable to open after the failure. Aaa inspected the battery and informed the contact that the battery was not properly installed while the battery and bolts were the incorrect sizes. The vehicle was not diagnosed nor repaired by an independent mechanic or dealer. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 44,126.
CategoryPower Train
DateAug 06, 2022
StateCA
Description
Went into reverse to back out of a parking spot and the gear shift went back into park while reversing. After research of the issue it was determined that the bushing that attaches the shifter cable to the transmission detached from the transmission. If the parking brake is not applied, a degraded shifter cable bushing that detaches from the transmission could result in unintended vehicle movement, increasing the risk of injury or crash. There are already recalls issued for the same type if vehicle but my vin number does not populate a recall. I am having a safety issue.
CategoryElectrical System:12v/24v/48v Battery
DateAug 03, 2022
StateNE
Description
The contact owns a 2018 ford fusion. The contact stated that the vehicle was unable to restart due to the battery failing to retain a charge. The contact recharged the battery. The vehicle was taken to the dealer; however, the dealer was unable to duplicate the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 30.
CategoryStructure:body
DateAug 03, 2022
StateOH
Description
I was trying to move items around in my trunk. As I lifted a bag to pull it out, I felt sharp metal cut deep into my finger. I looked in side and saw that the trunk lid was just the frame with holes and no protective covering at all over the metal frame on the top of my trunk. I did not go to the hospital, but it was very deep and probably needed stitches.
CategoryPower Train
DateAug 02, 2022
StateNC
Description
The contact owns a 2018 ford fusion. The contact stated that while the gear shifter was in drive(d), the vehicle failed to respond. The gear shifter then independently shifted back to the park(p) position. The shift system fault service required a warning message was displayed on the instrument panel. The contact's friend was able to move an unknown part inside the gear shifter which allowed her to resume normal driving. The dealer was notified of the failure and informed her that her vehicle was not under recall. The manufacturer was notified of the failure and referred her to the nhtsa. The failure mileage was approximately 108,000.
CategoryPower Train, Seat Belts
DateAug 01, 2022
StateOK
Description
The passenger seat belt is hard to buckle it gets stuck making it hard to even buckle up. And the shifter bushing broke had to use the key in the override shift to get it to shift so I could get it home, my father is the one who found the issue. We will be taking it in to the ford dealership to be looked at and to get fixed. The shift sys fault service required light did come on prior to it not shifting into gear.
CategoryEngine
DateJul 21, 2022
StateKS
Description
The contact owns a 2018 ford fusion. The contact stated while driving 55 mph, the check engine and the temperature warning light illuminated indicating that the vehicle was overheating. The contact was able to pull over, turn off the vehicle, and waited for the engine to cool down. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic and the head gasket was replaced; however, the failure recurred. The vehicle than was taken to an authorized ford dealer to be diagnosed. The contact was informed that the engine needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was contacted but offered no assistance. The contact was also informed that the vehicle was no longer under warranty. The failure mileage was 121,000.
CategoryPower Train
DateJul 12, 2022
StateGA
Description
The contact owns a 2018 ford fusion. The contact stated upon starting the vehicle and attempting to shift into drive(d), the gear shifter remained seized in park(p). There was no warning light illuminated. The warning message "system default" was displayed. The contact sought towing assistance. The towing agent went underneath the vehicle and manually lifted the shifter lever into the correct position. The contact then drove to the local dealer where it was diagnosed that gear shifter cable bushing had failed. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure and informed the contact that they could not assist as the vehicle was not included in nhtsa campaign number: 22v413000 (power train). The failure mileage was approximately 81,700.
CategoryEngine, Fuel/propulsion System, Suspension
DateJul 02, 2022
StateCA
Description
My transmission has start to work weirdly. My car started vibrating when I am driving slow. When move to second gear suddenly the car make stop and move again.
CategoryPower Train:automatic Transmission
DateJun 17, 2022
StateMO
Description
The contact owns a 2018 ford fusion. The contact stated while parked in the parking lot and attempting to drive off, the vehicle failed to shift into gear. There were no warning lights illuminated. The vehicle was not taken to a dealer or independent mechanic to be diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 110,735.
CategoryElectrical System, Unknown Or Other
DateJun 07, 2022
StateIL
Description
The trunk door opens unexpectedly. It has opened numerous times. It opened while driving. It opened while the car on and in park. It opened while in a car wash.
CategoryEngine
DateJun 01, 2022
StateKY
Description
Bought 2018 fusion used with 20k miles. Driving to work the check engine light came on. Took it to auto zone they ran codes and said misfire cylinder 3. Replace plugs and coil packs. Next day check engine light came on again. This time had rough idle at start up. Turned car off and contacted closest ford dealer. Upon inspection told me coolant leaking into head with no blown head gasket. Said to be common problem with ecoboost engines. Need to replace engine for over 00. Not under warranty and ford knows of issue and won't stand behind their product. I'm a single mom with no car to get to work now and no way to fix this. It would take me years to save enough to fix this car. Completely hopeless at this point. No car=no way to work. No job=no home or food. This is a common problem and well known issue but tough luck? How can this be right? How can I feed my children or pay rent? What am I supposed to do? This is not fair. You made a faulty product so you should stand behind it and make it right. This has literally destroyed my life.
CategoryPower Train
DateMay 23, 2022
StateTX
Description
The contact owns a 2018 ford fusion. The contact stated that while parked in parking lot and attempting to shift the gear shifter into drive(d), the vehicle failed to respond. The gear shifter would then independently shift back to the park(p) position. There was no warning light illuminated. The vehicle was not towed to a dealer or independent mechanic and the vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The vehicle remained at the parking lot. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 95,470.
CategorySteering
DateMay 23, 2022
StateMA
Description
The contact owns a 2018 ford fusion hybrid. The contact stated that while driving at an undisclosed speed, the steering wheel felt loose, causing a loss of steering control while making a 360-degree turn. The contact restarted the vehicle and the failure was corrected. The dealer was made aware of the failure and informed the contact that there was no recall associated with the vin. The vehicle was not diagnosed nor repaired by an independent mechanic or dealer. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The contact related the failure to nhtsa campaign number: 18v167000 (steering) however, the vin was not included in the recall. The failure mileage was approximately 63,000.
CategoryPower Train
DateMay 14, 2022
StateOH
Description
When shifting the gears, the transmission gear "dial" locks in the parking position. This has happened twice and caused me to be stranded and requiring a tow. The safety issue is it could happen in traffic. Repaired twice. No warning lamps.
CategoryEngine
DateMay 11, 2022
StatePA
Description
I was driving to work one day and my car's engine light came on and then the overheating light signaled and would drop and then signal again randomly one morning, with no sign of smoke or overheating. Unfortunately, I was crossing a bridge when this happened. My car started to slow down and eventually just stopped moving on the bridge. I finally got it to a mechanic who thought that the codes ran could be fixed with a tuneup. Got a tuneup and the engine light came right back on. He then looked further into the issue and found out about the eco engine issue. I could not drive my car for two weeks until ford could fit me in their schedule because they were booked two weeks out. I get it to the dealer and they tell me the car is leaking coolant into my engine and now my engine needs to be replaced and that this is a common issue but I must pay for this fix myself. This is wrong and completely unsafe to put people on the road in these cars knowing this can happen.
CategoryEngine
DateMay 03, 2022
StateOH
Description
The contact owns a 2018 ford fusion. The contact stated while driving 25 mph, the check engine warning light illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was diagnosed that there was coolant intrusion in the cylinder and the engine block needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure and referred the contact to the nhtsa. The failure mileage was approximately 67,000.
CategoryBack Over Prevention: Sensing System: Camera, Equipment:electrical:infotainment
DateApr 14, 2022
StateMO
Description
The contact owns a 2018 ford fusion. The contact stated that while driving the infotainment touch screen went black with no warning. The contact stated that the rearview camera and hands-free feature were inoperable. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where the failure was diagnosed with a failed accessory protocol interface module (apim). The contact stated the apim was not communicating with the vehicle. The apim needed to be replaced. The contact stated that the vehicle was not been repaired due to the cost. The manufacturer was notified of the failure and informed the contact that there was no recall associated with the vehicle. The contact was then transferred to nhtsa to file a complaint. The approximate failure mileage was 60,000.
CategoryEngine
DateMar 05, 2022
StateMD
Description
Never had a problem with car no leaks nothing than starting to overheat checked coolant was empty refilled next day was empty again yet no leaks had it looked at all coolant is in engine block but no blown head or other way saw in other complaints lots with same car had same problem and said it's a flaw engine where coolant gets into cylinder still owe more money then car is worth now and can't drive
CategoryEngine And Engine Cooling, Unknown Or Other
DateMar 03, 2022
StateOK
Description
Ford issued a recall in 2020 for my car for coolant leaks. My vehicle was under warranty at the time (28k miles), and in the same week had white smoke emissions, engine stalling on the interstate and overheating in idle. The smoke never went away even after extensive, month long repair. The vehicle again had the same issues in august 2020 (76k miles), taken to ford dealership with ,000 in out of pocket expense. It is now march 2022 (82k miles) and my vehicle is still showing signs of coolant leak with no help from any ford dealership.
CategoryFuel/propulsion System
DateFeb 28, 2022
StateCA
Description
The fuel door not opening. The dashboard shows fuel door opening and it doesn't. After watching some youtube videos at the gas station not knowing what else to do I have to now open the trunk and use the emergency release. Nothing seems wrong once it is opened. I found out this is a problem for others with knowing other people posted videos on youtube with the same problem.
CategoryBack Over Prevention: Sensing System: Camera, Unknown Or Other
DateFeb 18, 2022
StateTX
Description
The audio/navigation display screen on my 2018 ford fusion went black as I was backing out of a parking spot almost causing an accident. It immediately came back on after this but unfortunately, it started to happen regularly upon startup, while driving, parked, just randomly, and for longer periods of time. It also started to increase the volume and I couldn't control it. The system completely stopped working after several weeks. I did a lot of research and noticed that this is a significant problem with ford accessory protocol interface modules (apim). Some have already been recalled on certain models of fords and why they are not recalled on any that go out is beyond me. Seems that in and of itself would place some liability on the manufacturer in the event of an accident. The dealership wants to charge over

Who are we? We are Lemberg Law, a Consumer Law Firm

Lemberg Law is a consumer law firm helping victims of bad manufacturing and run-arounds from auto companies. We are ranked A+ by the BBB. Call our Helpline today!  There is no charge unless we win.

,200 to replace the faulty apim, which they described as a continued problem that everyone knows about. So maybe that is the reason it is not recalled. They can make money selling the vehicle and then another

Who are we? We are Lemberg Law, a Consumer Law Firm

Lemberg Law is a consumer law firm helping victims of bad manufacturing and run-arounds from auto companies. We are ranked A+ by the BBB. Call our Helpline today!  There is no charge unless we win.

,200 after 40,000 miles when it goes out. I am very frustrated and will now be

Who are we? We are Lemberg Law, a Consumer Law Firm

Lemberg Law is a consumer law firm helping victims of bad manufacturing and run-arounds from auto companies. We are ranked A+ by the BBB. Call our Helpline today!  There is no charge unless we win.

,200 less happy. Yes, I am frustrated at the financial impact, but it was a safety issue initially and at times startled me while driving, which could have caused an accident. I am sure that there are numerous examples of previous complaints that are able to prove this.
CategoryEngine, Unknown Or Other
DateFeb 17, 2022
StateCO
Description
Cylinder 2 misfire. Told engine needs to be replaced due to a leak. Car was completely dead overnight with no other symptoms leading up to it.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateFeb 08, 2022
StateIA
Description
I was leaving a doctors appointment and a message randomly displayed stating "stop safely now" and the car quit moving. A yellow warning light came on as well. Fortunately I was in a parking lot, but I was unable to get the car to turn off or move for almost 10 minutes. Finally I was able to get to turn off and turn back on and drive home without another incident. It appears this is a common safety issue with ford's hybrid vehicles. I am happy this didn't happen on a street road or the highway and that my daughter wasn't with me. I cannot be getting stranded places with the cold winters in iowa or with my child.
CategoryBack Over Prevention: Camera System, Unknown Or Other
DateJan 13, 2022
StateOK
Description
Faulty apim for radio/navigation/rear view camera. System won't turn on or operate in cold weather. When warm, system works perfect.
CategoryFuel/propulsion System
DateJan 08, 2022
StateIL
Description
I stopped at a gas station in 0 digit degree weather fahrenheit and when I tried to insert the pump into the capless filler, it was frozen guy the actual inner latch that opens to the tank itself. I tried to gently apply pressure and I could not get it to open after trying for 3-4 minutes. Luckily I was close to home since my gas light can come on and I didn't have a lot of gas left, but that also means my car is sitting in extreme cold right now with very little gas, which I believe poses a risk to line freezing. More important, what if I hadn't been as close to home? What if, while trying to drive around and fine someone to help me, I ran out of gas? If a person was in a more rural environment then I am, they might not be quickly seen and might be stranded with a car that can't provide heat any longer and in extreme cold.
CategoryWheels
DateJan 07, 2022
StatePA
Description
Had tires replaced and mechanic reported several swollen lug nuts.
CategoryEngine, Power Train
DateDec 10, 2021
StateMO
Description
Upon entering off ramp to highway , upon acceleration car shudders and goes into limp mode, can't accelerate and forced to try and pull over to stop vehicle and re-start. Very dangerous as it is random, can't re-create and has happened at highway speeds, very unsafe. Took it to dealer, ford could not recreate and said there were no codes present and subsequently found nothing wrong.
CategoryUnknown Or Other, Wheels
DateDec 04, 2021
StateFL
Description
My vehicle gets the tires rotated every 5,000 miles it has 55,000 miles in it the last time they rotated my tires they said the all 2 piece lug nuts will have to be replaced , I'm 75 years old and have worked on all my vehicles and never have I replaced all the lug nuts, I understand this has been happening to many ford products , I hope there is going to be a recall this becomes very expensive if they cannot remove the lug nuts with the impact tool .
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateDec 02, 2021
StateOH
Description
On four separate occasions the truck will randomly open while driving. After the first couple times I was extremely careful to ensure I did not randomly hit the button or had my key fob in a way that the truck release could be activated by accident. Despite this the truck will still randomly open on its own. Could be a very dangerous situation if the trunk is full.
CategoryEngine, Unknown Or Other
DateNov 30, 2021
StateNC
Description
Electrical: my car's radio was going out and I took to ford for a check while getting oil change. They said normal don't worry about it. At this time I was still in warranty. When taken to ford the 2nd time,they “reset” my sync & then the radio/touchscreen complete stopped working within 48 hours. When I told them, I just happened to be out of warranty then. Touch screen is completely blank! It will not turn on or allow controls for heat nor a/c. Cannot see backup camera nor can I hear the beeps. The usb plugs and outlets are also not working! This began in january 2020. I have a 7 month old at the time and it was a very cold winter. Engine: fast forward to august 2020, my car just shut down in the middle of the highway and started shaking with my then 15 month old! Pulled over and had it towed to ford. Ford told me it needed a new engine and would cost 00 to get it fixed. I had never issues before and each oil change received the multi point inspection and I was never informed of any issues prior to.
CategoryPower Train, Unknown Or Other, Vehicle Speed Control
DateOct 22, 2021
StateMO
Description
Missouri
CategoryEngine
DateOct 13, 2021
StateVA
Description
Head gasket failure
CategoryEngine
DateOct 13, 2021
StateVA
Description
Blown head gasket at only 85k miles.
CategoryEngine
DateSep 20, 2021
StateNC
Description
My check engine light came on. It was diagnosed as a misfire in cylinder 2. Today I was told the entire engine needs to be replaced
CategoryAir Bags
DateSep 13, 2021
StateWA
Description
In head on crash air bag did not deploy
CategorySteering
DateAug 12, 2021
StateAL
Description
I just recently purchased my 2018 ford fusion se and about 2 months after I purchased it I noticed clanking noise coming from the front driver side tire area. I took it to mavis and have them look at it and they said that the bolt that held on to the steering control arm had gotten loose and they tightened it it did not make a noise for maybe a day or so and then it just started clanking and the steering and controlling is a lot looser now. I have not been in an accident I am filing this safety report and I am contacting ford dealership to look at it to see if it could possibly be due to the recall that these cars have on them for the steering I don't know why if it is my vin number wasn't included but I'm going to have ford dealership check it out. There were no lights that came up flashing no warning signals but the car's steering has gotten extremely loose and I want to get the problem fixed before there is an incident
CategoryService Brakes, Hydraulic:foundation Components:hoses, Lines/piping, And Fittings
DateAug 10, 2021
StateCA
Description
Car is parked and fine. Started car and abs comes on. Then brake fluid is low. Then hose line is ruptured and throwing out brake fluid.
CategoryEngine
DateJul 30, 2021
StateCA
Description
The contact owns a 2018 ford fusion. The contact stated that after starting the vehicle and shifting into reverse, the vehicle misfired. The contact stated that the check engine warning light was illuminated. The contact restarted the vehicle however, the failure persisted. The failure became worse after driving for a while. The contact took the vehicle to the local dealer to be diagnosed. The contact was informed that the engine needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired however, the repair was pending. The manufacturer was not informed of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 82,700.
CategoryService Brakes
DateJul 23, 2021
StateCA
Description
I was able to replicate the first issue once, second issue happens more frequently: braking system not grabbing on as hard as they should and abs did not activate. Car also seems to lunge forward sometimes when slowing down, most noticeable when preparing to turn. Took the car to get inspected at a ford dealership, they claim to no be able to replicate the issue. I've also opened up a case with ford motor co.
CategoryElectrical System:wiring: Rear Compartment/trunk
DateJul 17, 2021
StatePA
Description
Trunk pops open unprompted frequently, often while driving. This is an electrical issue that ford is not fixing
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateJul 09, 2021
StateAL
Description
Blower motor keeps overheating and failing, potentially leading to engine fire
CategoryEngine
DateJun 18, 2021
StateTX
Description
Check engine light (#2 cylinder misfire) was generated, rough idle on start, cold start is prolonged, high temperature indicated, coolant quickly emptied on its own (within minutes, it was half full) and white smoke exiting the exhaust. Nhtsa has a tsb related to this year model vehicle: https://static. Nhtsa. Gov/odi/tsbs/2019/mc-10169807-0001. Pdf I believe this issue is related to the above link.
CategoryAir Bags
DateApr 30, 2021
StateCA
Description
I was hit by a toyota highlander on hwy 12 ca while waiting for the light to turn green. The trucks appox. Speed 40 to 50 miles an hour,sprain neck,lower back sever pain reptured breast implant knocked front tooth implant out .. Air bags did not come out car is totalled. I was at a dead stop. I was on hwy there was a sheriff right behind the guy who hit me he was on cell phone. My passenger pulled rear out enough to get it to my house so it was not towed. I went to emergence after I got home
CategoryPower Train, Vehicle Speed Control
DateApr 23, 2021
StateDE
Description
I first noticed harsh shifting and delayed shifting. Then I was pulling off from the car wash and my gearshift jump gears from neutral to reverse but not drive however the car did move forward. I had the vehicle towed to winner gord where they immediately knew what the issue was because they said its common. When I got my vehicle back the harsh/delayed shifting was still an issue. Weeks later the car in addition to harsh and delayed shifting it now shakes really bad.
CategoryEngine
DateApr 17, 2021
StateME
Description
45,000 miles on the car. Engine coolant is leaking into the engine cylinders
CategoryPower Train
DateApr 14, 2021
StateMD
Description
Tl* the contact owns a 2018 ford fusion. The contact stated upon starting the vehicle, the vehicle failed to shift out of park. No warning lights were illuminated. The vehicle was towed to auto giant ford (4600 branch ave, temple hills, md 20748, (240) 685-2274) where a diagnostic test could not determine the cause for the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 68,326.
CategorySteering
DateMar 11, 2021
StateWI
Description
Tl* the contact owns a 2018 ford fusion. The contact stated while reversing and making a right turn, the steering wheel became very loose. The contact stated no warning light was illuminated. The vehicle was not yet diagnosed nor repaired. A dealer was not contacted. Upon investigation, the contact associated the failure with nhtsa campaign number: 18v167000 (steering) however, the vin was not included. The manufacturer had not been informed of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 67,000.
CategoryEngine, Power Train
DateMar 10, 2021
StateOR
Description
Drivetrain warning light then a check engine light came on. Had the codes read (p2119) came up took to ford shop and was told my throttle body actuator control system was stuck closed and had failed. My vehicle has just over 41000 miles on it. Luckily it is covered by the warranty.
CategoryAir Bags, Power Train, Unknown Or Other
DateMar 02, 2021
StateGA
Description
I was driving on the highway and all of a sudden a wrench sensor popped up along with the airbag sensor and the car starting de-accelerating and shaking and I had to pull over. I went to a mechanic and they said that the throttle body was dirty so they cleaned it and they cleared the code but it recently happened two more times. When it happens it makes the car not able to start as easily. It's really dangerous because it makes it to where the car will just not accelerate and if you are on the highway there are cars flying right past you. This has happened a total of 3 or 4 times.
CategoryPower Train, Unknown Or Other
DateJan 29, 2021
StateCO
Description
Gear dial stuck in park mode. Gear dial I will not move. When the problem first started then turning the car on and off and trying over and over I was able to get it into gear. This last time that didn't work. Attempted to get the car in neutral using the neutral override method but it failed. Car had to be wenched onto the toeing truck while stuck in gear. Problem began occurring at 40,000 miles. The battery in the car died from leaving the lights on and this seemed to 'reset' the problem and no issues for 6 weeks. Orange wrench warning sign appeared again and now the car is stuck in park and have to tow it to a ford dealer. I also noticed that when this problem occurred the blue anti theft light constantly flashes. After the battery drained and the problem reset then I accidentally hit the lock button twice and this is when the blue lighy started flashing again and I was unable to get the vehicle out of park mode. When I first purchased the vehicle at 40,000 miles I was driving the interstate and the blue anti theft light began flashing and the car alarm sounded while I was at a 75 mph speed. I had to stop the car, turn it off, hit the unlock button on my key fob to get the. Alarm to stop sounding. I believe the two issues may be related as they happen at the same time. The orange wrench only appears when the car will not go in gear. When the car has easily gone in dear the orange wrench is not present. Again, I am unable to engage the neutral override by using the key in the override slot. The lights will flash on the dial but the car will not go into neutral, it remains stuck. I have tried many times and had others try it as well so I know it's not user error. Car alarm goes off while driving on the interstate.
CategoryElectrical System
DateJan 27, 2021
StateOH
Description
Got told by a co-worker yesterday that my trunk was open which was strange since I had my keys laying on my desk with nothing on top of them. I didn't think much of it until today until I parked my car after getting off work and my trunk opened again on its' own. I didn't press the button and there wasn't anything sitting on top of it but I could hear the latch constantly making a noise as if the latch was opening for the trunk. My keys were sitting in my cup holder at that time. Luckily both times my vehicle was stationary but I've read up on this issue and it has happened to other people while the vehicle was in motion
CategoryEngine
DateJan 12, 2021
StateFL
Description
Purchased 2018 ford fusion titanium used in august 2019. In december 2020 my check engine light came on and I took it for service. Service told me that there is a technical bulletin on the ecoboost engine because there is a bad cast on the head. This causes coolant to leak into the oil. The only way to repair is to replace the engine. Ford refuses to stand behind their product and the cost of fixing it falls on me. The vehicle was moving when the check engine light came on and the car smelt of burning. White smoke was coming from the exhaust.
CategoryPower Train
DateJan 07, 2021
StateWV
Description
2018 ford fusion. While driving on highway, side roads, and through town a orange/ yellow wrench symbol would pop up with 'see manual.' looked in manual and said powertrain/ engine fault. Got the vehicle scanned at a shop and came up brake transmission shift interlock(btsi). The light comes on and off. Been told many people have had this complaint and still no recall. Guy at the shop told me their should be a recall for them as he thought in the previous years their was. Looked it up and by what it says online, that it basically keeps it from shifting out of park while foot is not on brake.
CategoryElectrical System, Vehicle Speed Control
DateDec 12, 2020
StateUT
Description
A week ago I was driving on the highway @ 70 mph and all of the sudden my car stopped for no reason I looked down and my turn knob shifter was on park, lucky for me there wasn't any vehicle close behind me. I put my emergency flashers on and turned my car off and back on and it started going again. Then the other day I started it and it started fine put it in reverse and it switched to park when I started backing out of my driveway and a warning showed up on my screen and said to stop safely, so again I turned it off and back on and it started and backed up and drove fine but the warning sign was still there so I pulled back in my driveway turned it off let it sit for about an hour, started it and the warning sign was gone and it ran fine.
CategoryEngine
DateOct 28, 2020
StateCA
Description
Precursor 1: car had three short trips with brief breaks. And about 1 min in off/park before problems occurred. Precursor 2: engine did not fully start and vehicle gear dial wouldn't move out of park. Received a mesage about the brake. Thought this was caused by not depressing the brake pedal enough. Turned off engine, firmly pressed brake pedal and turned on engine, same problem. Tried a 3rd time, same problem. On, maybe 4th attempt the major problem occurred (vehicle engine not turning off). The not starting - brake connection problem had occurred in aug 2019 and feb 2020. Ford dealer could not identify problem in aug. In feb, problem accompanied by "parking brake failure" message and ford replaced it. Not sure if it's part of the problem again. Major problem: on about the 4th attempt to start the car engine, the vehicle engine would not power down and was not driveable. Power on/off button was not responsive to touch, the small green light on power button blinked. Two warning lights appeared when this occurred--the battery light and triangular warning light with the exclamation point. Turned off radio and ac in response to lights. Could move gear dial from park to drive and back but there was no power to drive the vehicle. Engine continued to run for long time quietly seemingly on battery although panel didn't show it was in hybrid mode. Windows and locks worked. When opened door, the "door ajar" message appeared that appears only when engine is on. When tow truck driver arrived, he walked long distance from car with key--engine still ran-- and he was unable to power down the engine from inside vehicle too. Eventually resorted to disconnecting the small battery to turn off engine; however, that cleared out the codes from the warning lights and so there's no data for ford to find other than the battery codes upon reconnecting the vehicle.
CategoryAir Bags, Seat Belts
DateOct 15, 2020
StateAZ
Description
I was driving on the freeway and got into a car accident, I was going 60mph and was only able to slow down to 40mph. My airbags didn't even go off with such a big impact and rear ending someone, and my seatbelt didn't lock until after I flew forward hitting the steering wheel.
CategoryEngine, Power Train
DateSep 15, 2020
StateAZ
Description
2018 ford fusion se 1. 5l ecoboost 66k miles- 8/27/2020 I was exiting the freeway approaching a stoplight when out of no where my car felt as if it were going to stall out, very rough shaky idle, and idling at 800 or less rpms. On green, I attempted to go and my car was having trouble accelerating, again feeling as if it was going to stall due to little power. The check engine light came on and was flashing then would stay lit, flashing every so often. Air conditioning would go in and out warm to cold and it was rough and shaky trying to get the car to go. I took it to autozone immediately where I got the p0302 reading involving ignition coils and spark plugs. We replaced all 4 plugs and coil packs that night and the following morning and the car was still idling rough and having trouble accelerating. Took car to a mechanic shop 8/29/2020 where it was looked at 8/30/2020. They told me it was for sure cylinder 2 misfire and that the spark plug was covered in oil (which was brand new coils, no oil when they were replaced just days before). Had the car towed to the ford dealership I purchased it at 9/1/2020 and it was inspected the following day. The verdict was vertical scoring present on cylinder walls in consistent with piston and piston ring causing oil consumption and pressure loss; needs a new long block. This was nothing I had done to the vehicle, no previous issues with the vehicle, up to date on all oil changes and maintenance but my warranty had ran out. After much research, I discovered this problem has happened to many 1. 5 l ecoboost engines and ford is aware of the default in the engine. This was a problem with the engine before I took possession of the car. There is reprogramming of software to bandaid the problem but now this is my problem they want me to take responsibility for.
CategoryEngine
DateSep 11, 2020
StateTX
Description
Coolant leaked internally. Rough while idling. Loss of power while driving down the interstate.
CategoryService Brakes
DateAug 19, 2020
StateGA
Description
2018 ford fusion. Consumer writes seeking reimbursement for safety recall 19s54. *ld *js
CategoryElectrical System
DateAug 11, 2020
StateNJ
Description
My electrical in my car does not always work power steering windows are affected cannot use my iphone to make or receive calls windows don't go up and down
CategoryStructure:body
DateJul 03, 2020
StateGA
Description
Back passenger door unlatches while driving sporadically. Ford previously had a recall on the 2016 model however, they are stating that this does not fall under the recall. My 4 year old son sits in the back seat in his car seat. This is extremely dangerous. My vehicle is at the dealership now and they are filing a claim through my 3rd party warranty company and making me pay for the deductible and I suspect the loaner vehicle. I just purchased the vehicle in march 2020 and I have noticed it when since purchase. *tr
CategoryEngine
DateJun 24, 2020
StateCT
Description
June 15, 2020: I started the car and immediately, a mil light came on and the combustion engine idle was rough (rpm going up and down). Within about 30 seconds, a message saying "stop safely now" popped on the dash and within a few seconds, the engine stopped. I turned the car off and back on, but it did the same thing (stop safely now and engine stopping). The car was still in my driveway. Had the car towed to dealer, and after 8 days, the car was repaired (new map sensor) 6/23/2020: drove home from dealer (10 mi) 6/24/2020: started car and drove to work. Within 3 miles, same "stop safely now" message popped and the car killed the engine while I was driving on a major road. This was a dangerous situation as when the car does that, you have no brake assistance, no power steering and no propulsion. Had to get the car towed a second time. *tr
CategoryElectrical System, Structure:body, Visibility:sun/moon Roof Assembly
DateMay 22, 2020
StatePA
Description
The sunroof leaks into the inside of the car saturating the headliner and the water is coming through and dripping directly on the shifter, eco button, and the traction control button. I am afraid it's going to mess with the wiring throughout the whole car. *tr
CategoryEngine
DateMay 19, 2020
StateNY
Description
Received a message that ford that the coolant could be going into engine and could damage engine might need a part im in florida since 1/2/2020 the car is on insurance mode not being moved or started so no damage can happen we will be back in n y mid june , the car is a lease car and will I bstill be able to bring in for repairs without any cost to me which I cant control do to the virus in n y c. *tr
CategoryWheels
DateApr 03, 2020
StateCA
Description
Recently brought vehicle in for oil change and tire rotation to farney ford in selma, ca dealership and was told that the lug nuts expanded and cannot be removed. Therefore I would have to pay to have 5 lug nuts replaced on all 4 factory installed tires in order to get a tire rotation. The vehicle has gone in for timely oil changes and did have tire rotation done by the farney ford dealership within the past 15 months. We did put a complaint in and was assigned a case number from ford. 5 days later and still no response. What will happen if I get a flat and can't get the lug nuts off? We live in a farming town and travel through back roads to get in to fresno, ca.
CategoryPower Train
DateMar 29, 2020
StateMI
Description
On 3/6/2020 we took vehicle in to dealership. They performed oil change and reprogrammed pcm due to recall that was issued on my vehicle. 2 days later we started having issues with gas mileage sensor. Dealership to us to reset. Vehicle continue to have ussues warning lights are on, now we have parasitic drain. Car wont start. We have gotten jump start next day vehucle wont start. We were told battery is good. Issue is with module. I went through on last ford vehicle and after 4 repairs, spending out of pocket thousands of dollars they never fixed ford focus so I purchased ford fusion and now the exact same issue. It also may loud sound during jump start. Vehicle has been disabled since 3/27/2020.
CategoryElectrical System, Unknown Or Other
DateMar 02, 2020
StateNJ
Description
At a rent-a-car facility in absecon, nj, customer returned the vehicle complaining that the vehicle would not stay locked. Car was parked, no doors were ajar (rental agent made sure of it), locked vehicle, and tried the handles. Found after one or two pumps on any handle the vehicle would unlock itself. Even tried to lock with the eject key in the fob itself and the same result occurred. Checked back log on vehicle for key code on the driver door to find no such code available. This may be an electrical/fuse issue regarding the door lock actuators.
CategorySeat Belts
DateMar 02, 2020
StateWI
Description
Passenger rear seat belt latch not allowing seatbelt to latch, have to try several times before latch will work, this is usually when the vehicle is parked and not in motion
CategoryEngine, Fuel/propulsion System
DateJan 22, 2020
StateCA
Description
Check engine light, lots of white smoke out of tailpipe and dark black spark plugs at 15,000 miles! Dealer said I got bad gas or vandalism therefore no warranty coverage. I had to pay a local mechanic to replace spark plugs, pump out and replace fuel. Two weeks later I receive a ford letter stating coolant can leak into the cylinder bores causing exactly happened to my vehicle. Now I have to seek reimbursement.
CategoryEngine
DateJan 14, 2020
StateOH
Description
I started losing coolant as a I drove without any visible leaks around the engine or cooling system. I decided to take the vehicle in to my dealer only to find out that the coolant is leaking internally and that the dealer is very used to seeing this issue on 2018 and 2019 ford fusions. They told me that they will need to replace the entire engine. Thankfully it's under warranty. If this is such a common issue that the dealer is aware of it as soon as I bring in the vehicle, why is there no recall on this issue? They are warranting the replacement parts and labor... So I'm assuming they have fixed the issue.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateJan 12, 2020
StateTX
Description
Metal scratching under car
CategorySteering
DateSep 11, 2019
StateTX
Description
Tl* the contact owned a 2018 ford fusion hybrid. While the contact was entering the highway on ramp at 45 mph, another vehicle veered into the contact's lane. The contact jerked the steering wheel and attempted to depress the brake pedal to avoid the other vehicle; however, the wheels seized. As a result, the contact's vehicle drove off road, over a curb, and crashed into a tree. The air bags did not deploy. There were no warning indicators illuminated. There were no injuries and a police report was filed. The vehicle was towed to an unknown location and deemed destroyed. The cause of the failure was not determined. A few days prior to the crash, the contact heard a grinding noise when turning the steering wheel. The contact found an unknown recall regarding a steering column bolt, which affected the 2014-2018 models. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and did not assist. The failure mileage was approximately 19,878.
CategorySteering
DateAug 24, 2019
StateIN
Description
Steering wheel lose
CategoryWheels
DateJul 24, 2019
StateMD
Description
There's a leak in the valve stem on the front right tire.
CategoryFuel/propulsion System
DateJul 11, 2019
StateVA
Description
While driving on I-95 in extremely heavy traffic the 2018 ford fusion suddenly decelerated and indicating lights came on. It was harrowing and extremely dangerous to navigate the disabled vehicle. The ford dealer states the throttle body needs to be replaced. This is interesting since, the car is only six months old. Additionally, this is a known on other (older) ford models which makes me suspect they are using known defective parts.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateJul 09, 2019
StateCA
Description
The dial on the council (interior) for changing, engaging the gears is pricking my fingers. I have cuts and lifted skin where the dial has caught my fingertips when using (turning) the dial to engage. The metal or material it's made of is poking out in some areas near the bottom edge. I took my car into the ford store in morgan hill, ca. And nothing was or could be done to correct the problem. This occurs every time I drive my car.
CategoryUnknown Or Other, Wheels
DateJun 25, 2019
StateWA
Description
The rims and michelin energy savers tires are unsafe; twice I have to replace due to simple issues such as bumping sliding over the median at slow speed and backing up, to get off from it. The low profile and skinny walls, no spare for hybrid, are unsafe!
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateJun 09, 2019
StateFL
Description
The wipers on the 2018 ford fusion are incredibly slow even at the highest speed setting. Even in moderate rain the highest speed will not clear the windshield fast enough. In a heavy downpour even on city surface streets (35mph) the windshield barely gets cleared, you may have a tenth of a second to look through a point of the windshield to see in front of you before it gets covered in rain again, then have to wait over a second before the wiper arm comes back to clear the area. The highest speed on this car is comparable to the low speed setting on my f250 which is adequate for light constant rain.
CategoryElectrical System, Fuel/propulsion System
DateJun 08, 2019
StateCA
Description
While driving at 40 mph, the vehicle lost power. There were no warning indicators illuminated prior to the failure. The infotainment screen system and the dash console dials all went completely dark. The vehicle immediately shut down with no power in the middle of the road. The vehicle would not start up again. How can a vehicle be driving down the road and suddenly and without warning go "dark" and shut down and cannot be start up again? Multiple cars (much older cars) had to swerve around my brand new 2018 ford fusion energi plug in. The vehicle is at the dealer and it is awaiting diagnostic testing and repairs.
CategoryPower Train
DateMay 22, 2019
StateWA
Description
Changes gears on its own example-after getting in the car putting seat belt on, putting foot on brake and starting the car, putting car in reverse,checking mirrors using the backup camera I look one more time. I was in a busy parking lot. Let my foot off the brake when it went into park. An other time was at the bank I put the car in reverse to get closer to the window then to get closer I put car in drive it went back to park. An other time I had pulled out of my drive way stop to put the car in drive started to move forward when it went back to park. Every time something went wrong it go back to park. I was just setting in the car once with my friend that I was showing her my car when the park flashed it also happen to me when I was looking at something at the bank when the park light flashed. The day I take the car to the dealer service to tell them I didn't,want to drive the car any more I was talking to the saleperson that help sale the car to me, he told me move the to next lane so the service people could look at it again when the gearshift move in my hand. I have talked to the dealership many times. One manger even told me to go to a dr. For head because there was nothing wrong with my car. Ford is having a lot of trouble with their cars a lot with the gears shift too. What if something go wrong when I am going 60 to 70 miles death! Show her my car when the park light flashed I really afraid to drive this car. As for the date you ask for below. It has happen time many times since dec 2018 also on city streets, at home and in parking lot. Also in motion
CategoryElectrical System
DateMar 25, 2019
StateAZ
Description
Had car 1 year with no issues, now all of a sudden the sync 3 navigation system keeps breaking. Started with getting a no gps symbol in the bottom left corner of the navigation window. Now sometimes it effect the radio, phone and climate systems by reacting really slow to any commands, if it does anything at all. You can push a button and wait over a minute for a command to be executed sometimes. Other times, get in car, everything is fine, but eventually the no gps symbol will come back on, and all accessories will work fine, other times they go into slow motion. Took to dealer at 13 months and approx. 15k miles, they said it needed at software update. Worked great until we got home and the no gps symbol came on as we reached home. Took back in, they said it needed a new computer brain for that system, but its on national backorder. It ended up coming in a week later, took car in 2 weeks later and everything was fast again and working in dealer parking lot as we set up the controls for phone, etc again. Next morning, the no gps symbol came on again. Later that day, radio would not respond to buttons pushed or commands through voice from steering wheel controls. Next day, still same problems with gps. Have yet a fourth appointment to take it in now, (first was software upgrade, second to say it needed new computer, third to replace computer, now fourth because its still not working) getting fed up with paying all this money for the top of the line fusion energi and having this issue that is still not fixed and having to keep taking it in.
CategoryElectrical System, Engine
DateFeb 27, 2019
StateMI
Description
While stopped at a intersection for a red light the car completely died. I couldn't turn on the emergency flashers, roll down windows or unlock doors. Everything was dead. I was idling at the stop light when this happened.
CategoryAir Bags
DateFeb 25, 2019
StateNM
Description
2009 ford. Consumer writes seeking reimbursement for rental while waiting for takata airbag safety recall to be repaired on vehicle. *ld *tr
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateNov 26, 2018
StateAZ
Description
2018 ford fusion hybrid. Consumer writes in regards to safety issue with vehicle. *ld the consumer stated the owner of the vehicle was found deceased, wedged between the driver's side door and the door post in the driveway of a mobile home. The engine was running and the vehicle was in gear. It appeared the vehicle rolled up against the steps of the mobile home. The vehicle was inspected, but there were no discrepancies found. *js
CategoryVehicle Speed Control
DateOct 29, 2018
StateTX
Description
On october 17, 2018, I drove into a shopping center parking lot and proceeded to park in front of the shops. I had entered the parking space at a very low speed and was almost at a dead stop when my 2018 ford fusion sport lurched forward with such a powerful burst of speed, I was unable to stop before hitting a window and brick wall dividing the shops. No floor mat issue was involved and I did not step on the accelerator thinking it was the brake. A police report was filed and insurance notified. The car is still at ford dealer for repair. The collision & service manager told us that no error could be found when pulling codes. This is a major & deadly problem with auto safety and advanced electrical systems. An electronic glitch in the throttle control system that cannot be detected after accident should be number 1 priority on auto safety !!!! I am seriously afraid to drive my car after repairs because like russian roulette, it may happen again because the problem did not leave a trace the first time. The next time could be at an intersection and lives could be lost !!!!
CategoryAir Bags
DateSep 29, 2018
StatePA
Description
Takata airbag. Received notice of airbag recall over two years ago (july 2016). Still to remedy. We want to use the vehicle for vacation travel but are worried about the safety of the person in the passenger seat.
CategorySteering, Unknown Or Other
DateAug 31, 2018
StateMD
Description
When the temperature outside goes over 70 degrees, there's creaking noises underneath, sometimes very loud when turning, even when parked, moving the steering wheel left or right it makes the noise. Looking online, there are several complaints that report the same problem, my car has only 72k miles and it feels like something is going to break. It has been happening all summer this year and it's getting louder. This has to be a recall.
CategoryElectrical System, Engine, Power Train
DateJun 19, 2018
StateMI
Description
While driving, the car's dashboard indicates a powertrain fault (via amber wrench symbol). Car seems to go into a limp home mode that has symptoms of grabby brakes and lower fuel economy. Car has also stalled out while driving, losing all power, and requires the operator to fully stop, shift the car into park, turn off the car, turn the car back on, and then shift back into drive before the operator can continue driving. Extremely unsafe because the vehicle rapidly decelerates and there is no warning prior to the car stalling. The powertrain warning light originally occurred on 15jun2018 while leaving work and travelling at about 25 mph when the light turned on. It stayed lit the entire drive home (about 50 miles) and was steady for speeds ranging from stopped to about 70 mph. During this episode, the car did not stall. On 18jun2018, while leaving work, the car once again illuminated the powertrain warning, but then immediately stalled and I drifted to the edge of the road. I stopped the car, put it in park, turned the car off and back on, and then put it back into drive, where it functioned, but with the powertrain warning illuminated. I drove home at speeds ranging from stopped to 70 mph, but when I exited the highway at my city, on the surface streets the car stalled out 2 more times with no warning, leaving me to put on my hazards and quickly try to restart the motor. Car had just under 5000 miles on the odometer when this first occurred. Car is a ford fusion hybrid 2018.
CategorySeat Belts
DateApr 14, 2018
StatePA
Description
In mid-february 2018, after just over 1 month of ownership and with 939 miles on the vehicle, the front passenger seat belt became locked while not in use. The seatbelt was locked not in use unable to be used. This was discovered while the vehicle was parked in an outdoor parking space at the owner's home. The vehicle had not been involved in any collisions. The seatbelt and pre-tensioning system was replaced by the dealership under warrenty.
CategoryService Brakes
DateApr 14, 2018
StatePA
Description
I was driving home from work through a residential district and was slowing to make turns, I experienced a horrible screeching noise that was coming from what sounded like the front driver side wheel area. It sounded like the screeching of metal on metal. I found a safe location and pulled off the road in a residential neighborhood. The issue occurred again while tow truck operator was driving the vehicle on the back of his flatbed and again appeared to correlate to use of the brake while driving it up the inclined flat-bed.
CategorySteering
DateApr 07, 2018
StateTX
Description
Sold car with open recall from mac haik ford , georgetown, tx
CategoryEngine
DateMar 26, 2018
StateCA
Description
I pulled up to the garage door stopping to press the remote button to open the door (as I do every day). Suddenly the car lurched forward in the building damaging the door post and the front of the car. When I saw the building coming closer I had slammed the brake as hard as I could.
CategorySeat Belts
DateMar 15, 2018
StateTX
Description
When seat belt is detached from either driver or passager no indicator while driving. It indicates after driving for 2 minutes.
CategoryLatches/locks/linkages:doors:latch, Structure:body
DateMar 05, 2018
StateAZ
Description
Car was in motion on a city street about 40 mph going straight and all of a sudden the driver side door became unlatched and partially opened. A noise on the dash sounded and stated the drivers door was ajar, and the lights on the inside of the door turned red. It seemed to be partially latched still since it would not open all the way, but I had to use the inside door handle to open the door and then close it all the way again. I had already traveled about 1 mile from my home when the door partially opened, and there were no dash or warning signs it was open when I left. Temperature outside was clear, no rain or wind and about 50-55 degrees outside. Car was prior in the garage before I left about 1130 pm.
CategoryService Brakes
DateMar 16, 2017
StateWI
Description
Abs pump failure. Abs pump fails during an anti-lock event causing pedal to go to floor and no stopping power. Occur sporadically when on ice/slush/snow or when braking on a rough rode.

Who are we? We are Lemberg Law, a Consumer Law Firm

Lemberg Law is a consumer law firm helping victims of bad manufacturing and run-arounds from auto companies. We are ranked A+ by the BBB. Call our Helpline today!  There is no charge unless we win.

Share your story

Does this ring a bell? Have you had a bad experience too? Sound off and share your experience with other visitors in the comment box below.

Brian Jones

About the Author:

Brian Jones spent more than 20 years working as an ASE Certified Master Tech and Parts Specialist at multiple dealerships. Brian has become an authority in the industry, traveling across the country to consult for car dealerships and contributing his expertise as a writer for several major automotive publications. In his spare time, Brian enjoys working on pickup trucks, muscle cars, Jeeps and anything related to motorsports.

See more posts from Brian Jones
5 COMMENTS
  • Cody

    My comment is with powertrain. It’s usually the battery and usually get it in before you experience worse lop problems and start to to get the power steering looked at

  • David R

    I own a 2018 Ford fusion hybrid and I had my local dealership service my check engine light. Well it was the ecm. I went back 5 seperate times to fix this issue. O2 sensors complete wiring harness eventually a new ecm. Well my check engine light is still on and the dealership said they needed to talk to ford’s engineers because they did all they could to fix the problem. Well I still am driving around with my check engine light on and if I ever want to sell the car I won’t be able to.

  • Tyler

    While the hybrid isn’t the quickest, it isn’t horrible, a little doggie but it gets the job done. I have had mine for 9 months, i drive a lot for work so I love the gas millage. The car its self is beautiful, love the body lines and the size of the car and all the options I got for the price.

  • Jack

    My 2020 walks wagon Jetta is not working good and is still under warranty. I have been facing the transmission problem with my new car .

  • Genita G

    In January of 2020 I was driving on an interstate. Because of traffic, I was only traveling 35-40 MPH. Suddenly the truck in front of me stopped & as I used my brakes, they instantly went to the floor, causing me to hit the truck in front of me, thus causing him to hit the car in front of him. I was in shock, because there was absolutely no reason for this wreck. I wasn’t speeding nor following too close. I wasn’t given a citation but my insurance repairs all 3 vehicles. I took the vehicles to a Ford dealership where they determined there was nothing wrong with the brakes, but there was. I am not dreaming this up. I contacted multiple attorneys but each said they didn’t handle cases like this. Not that I wanted big bucks, I just wanted to prevent anyone else from going through the same thing. What if the brakes fail with someone crossing the street? How many people have had wrecks and their insurance premiums skyrocketed because of Ford’s brakes? There are many complaints of Fusion brakes, but not that many with 2018 cars. I don’t believe that.

Leave a Reply or Comment

Write a comment below to share online. Or, instead you can to our legal team.

Please select your star rating.

Briefly describe your experience Briefly describe your experience

What’s your name? What’s your name?

What’s your phone number? Please enter a valid phone number

Want to know if you could sue? Get a free legal evaluation Lemberg Law?

Get Your No-Obligation
Case Evaluation

Send a secure message to our legal team.

What’s your name? What’s your name?
What’s your email address? What’s your email address?
What’s your phone number? What’s your phone number?
Briefly describe the problem Briefly describe the problem
Confidentiality Guarantee: We keep your information completely confidential and will not send you spam or sell your information.