2018 Ford F-350 Problems and Top Complaints – Is Your Car A Lemon?

Tailgate, suspension and steering issues among the top complaints received by the NHTSA from vehicle owners

By Brian Jones | Updated on

By Brian Jones | Updated on

When a driver gets behind the wheel of a 2018 Ford F-350, they expect that it is going to provide “Super Duty.”  Sadly that isn’t the case with this model. Instead of heavy-duty ability, owners face mounds of problems. The steering causes issues, the suspension leaves a lot to desire and the tailgate simply won’t stay shut.  It should be classified as Trouble Duty instead.

Click on other model year to view more problems: 2017   2019   2022

Don’t be stuck with a lemon. You have legal rights to cash, return or buyback.

The law makes Ford pay legal fees.

We've fixed thousands of lemon problems. Message or call 877-795-3666 today.

NHTSA Complaints for the 2018 Ford F-350

Complaint CategoryNumber of Complaints
Steering
84
Suspension
68
Structure:body
23
Wheels
22
Unknown Or Other
16
Electrical System
9
Engine
2
Visibility/wiper
2
Power Train
2
Service Brakes
2

Steering (Death Wobble)

When a driver heads out in their heavy-duty F-350, they don’t expect to run into significant trouble making their steering system perform the way it should. Yet, we see time and time again that owners struggle to keep the truck on the road when the littlest occurrence gets in the way.

Read this one comment left on the NHTSA website. “Traveling on the Interstate at approx. 65 mph, hit a bump in the road and the front end started violently shaking and had to slow to below 30 mph to get the shaking to stop. I have experienced this several times. I took the truck to the shop and they did a front end alignment and checked the balance of the tires, never mentioning the “death wobble.” It did take care of the problem for 3 months, however the problem has returned.”

What’s interesting about this complaint is that it isn’t a lone instance. Users across the country all experience the same thing. Despite all of the backlash to the company, Ford remains silent on the situation. There are no service bulletins or communications worth mentioning and no fixes being offered. It appears that drivers are supposed to just take it super slow while driving down the highway; maybe even put their four-ways on to alert others.

Here are some actual complaints logged with the NHTSA about the 2018 Ford F-350 Steering Problems:

“Death wobble” after hitting bridge joint, at 70 mph on highway, had to come to complete stop to for truck to stop wobbling. Truck has 14000 miles on it

When hitting a pot hole or expansion joint on roadways the truck has a violent shake or wobble in the front end making it very hard to control and drive.

Traveling approximately 50 mph over rough paved road, the steering started oscillating severely and continued until vehicle was slowed down to approximately 20 mph. Happened the next day under very similar circumstances

Suspension

Going hand-in-hand with the steering issues, we see multiple troubles with the suspension. Since this system is designed to make the ride smooth and comfortable, we understand why customers are outraged and even scared to drive their trucks.

Here’s another complaint on the NHTSA website that sounds familiar to the last one. “While driving on the Interstate, on multiple occasions, at speeds of 55-70 mph, I’ve hit a small bump or rough patch on the road. This sends the steering wheel/front end into a violent, uncontrollable, oscillating wobble which requires you to pull off the road to get it to stop. This vehicle is unmodified and well-maintained since I purchased it brand new nine months prior. These incidents have caused shoulder and neck pain and have made me scared to even drive it. Ford has yet to acknowledge or repair this issue.”

Just like with the last complaint, we see that Ford has nothing to say. This “death wobble” incident is a real problem and is causing many loyal Ford owners to ditch the company for other automakers. Clearly, something went wrong with the manufacturing of these heavy-duty pickups and it must be fixed. It seems like Ford is simply trying to ghost its fan base. Maybe they are tired of producing America’s best-selling truck and they want to turn the title over to someone else.

Here are some actual complaints logged with the NHTSA about the 2018 Ford F-350 Suspension Problems:

TL* The contact owns a 2018 Ford F-350 SD. While hauling a trailer at highway speeds, the trailer detached without warning from the pins and aluminum connection. The failure damaged the rear of the vehicle and the trailer. The owner’s manual had not indicated that the towing capacity exceeded the guidelines. The dealer was not contacted. The manufacturer was notified. The insurance adjustor towed the vehicle to a repair facility to inspect the damages. The contact was waiting for a response from the manufacturer. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The failure mileage was not available.

Driver experiences wobbling or shaking in the vehicle at highway speeds (>45 mph). It stops at lower speeds. The symptoms are consistent with ford’s TSB 18-2268.

Structure (Tailgate and doors not securely closing)

While traveling with the 2018 Ford F-350, many people tow or carry cargo. That is what this truck is intended for, so it makes complete sense to give it a go. Sadly, many owners find that the tailgate has a mind of its own, often causing damage to these towed vehicles.

One NHTSA reviewer reported, “We are experiencing numerous uncommanded tailgate drops while the vehicle is in motion or just running. We recently were towing our 5th wheel trailer and when we pulled into fuel up our tailgate dropped and damaged both the truck’s tailgate (top molding) and put a hole in the front compartment door of the fifth wheel. We have taken the truck into two Ford dealerships and they have not been able to duplicate or diagnose the problem and per Ford Motor Company, they have stopped trying to diagnose the problem. On another day, we experienced three different uncommanded tailgate drops while we were towing our boat. One time, my husband was backing the truck and I was standing alongside the truck and the tailgate dropped uncommanded.”

Do you think there is a service bulletin from Ford about this complaint? If you said no, you’ve gotten the gist of what is happening here. Ford wants you to spend plenty of money to have a heavy-duty pickup, but apparently, they don’t want to invest that money into making a durable truck. What customers are left with is one big disappointment and a company that doesn’t want to fix the problems. Now we understand why loyal followers are looking to divorce Ford. It’s become a dysfunctional, damaging relationship, to say the least. Maybe they will do better with a truck that’s “Like a Rock” instead.

Here are some actual complaints logged with the NHTSA about the 2018 Ford F-350 Tailgate Problems:

Doors will not close, open, and or come open while driving usually on below freezing temperature days. This has happened while stationary and driving while making a turn drivers side door whipped open fortunately there was no oncoming traffic. Moisture in door latches freezing is the problem. Unfortunately there is no way to know if the latch is fully engaged while in motion. Also circumstance can occur that leave you locked in vehicle with only escape thru a window. Ford has called this repair customer service advisor 18n03. However this has been a ongoing problem with for vehicles for several years and Ford keeps putting out repairs that are often ineffective.

The tailgate will come down while riding down the road or after hitting a bump. Very unsafe while hauling or towing. There is no indicator in the cab to tell you the tailgate has dropped. Have had it in for service at least 4 times. Vehicle is less than a year old.

Electric tailgate has released and dropped open while driving. Has happened three times at low speed. Twice while pulling fifth wheel trailer and once not towing anything.

Your Lemon Law Legal Rights

Think you have a lemon? Sit back and let the experts work out your lemon case at no cost to you. The law makes Ford pay legal fees. You may be able to get your lemon out of your life. Every year, auto manufacturers buy back, replace or pay cash settlements to thousands of ‘lemon’ owners like you.

Complaint Data

CategoryForward Collision Avoidance: Sensing System: Camera
DateDec 01, 2022
StateGA
Description
The contact owns a 2018 ford f-350. The contact stated while parking the vehicle, the contact noticed that the visibility of the front camera was reduced. When the contact exited the vehicle, he noticed he had almost struck the vehicle in front of him. The vehicle was taken to the dealer and the contact was informed that there was no recall for the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was contacted and stated that there was no recall for the failure and referred the contact to the nhtsa hotline. The failure mileage was 50,000.
CategoryBack Over Prevention
DateNov 10, 2022
StateMD
Description
The contact owns a 2018 ford f-350. The contact received notification of nhtsa campaign number: 22v644000 (back over prevention) however, the part to do the recall repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer had exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The contact had experienced a failure in 2019 and the back-up camera had become completely fogged over. The failure mileage was approximately 10,000. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. Vin tool confirms parts not available.
CategorySteering
DateNov 03, 2022
StateWY
Description
Truck is experiencing what is referred to as death wobble. It has happened 8 times in the last three times vehicle has been driven. It happens mostly after hitting bridge transitions or pavement changes. Happens when towing and also unloaded. Happened 4 times while pulling 40 foot 5th wheel. Steering wheel shakes violently and you have little control of steering until you slow or stop truck. Dash light comes on and steering wheel is off center until you stop and restart truck. I fear I'm going to cause accident while trying to slow vehicle fast. Dealer has looked and thinks it's a bad damper but says probably can't get one for at least 3 weeks. Parts are back ordered.
CategorySteering, Suspension
DateOct 11, 2022
StateAZ
Description
We were traveling on a highway in arizona (hwy93 between wickenburg and i40 jct), going about 65mph. We hit a rough patch on the road. When we hit some really rough patches, the front end began wobbling and shacking, even after the road smoothed out. This would last an extra 15 to 30 seconds after the last bump. This made it hard to steer, so I had to slow down. This happened many times, even when we were on different roads. It happened again a couple of days later on i15 between pocatello, id and idaho falls, id.
CategoryLatches/locks/linkages:doors:latch, Latches/locks/linkages:tailgate:latch, Structure:body
DateSep 23, 2022
StateIN
Description
In my 2018 f350, I experienced my power tailgate opening on its own. It happened when the vehicle was unattended and while the vehicle was in motion. I brought it to the dealership for the recall repairs to be performed on march 2nd, 2022 at 115k miles. I received the truck back and in the time since the recall repair was performed, the tailgate has opened, on its own, while the vehicle was in motion 3 separate times. One time I was towing, which caused the tailgate to ride on the tongue jack controls, a second time was without a trailer attached, but I had lots of gear in the bed which, thankfully, did not fall out and create a traffic hazard. I am planning on having the dealer reassess the repairs when I next bring in the truck for an oil change, but I am concerned that this safety issue persists after the repairs were performed.
CategorySteering, Suspension
DateJun 20, 2022
StateTN
Description
Sunday 06/12/2022: driving south in the center lane on I-65 near shepherdsville, kentucky, the front end of my truck began shaking uncontrollably. I had to fight to maintain control of my truck as I attempted to decelerate and steer towards the shoulder. The shaking lasted approximately 15 seconds before I could safely get to the shoulder, and numerous cars has to brake rapidly and swerved to miss me . As I pulled to the side, I exited and looked under the front end to inspect my truck for a broken part or damage. Upon visual inspection, I couldn't see anything that appeared out of normal. I contacted the auto craft shop on fort knox on 06/13/2022, and they inspected the truck for broken or worn parts. They reported there was no excessively worn components.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateJun 20, 2022
StateTN
Description
Purchased my truck used on 10/12/2021 with 18,978 miles. I currently have 44,670. 7 and I have had about 12 incidents of a shaking of the front end at highway speeds ( between 55-75) with two incidents happening in heavy nashville traffic on I-65. The worse instance was 6/17/2022 when I crossed a road groove on the interstate (sb I -65 near a riley parkway) at approximately 70 mph and the entire front end shook uncontrollably. I worked to maintain control and move to the shoulder, but I was nearly rear ended by several vehicles and a tractor/trailer while attempting to get to the shoulder. My wife and children were in the truck too. I dropped the truck off at murfreesboro ford and they initially didn't want to take the truck for inspection because they asked “ is it currently doing anything? Drifting? Bouncing? Shuddering?” I replied, “no. It's not doing anything now.” I had to insidt that the manager take the vehicle and inspect the front. This prompted me to look up the symptoms and learned about “death wobble!” I know why they didn't want to take it in.
CategorySteering, Suspension
DateJun 09, 2022
StateID
Description
In 2019 I had to take the vehicle to the ford dealership to have it inspected for violent shaking and loss of steering control after hitting a uneven spot in the road around 55 mph on a two lane highway towing a 40' 5th wheel. The dealership added a component which eliminated the issue for a short period of time. The vehicle has low miles and has exhibited the same issue 4 times in the last two months. Once it occurred at a speed of 35 to 40 mph on a city street and the last occurrence happened while on an on-ramp to the freeway. During the latest on-ramp event it occurred while accelerating to match freeway speeds a complete stop on the side of the freeway in order to get the shaking to stop.
CategorySteering
DateMay 08, 2022
StateOH
Description
(death wobble) driving down the road and you hit a bump then the front end starts to shake viciously and out of control until slow down or stop to get the truck back under control. I'm afraid to have anyone in my truck besides me
CategorySteering
DateApr 07, 2022
StateTX
Description
The steering wheel shakes violently on my f350 super duty truck. Ford has supposedly fixed this issue for me twice. It typically occurs at speeds over 50 miles per hour. It can also happen after going over bumps or grooves in the road. To stop the shaking, I have to quickly slow way down or even stop completely. I tow a 15k pound 5th wheel with this truck. I'm concerned that this could cause a tragic accident especially since my family is also traveling with me in this vehicle. How can ford not be responsible for fixing this serious issue, we are taking about losing steering control at high speeds.
CategorySuspension
DateApr 06, 2022
StateCA
Description
my 2018 f350, has a very violent shake when driving 60 mph and above, I was driving when I hit a dip in the highway and the steering wheel started shaking real hard, I felt like I was gonna lose control it was wobbling violently. I took it into the repair shop where they to where able to mimic the issue. This issue just happened out of know where, with no warning.. I can see easily how this will be a safety issue to any one having this same problem wile driving, and a safety issue for others driving next to me.. Ford has told me they are aware of this issue but have done nothing to fix this safety issue..
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateApr 01, 2022
StateMN
Description
Experienced violent wobble of my f350 when over 60mph. Hit a bump in the road and had to slow down in order for it to stop. Had to pull over to the side of the road in traffic to avoid an accident.
CategoryWheels
DateMar 30, 2022
StateTX
Description
Lug nuts "swell" up and are not easy to remove. I have not had a flat on the side of the road, yet, but I can forsee huge problems trying to remove these swollen lug nuts in a bad situation. Contacted ford service since I have an extended warranty, but they would not cover giving me replacement lug nuts. Bad design + bad service policy = stranded customer in bad situation
CategorySteering, Suspension
DateFeb 24, 2022
StateCO
Description
While driving on the interstate at approximately 65 miles an hour the steering wheel began to violently shake back-and-forth and causing me to lose control of the vehicle. The first time this occurred it was relatively short-lived and lasted maybe 15 seconds as a slowed. At that time I was unsure what I had just experienced and then noted it a second time up at which I had to pull the car to this over to the side of the road and stop. The last event occurred and was prolonged with really an inability to steer the vehicle I was able to stop it. I went home and started to find someone who would repair this. When describing it to the service center I was told that this is become known as the death wobble and he recommended I get it in for repair. I looked online at videos describing the death wobble this was exactly what happened to my vehicle. This is a horrendous safety issue that will likely take several lives until this gets reported and these vehicles repaired.
CategoryLane Departure: Assist, Suspension
DateFeb 05, 2022
StateCA
Description
Ford starts to shake and lose control going over uneven pavement… causing me to have to slam on brakes to keep the violent shaking from persisting
CategoryTires:valve, Wheels:rim
DateJan 20, 2022
StateAZ
Description
The contact owns a 2018 ford f-350. The contact stated that while driving 60-65 mph, the tpms warning light illuminated. The contact stated that air was added; however, the failure reoccurred shortly after. The contact became aware that the tpms warning light would frequently illuminate shortly after adding air to the tires. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic who diagnosed that there was corrosion between the rim and the valve stem, and that the valve stem was no longer sealed. The independent mechanic replaced the metallic valve stem with a rubber valve stem; however, the failure had been reoccurring on 5 of the 6 rims. The manufacturer was notified of the failure and referred the contact to the dealer. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who informed the contact that they did not have the equipment to repair the vehicle. The contact notified a second dealer; san tan ford (1429 e motorplex loop, gilbert, az 85297) who informed the contact that the vehicle would be repaired at his own expense. An appointment was scheduled. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was approximately 35,800.
CategorySuspension
DateJan 12, 2022
StateTX
Description
The contact owns a 2018 ford f-350. The contact stated that while driving at undisclosed speeds on two separate occasions, the vehicle was shaking violently and experienced the death wobble. The local dealer was not contacted. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 35,426.
CategorySuspension
DateDec 18, 2021
StateIN
Description
I lost control of my f350 when I was at 50 mph. It started to shake uncontrollably when I hit a bump in the road… I tried to break and it got worse.. So I took my foot off the gas, ended up of the side of the road. I called back to our mechanic and he said it was safe to drive under 40 mph. (he looked up the problem and found all the related incidents with the f series trucks…) since then the have replaced the parts that ford said to replace… and the truck is still up drivable.
CategoryEngine
DateDec 07, 2021
StateKY
Description
Engine caught fire. Vehicle is waiting to be inspected to determine what caused the fire.
CategorySteering, Suspension
DateNov 22, 2021
StateIL
Description
The contact owns a 2018 ford f-350. The contact stated while driving 73 mph, the vehicle experienced the death wobble. The contact stated no warning light was illuminated. The contact took the vehicle to the local dealer, where it was diagnosed with needing the steering damper to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired but continued to experience a failure. The contact took the vehicle back to the local dealer however, the mechanic was unable to duplicate the failure. The contact stated she had experienced the failure three times. The manufacturer had been informed of the failure. The failure mileage was unknown.
CategorySteering, Suspension
DateNov 19, 2021
StateCA
Description
While traveling approximately 60 mph on a divided four lane road the truck drove over a small bump (crack/pothole) in the road, immediately following the truck started to develop a suspension wobble that resonated through the steering wheel and increased in amplitude quickly. I quickly identified what was happening and applied a liberal amount of braking which caused the wobble to subside immediately. I spoke to my dealer and they are going to replace the steering (redesigned per the dealer) damper as a starting point. The road condition at the time of issue was cool and dry. My biggest concern is what would have been the outcome if a less experienced person was driving.
CategoryStructure:body
DateNov 16, 2021
StateMA
Description
Tailgate opened while driving on interstate, this has happened two times in the last 2 months. I have already had the recall repairs done for this issue but it is still happening. The ford dealer can not find a cause. There is no way to know when the tailgate has opened until something falls out of the back of the truck and other driver alerts you of the issue.
CategoryElectrical System, Structure:body
DateNov 03, 2021
StateTX
Description
The tailgate continues to open randomly while driving or backing up the truck. The recall for this was completed but the issue continues to occur. Most recently this caused 5 worth of damage to my 5th wheel camper and 0 worth of damage to my tailgate. This is very dangerous and should be addressed by ford immediately.
CategorySteering, Suspension
DateNov 03, 2021
StateCO
Description
Above 50 miles per hour... Hitting any irregularity on the pavement such as expansion joints, potholes, road joints causes the front end to vibrate violently making the truck very difficult to handle. I took it to the dealership once,(phil long ford in colorado springs) and they replaced the steering stabilizer. It seemed that just masked the problem. 10k miles later the problem has come back and is getting worse and worse making me not even want to drive the truck anymore as it feels unsafe on the highway. Also going around bends in the highway, as low as 40mph the truck skips across expansion joints, bucking sideways.
CategoryElectrical System
DateSep 17, 2021
StateCO
Description
My 2018 f-350 is on its way back to the dealership for the 4th time in 2 years for the same reoccurring problem with the alternators. About every 6 months the trucks starts flashing nearly all of the engine warning lights, shuts off all auxiliary components, (radio,ac,interior lighting) and then continues to cycle on and off for the duration of that trip. That's a lot of fun at 75 miles an hour at night! Something has to change.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateSep 07, 2021
StatePA
Description
The navigation, gps, phone sync, clock…apim…it doesn't work! The clock is off time everytime you restart the truck, navigation does t work, gps does t work, the screen goes black, will not pick up a phone call. Nothing on the screen works, radio doesn't work .. It comes on, but trouble changing stations. I'm waiting for the ford dealer to get the chip in and next week they are fixing it, hopefully. But other vehicles are having problems with it and have recalls on them…. Why doesn't my truck have a recall ? My warranty/insurance has to take care of it and I have to pay my deductible….. But I shouldn't because it should be recalled like the other model fords.
CategorySuspension:front
DateSep 03, 2021
StateMN
Description
Problem known as the death wobble. I had my local ford dealership “fix”this problem problem once when the vehicle was still under warranty. That was 10 months ago. Now the problem is back. 1 month ago the ford dealership charged me 0 to “fix” the problem again. The new part(s) did not help. Now they want to charge me another 0+ to “fix” the problem again. If you search for the “death wobble” on the internet there is lots of information and even news stories regarding this. My vehicle shakes so violently that I have have to pull off the road many times.
CategorySteering
DateAug 30, 2021
StateOR
Description
The contact owns a 2018 ford f-350. The contact stated that the steering damper assembly failed. The contact stated while driving 40 mph, the vehicle hit a bump in the roadway and the vehicle violently started to shake and wobble. The contact also stated that when the vehicle was driven on uneven pavement, the vehicle would also wobble and shake violently out of control. The vehicle was taken to the dealer to be diagnosed. The contact was informed that the steering link tie rod damper assembly was faulty. The dealer repaired the vehicle however, the repair failed to fix the vehicle. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 34,300.
CategoryFuel System, Other:fuel Filter
DateAug 02, 2021
StateIN
Description
I developed a diesel fuel smell coming from under the hood. They traced it down to the engine fuel filter on top of the engine. The filter housing is made of plastic. The filter housing failed and the top came loose/cracked spewing fuel all down the drivers side of the engine. I was afraid it cause a fire and was able to get it in to the dealership. Because it's considered a " wear / replacement item " they charged me for it. My issue is if the housing failed with no distress from an outside source, why isn't fird addresing this issue? Obviously the integrity of the top fuel filter is in question and should be considered a serious safety concern!
CategorySteering
DateJun 16, 2021
StateFL
Description
I have had numerous times where I am driving between 25-70 mph and run over a small bump in the road and the truck front end begins to shake violently until I am able to slow down to around 10-20mph. Steering is difficult and it has caused near accidents with people almost hitting me from behind because I have to slow down quickly for no apparent reason to gain control of the car, and they are not expecting the quick slow down. This is a well documented condition ford is aware of called "death wobble". I did have a recall to replace some "dampening part" but it has not helped and now the vehicle seems much worse and will start to shake with the slightest of bump or even when applying the brakes quickly. This began within 6 months of ownership and has continued frequently to current date of this report.
CategorySteering
DateMay 24, 2021
StateMD
Description
I have a severe wobble in the steering wheel
CategoryElectrical System, Structure:body, Unknown Or Other
DateMay 06, 2021
StateWA
Description
Tailgate still randomly opens after ford issued recall to correct. Seems to occur primarily when truck is parked on hill with ebrake set. When releasing emergency brake on a hill, the release is quite violent in terms of the truck vibrating/shuddering. It appears the proximity of the remote open tailgate switch and the vibration with the ebrake handle release, may be activating the remote switch. Truck has already had the ford issued tailgate opening recall applied which has not corrected the issue.
CategorySteering
DateApr 26, 2021
StateFL
Description
Death wobble the truck shakes when driving or hitting a bump ion the highway
CategorySuspension
DateApr 21, 2021
StateOH
Description
Front end goes unstable. Uncontrollable shaking after small bump after bridge on highway. Dampener replaced at dealer, happened again after two days. 34,900 miles. Very dangerous condition.
CategorySuspension
DateApr 17, 2021
StateFL
Description
My truck has begun experience uncontrollable shaking in front suspension when at highway speeds of 60+ mph if I hit pot hole or big bump on highway or interstate. I lose steering control it has happened 3 different times and took 10 to 30 seconds to stop and get it under control and only way was to slow to less than 50 mph on highway.
CategorySuspension
DateMar 17, 2021
StateMD
Description
Tl* the contact owns a 2018 ford f-350. The contact stated that while driving at highway speeds, the vehicle violently shook and vibrated after driving over a bump in the road. The vehicle was taken to the local dealer sheehy ford located at 5000 auth rd, marlow heights, md 20746 who replaced the front suspension dampeners however, the failure recurred. The vehicle was taken back to the dealer who then indicated that the front suspension drag links needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not yet repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 36,000.
CategorySuspension
DateMar 17, 2021
StateIN
Description
While driving at a sustained speed of 50 miles per hour I hit a bump in the road then experienced violent shaking in the steering wheel "the death wobble " as others describe it. I applied the brake and steered it off the road. I got out checked all the wheels and suspension but everything seemed normal. I proceeded to drive again but never went over 45 after that.
CategorySteering
DateFeb 22, 2021
StateIL
Description
With only 39470 miles I was driving on the highway and at approx 60 mike per hour the steering wheel started to shake violently.... I had to slow the truck down to 25 mph to get it to stop shaking. There was a truck in back of me and he had to swerve to go around me. I did bring it right to my dealer that I bought it from and they replaced the steering dampener per bulletin 20n04. The service manager told me that this is just a temp repair and that this will most likely happen again.
CategorySteering
DateFeb 10, 2021
StateNM
Description
Vehicle is exhibiting violent shaking at highway speeds after hitting bumps steering wheel is extremely violent shaking back and forth have to stop the vehicle to stop the vehicle to stop the shaking
CategoryStructure:body
DateJan 28, 2021
StateSD
Description
Uncommanded tailgate opening. Tailgate fell down going about 30mph in downtown port townsend, wa. .. Portable generator and cable fell in front of several cars.. Temporarily shutting down both lanes. The next day the tailgate would not respond until the circuit breaker was reset. This truck has had the recall completed.
CategorySteering
DateJan 27, 2021
StateUT
Description
Driving on freeway at 70 mph steering wheel started violently shaking, had to quickly slow down nearly causing an accident (almost rear ended). After slowing down steering went back to normal. The section of freeway is brand new concrete. The violent shaking has happened four additional times while traveling at 70 to 80 mph on a different types of road surfaces. It seems to happen when you come across a small bump (like going over an overpass when road surface changes). This scares the holy crap out of you hoping you can control the truck without being hit, due to the sudden slow down you have to do to get it under control.
CategoryStructure:body
DateJan 20, 2021
StateCA
Description
I had the tailgate recall completed on my vehicle, shortly afterwards, I was still experiencing issues with the tailgate falling while driving. I returned the vehicle to ford again to report the issue. The ford dealer worked on the vehicle for 2-3 days and returned the vehicle to me again stating it had been fixed. The recall did not resolve the issue. The tailgate opens unexpectedly when the vehicle is in motion. I do not know if it happens on the freeway, city street or while turning.
CategorySuspension
DateNov 30, 2020
StateTX
Description
Was going down the highway at 75mph towing a 7,000lb trailer, went across an overpass that had some bumps at the transition back to the regular roadway (normal road bumps, not big at all). After hitting the bumps, my trucks front end and steering wheel started to shake badly and caused the truck to go into the left lane uncontrollably which caused an 18 wheeler to have to move left and almost leave the payment to avoid me hitting him. After reading other complaints about a "death wobble" and my close in counter of almost being killed or killing the 18 wheeler driver, I decided I had to make a complaint. This needs to be recalled, addressed, and fixed by ford. My truck only has 40,000 miles on it. This eventually will kill someone, if it hasn't already.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateOct 26, 2020
StateMN
Description
While driving approximately 3mph on a flat sandy road, rear window exploded. No rocks or anything else hit the window. Also, window is protected as I have a topper on my truck.
CategoryWheels
DateOct 02, 2020
StateWY
Description
I constantly have a problem with the tires going flat because of leaking valve stems I have had this problem before about 6 times in 18000 miles that they have replaced the valve stems because of corrosion and they claimed that it is not a problem but a lot of people have had this problem
CategorySteering, Suspension
DateSep 27, 2020
StateID
Description
I was traveling at 65 mph and hit a separation on the road crossing a bridge and the steering wheel and front end started to shake violently. "death wobble". I had to slow the vehicle to a stop in order to get it to stop shaking. My truck has 23,000 + miles on it. I have take it to the local ford dealership for all oil changes and tire rotations. I have also taken it for all recalls. I have all paperwork on this.
CategorySteering, Suspension
DateSep 21, 2020
StateID
Description
I was driving home from work on idaho highway 48 at approximately 50 mph. When I hit a patch of rough road, not a pot hole, just uneven surface, the truck began to wobble violently and shook me off the road. I was totally unable to control it and almost went into a canal. I was finally able to slow down enough to regain control. This happened twice. The vehicle is unusable in this condition.
CategorySteering, Suspension, Wheels
DateSep 20, 2020
StateVA
Description
The truck has death wobble. While in motion after hitting any rough patch of road the trucks steering wheel will shake violently and uncontrollably til the oscillation subsides after reducing speed below high speeds. The problem is still persisting.
CategorySteering
DateAug 31, 2020
StateID
Description
Owened a 2002 f350 never had steering issues. Bought 2018 f350 in november of 2018, from the day I drove it off the lot front-end seem to have something off with it. That came to a eye opening steering shake at 70 mph pulling a 40' 14k trailer, going into a conner on interstate 84 in oregon the truck had less than1500 miles on it when this happened. With no control how I don't crash, then it happened again interstate 15 in az, interstate 40 az, interstate 90 wa all these were at highway speeds 70 mph pulling a 40' trailer,and others. We're I have had to pull over and clean my shorts!!!!! I have taken the truck in 6 or 7 times for repairs the problem has never been fixed. Every time I took it in and say front-end shake service guys would oh yeah we'd seen this before and this is at 3 or 4 different ford dealers??? Then I find out it has a name (the death wobble) which ford has had a problem with since they changed front-end design I think around 2006. Just go to you tube watch videos. How they let a vehicle on the highway with this issue for so long is stupid !!! How someone has not been killed do to the issue or maybe there has ??? To this day truck only has 19000 miles on it afraid to drive or when I do it's a butt pucker you never know when it's going to happen!!! Spent 78,000 on a truck that's a death machine. I have tried for a lemon law ford will not respond. How this issue has gone on so long with out removing these trucks from the public highway this is a very dangerous problem maybe we just wait till enough people die, and file law suits, then ford will see its cheaper to fix the problems then pay settlements. The government needs to do a serious recall on these.... This will probably go to mute ears.
CategorySteering, Unknown Or Other
DateAug 30, 2020
StateCA
Description
Death wobble almost crashed on the freeway. Drove over a bump on the freeway at 65 mph. I took it to a ford dealer they replaced a steering damper. This did not correct the problem. There will be a fatal crash if something is not done about these vehicles. Please help. Thank you
CategorySteering
DateAug 29, 2020
StateID
Description
Travelling on I-90 in idaho on 8/22/2020 at about 70 mph vehicle went into a "death wobble". I have experienced these in other vehicles but not this violently. My wife and I were going on about a 60 mi. Round trip. We experienced this 4 times total. I tried slowing to 60 mph but it still re-occured. Anyone not as strong and experienced could have lost control. Part of our trip was on secondary roads travelling at 60 mph or less and did not occur, only on the interstate. It was extremely violent.
CategoryFuel System, Diesel:delivery:fuel Pump, Service Brakes, Steering
DateAug 12, 2020
StateMS
Description
Tl* the contact owns a 2018 ford f-350. The contact stated while driving downhill at 45 mph, the vehicle shut-off without warning. The contact stated the brakes and power steering failed to operate as needed. The contact stated he continued driving the vehicle until he regained control of the vehicle. The vehicle was towed to mac haik ford jackson (6130 I-55, jackson, ms 39211) and the vehicle diagnosed with contaminated diesel fuel. The contact stated his insurance company sent an insurance adjuster to inspect the vehicle and it was determined that the failure was with the fuel pump. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 110,000.
CategoryStructure:body
DateAug 11, 2020
StateSD
Description
Uncommanded tail gate opening.. Continues to open even after recall was completed.. The consumer stated when the tailgate would open personal belongings would fall out of the vehicle. Several dealerships were unable to determine the failure. After having the tailgate repaired under recall, the failure persisted. *js
CategorySteering, Suspension
DateJun 24, 2020
StateTX
Description
Truck has had issues of "death wobble" from about 30,000 miles. At 63,000 miles ford did the steering damper recall. It did not help at all. I am afraid to drive the truck, so it sits at home. It is an ,000 vehicle sitting in the driveway. It gets wobbly going above 60 mph, and reacts bad when bumps are encountered on the road. *tr
CategoryStructure:body
DateJun 24, 2020
StateSD
Description
Tailgate came open on its own yet again.. Towing a 5th wheel.. Was able to see it open in a sharp turn and stop.. Causing a traffic jam on highway 12. Several cars almost hit each other... This is after recall was completed .*dt*jb *tr
CategorySteering, Steering, Suspension, Suspension, Wheels, Wheels
DateJun 22, 2020
StateIL
Description
This vehicle violently shakes after hitting a grooved surface or a small bump in the road. The shaking takes a great deal of power to bring the vehicle back under control. *tr
CategoryStructure:body
DateJun 22, 2020
StateSD
Description
Tailgate opened on its own... Towing 5th wheel trailer... This is second time since tailgate recall was done. *tr
CategoryStructure:body
DateJun 09, 2020
StateSD
Description
Lose of construction material on highway .. Due to uncomanded tailgate opening.. Tailgate comes open on its own... This is after recall was completed. *tr
CategorySteering, Suspension
DateJun 01, 2020
StateMN
Description
Vehicle has under 29,000 miles. Vehicle does not tow heavy loads nor come close to its rated capacity for use as a 1 ton. Today june 1st 2020 at 50mph on side road I drove over a transition between old asphalt and new asphalt, a small bump, the truck front end started shaking. All control of the front end was lost. I coasted u till the problem stopped I drove another 4 miles home. Searched the internet. Learned of the death wobble. I repeated the drive under the same conditions. At the same spot the truck did the exact same loss of control death shake. *tr
CategorySteering, Suspension, Vehicle Speed Control
DateMay 24, 2020
StateMD
Description
My 2018 f-350 has a uncontrollable wobble in the front end, the ford dealer has replaced the steering stabilizer, but that didn't seem to help. Feels like the wheels are falling off, the vehicle doesn't feel save to drive. It seems to happen at all speeds. *tr
CategoryWheels
DateMay 09, 2020
StateOH
Description
Extreme corrosion around the valve stem causing the tires to go flat. Now have the 7th flat tire on a truck with only 15,000 miles on it. *tr
CategoryWheels
DateApr 13, 2020
StateTX
Description
The aluminum wheels on this truck keep losing air pressure due to galvanic corrosion between the aluminum wheels and stainless steel valve stems. Prestige ford in garland texas replaced defective stem with the like part in january 2020. I now have a second wheel with the same issue. Ford has a current tsb regarding this issue but has taken the stance of no repair unless the stem fails. This truck hauls a 16,000 pound trailer and a tire failure may cause lose of controls with injury or death. Due to safety issues the nthsa should make this a mandatory recall before someone get hurt or there is a loss of life from an accident that could be avoided by ford doing the right thing.*dt consumer stated corrosion is happening due to dissimilar metals contacting which is known as galvanic corrosion.*jb
CategorySteering, Suspension
DateApr 05, 2020
StateWA
Description
On april 4, 2020 while driving on the freeway at the speed limit of 70 mph, I traveled over an overpass that had a small lip type bump. The truck hit the small bump and the steering wheel started shaking violently so that I had trouble holding on to the steering wheel. I immediately applied brake pressure and the truck veered halfway into the lane next to me causing a vehicle to sound its horn and take evasive action. The truck finally settled down at approximately 40 mph as I went halfway off the side of the highway. Many articles in the cab of the truck were dislodged including a coffee cup, reading glasses. This truck has 22,000 miles on it, has had all recommended maintenance done in accordance with the owners manual. This includes tire rotation and regular tire pressure checks. There have been no modifications to this truck, it is exactly as it came from the factory. I am a retired firefighter with decades of emergency vehicle driving to my credit with no accidents. I truly felt in danger and attribute the safe outcome of this episode to my professional emergency vehicle driver training skills.
CategorySteering, Unknown Or Other, Wheels
DateMar 11, 2020
StateWA
Description
I first had a death wobble at 9000 miles. I was unsure of what happened, thought I hit something or blew a tire at 60 mph. After the first time it didn't happen for another year. At 15000 miles it became more and more recurring and I started asking around and heard of the death wobble. It happens when you are driving at speeds of greater than 50 mph and is such a violent shake it may put you into another lane. You can not drive through it and must slow down to under 25 mph. The last time I had to hit my breaks on a freeway with a semi behind me going 70 mph and nearly was rear ended or causing a huge crash. I was terrified to drive it and fortunate enough to have a company vehicle to use as my daily commuter. I contacted my dealer and they heard of it and scheduled and ordered parts for the repair. I since have had it repaired on a brand new truck with 16000 miles. They informed me this should fix it by replacing the stabilizer. Really? How did it wear out so quickly, I feel this is a bigger problem and this is only a simple fix to the situation to get me another 10000 miles. Dont hit any rough bumps or it will happen to you was my worry and being rear ended or thrown into oncoming traffic.
CategorySteering
DateFeb 26, 2020
StateCO
Description
At speeds between 50-75 upon hitting a bump on the pavement the trucks front axle shakes violently and causes loss of control and forces rapid deceleration to regain control. At first I attributed it to normal bump steer with solid front axle but there is obviously a design problem. Truck only has 19,000 miles and has been doing since 16,000
CategorySteering, Suspension
DateFeb 25, 2020
StateUT
Description
Driving on highway any speed 55mph-80mph, hit a rough patch in the road and the "death wobble" begins. The only way to regain control of the vehicle, is to slam on the brakes. Very scary!
CategoryElectrical System, Unknown Or Other
DateFeb 24, 2020
StateTX
Description
You did a recall for the tailgate opening because of moisture in a sensor but you still have not done a recall for the tailgate opening due to the key fob. You say all the damage that can be caused should the tailgate opening while pulling a trailer. If you have the key fob in your pocket it can bump the tailgate open button twice (just while walking) and open the tailgate. This needs to be able to be disabled. The damage possibility is identical. Please get this corrected. Should it come open in my yard while I am working and comes down on my granddaughters head it could be deadly. Please correct this. I have seen a lot of complaints about this.
CategorySteering, Suspension
DateFeb 23, 2020
StateIL
Description
I was driving on the interstate about 75 mph and hit a bump and the front end started shaking uncontrollably (the 'death wobble') and wouldn't stop until I slowed to about 40 mph. This has happened 3 times now.
CategorySteering, Suspension, Unknown Or Other
DateFeb 12, 2020
StateWA
Description
While driving the speed limit on the freeway and hitting a "rough" patch, the truck's wheels then begin shaking, causing the whole truck to violently shake. There is a significant lost of control of the vehicle. The shaking won't subside to regain control until the speed drops below 50 mph or lower. The vehicle has very limited response to turning when the shaking is happening. This seems to be similar to what I've heard described as a "death wobble". This happens while driving straight and maintaining speed (I. E. Not turning or accelerating or decelerating). This has happened periodically, but always after a change in surface (expansion joint, pothole, uneven surface). I have driven over the same spot with other vehicles, including a ford excursion, and cannot replicate it. It seems to be specific to this generation of the super duty.
CategorySteering, Suspension, Unknown Or Other
DateFeb 10, 2020
StateWI
Description
Bought brand new, the feel was bouncy; at 14,000 miles more bouncy in front end, by 23,000 miles the full "death wobble" at 45 miles an hour on a very small bridge. Then every single time you drove the truck, the "death wobble" would happened, everytime, even with the littles bumps. Very scary and the truck is out of control when this happens, I was actually afraid to drive it back to the dealer.
CategorySteering, Suspension, Wheels
DateFeb 09, 2020
StateFL
Description
I noticed the steering was getting sloppy at about 35,000 miles when driving at highway speeds on uneven road surfaces and going over bridge joints. Two nights ago I was driving at 57mph when I came off a bridge and the truck began to shake violently causing me to slow down quickly and pull to the road shoulder to avoid being rear ended. At about 30mph the shaking subsided. Researching the issue on line has led me to believe I have a truck inflicted with 'death wobble'. It will be going to the dealership tomorrow.
CategorySteering, Suspension
DateFeb 01, 2020
StateGA
Description
While traveling at 65-70 mph on the highway, I drove over a rough patch of road and the steering wheel and front end of the truck began to violently shake. Instinctually, I immediately let off the accelerator to slow down which seemed to add to the forceful shaking by causing the entire vehicle to sway from side to side. I'm a healthy sized 210 lb man and I struggled to maintain control of the steering wheel to prevent veering off the road or into another car. I managed to steer my way to the emergency lane and slowed down enough to where the shaking and swaying stopped. Although it was only about 30 seconds in duration, it seemed like an eternity and it was by far one of the scariest moments in my life. After the incident today, I did some research and discovered this is a known issue with super duty f-250 & f-350 pickup trucks. It has been labeled the "death wobble" (yes that's really what its called). Thankfully, it was me and not my teenage son behind the wheel because I think today's incident would have ended much differently had he been driving! Please advocate for the consumer and issue a recall regarding this issue before it costs someone their life.
CategorySteering, Suspension
DateJan 31, 2020
StatePA
Description
It started with a slight shake going over a seam in the pavement at highway speeds. After a few thousand miles it developed into a hard shake that would not stop until you would slow down below 35 mph. The dealer "fixed" this with a steering stabilizer, but it still feels like it did when the problem started and the dealer can't replicate the problem. Probably because I will be out of warranty in about 2000 miles.
CategorySteering, Suspension
DateJan 27, 2020
StateCO
Description
When driving at highway speeds and the front end hits a bump in the road steering wheel begins an oscillation that carries through entire truck. Truck needs to be slowed down to get vehicle back under control. Started happening at around 15,000 miles and only has gotten worse with time. Truck now has 27,000 miles on it. Ford replaced a steering dampener 1-24-20 but truck still has issue
CategorySteering
DateJan 25, 2020
StateMD
Description
I experience violent steering control issues at 65mph to the truck steers left and right as if the tires are wobbling taken it to local dealership that was purchased at and twice they claim to fix problem but it is not the truck is very dangerous to drive on rough roads especially in inclement weather
CategorySteering, Suspension, Wheels
DateJan 22, 2020
StateCT
Description
I was traveling down the highway in a straight smooth lane and out of know where the truck started shaking violently this was a scary experience I slowed down as quickly as I could to try to stop it but it took a bit to stop shaking I purchased this truck new and have not had any accidents anything like that
CategorySteering, Suspension
DateJan 14, 2020
StateCO
Description
Upon reaching speeds at or above 60mph and driving on bumpy, uneven or small fissures in the pavement, the vehicle's front wheels shake and wobble violently and is at times very difficult to control.
CategorySteering
DateJan 08, 2020
StateNM
Description
Twenty thousand miles and front end parts are worn causing " death wobble" when hitting bumps at freeway speeds, sometimes very extreme shake,
CategorySuspension
DateJan 04, 2020
StateNJ
Description
Extreme, unexpected vibration in front end after hitting small imperfections in the road at highway speeds that required emergency braking to near complete stop in order to regain control of the vehicle. Wobble/vibration is so severe that front of vehicle shakes violently and requires evasive driving techniques in order to maintain some control of the vehicle.
CategorySteering, Suspension
DateJan 02, 2020
StateUT
Description
While driving south bound on I-15 near clearfield utah I was driving normal hwy speed of 65 mph when I went over a bridge and suddenly my vehicle went into a uncontrollable wobble in me steering. It felt like my tire was wobbling off of the axle. I almost wiped out an entire family next to me but luckily the drivers passenger seen my uncontrollable truck an took evasive action. My truck only has 22,000 miles on it.
CategorySteering
DateDec 30, 2019
StateWI
Description
When at highway speed and hitting a bump in the road the steering wheel will shake vigorously until the truck is slowed down. This is a very dangerous situation while at highway speeds. I had taken the truck to the dealer and I was told that ford knows of the issue and currently doesn't have the parts to correct this issue. A tsb was issued, 19-2393 however there are no parts to correct this.
CategorySteering, Suspension
DateDec 30, 2019
StateWA
Description
Purchased new in wenatchee wa. At less than 18,000 miles I noticed a front end shake and bounce when I would drive over any type of expansion joint in a bridge. At around 18,400 it became a violent up and down bounce side to side with the steering wheel becoming almost uncontrollable. The last time it did this I was going around a slight right hand curve on the highway at approximately 55 miles per hour. There were multiple cracks in the highway which a filled with tar to seal them. After running over them the truck started shaking, the wheels were violently bouncing up and down and it bounced us into the oncoming lane of traffic. I had to lock up the brakes to stop the shaking. Luckily there were no vehicles in the oncoming lane. Took it to my dealer. They examined it and found nearly all of the steering and suspension components were worn out. This is at 18,000 miles on a truck that has never been driven on anything but major highways. They acknowledged they had to fix a few already but said they had never seen one this worn out at such low mileage. They installed all new parts. I asked if the new parts were any different than the ones that failed, (such as newer batch number), they said no. Took the truck home. We have now put on another 2,000 miles on it and it is starting to do it all over again. There is no excuse for a problem like this on any vehicle much less a truck we paid close 70,000 dollars for. I have all of the paperwork for the repairs they did.
CategoryUnknown Or Other, Wheels
DateDec 27, 2019
StateUT
Description
When driving down the highway the truck will start to shake otherwise know as the death wobble. This has happened 4 times. Took it into the dealer and they told me I need new tires and need a new steering damper per tsb-19-2392. They said it would be 400. 00 for the part. My ruck is under warranty and I purchased the ford protection plan. This is not safe for us to drive. It shakes uncontrollable at freeway speeds
CategorySteering, Wheels
DateDec 26, 2019
StateMA
Description
This is not an isolated incident with our trucks, it's a nationwide problem that is very very dangerous. In a 10 mile ride it would happen 3-4x at 70 to 75mph hitting the slightest bump, the truck would violently shake. I would have to slow down to 20 mph for it to stop. Very difficult on a highway.*dt*jb
CategorySteering, Wheels
DateDec 26, 2019
StateMA
Description
Truck shakes uncontrollably in a 10 mile ride it would happen 3-4x at 70 to 75mph hitting the slightest bump, the truck would violently shake. I would have to slow down to 20 mph for it to stop. Very difficult on a highway. Very unsafe. I have a video to submit it is very hard to show shaking off a truck in pictures. *bf please see attached video. I have filed 6 complaints for 6 different trucks.*jb
CategorySteering, Suspension
DateDec 24, 2019
StateMN
Description
Death wobble when hitting bumps at or above 50 mph. Vehicle is all stock, it started about 25k miles.
CategorySteering
DateDec 24, 2019
StateWI
Description
Severe steering wheel shake all of a sudden when driving truck has 30,000 miles
CategorySteering, Suspension
DateDec 22, 2019
StateCO
Description
On 12/6/2019 while travelling from fort collins, co to cheyenne, wy between 70 and 75 mph, the truck and steering wheel began shaking violently after hitting a bump in the road. Fortunately, I was in the right-hand land and was able to pull to the shoulder and slow down. The shaking continued until I reached about 30 mph and then it quit. The truck had just under 30000 miles. The next day I went to the loveland ford dealer service department to schedule repairs for the truck. I was informed that the problem was probably a bad steering damper and that it not currently available from ford and won't be until the 1st quarter of 2020. They had no other suggestions except to make sure the tires were in good shape and properly inflated.
CategorySuspension, Unknown Or Other
DateDec 20, 2019
StateCO
Description
At 20000 miles the truck started doing the death wobble. If I hit a bump on the highway at between 50 to 70 mph the truck goes into a uncontrollable shake and loss of control. Very dangerous . Do not feel safe driving this vehicle.
CategorySteering
DateDec 18, 2019
StateVA
Description
On 12/17/19 I was traveling at around 65 mph on a highway when I hit a bump which caused violent oscillations in my steering. I had no control and had to slow down rapidly causing a tractor-trailer traveling behind me to change lanes quickly.
CategorySteering, Suspension, Unknown Or Other
DateDec 18, 2019
StateTX
Description
On several occasions, this vehicle with 19,000 miles on it, gets the "death wobble". The front wheels, & steering wheel, start shaking violently, shaking the whole truck causing loss of control. The steering wheel shakes so violently that you loose grip of it. The truck can't be steered and only by slamming on the brakes to slow down can the violent shaking be stopped. It happens completely randomly. It happened to me at 75 mph, 70 mph, & at 55 mph. I was almost rear-ended every time it happened because I have to slow down in my lane. I took it to ford & they put new parts on but it still does it. Looking online, this appears to be an ongoing safety issue that ford can't figure out how to fix it. All service on my truck has been by the ford dealer, including tire rotations, etc.
CategorySteering, Suspension
DateDec 17, 2019
StateUT
Description
Experienced "death wobble" while driving at 70 mph on freeway and crossing a expansion joint in the roadway. Had to slow to under 30 to gain control. Durring rush hour this was very unsafe. Ford has replaced the track bar ball joint under warranty at 15000ish miles due to it being completely worn out causing all kinds of codes and alarms on the dash. Once replaced the clunking and the traction control alarms have not recurred.
CategorySteering
DateDec 17, 2019
StateWY
Description
When traveling down the highway at 80 mile an hour and hit a bump in the road the steering wheel gets a violent shaking and the whole truck starts shaking the only way to correct this is to hit your breaks and slow down to approximately 25 to 30 miles an hour this death wobble puts you out of control of the vehicle
CategorySteering, Suspension
DateDec 12, 2019
StateME
Description
Have experienced violent uncontrollable shaking in the front end when going over even the smallest of bumps. I've had the front end parts changed out (shimmy shock, links,etc. Have this done every 3,000 miles roughly. I now have 20,000 miles on my very expensive f350 power stroke. Dealership claims ford is aware but doesn't have a fix. I know there is a class action lawsuit out on this but ford is denying it..
CategorySteering, Suspension
DateDec 09, 2019
StateTX
Description
Excessive vibration at front. Known as the "death wobble". Took in to ford dealership. According to them, parts are on backorder. Truck violently vibrates to the point where I lose control when I hit a small bump. Almost crashed into someone several times. Had to come to a complete stop on the highway in order for vibration to stop.
CategoryStructure:body
DateDec 07, 2019
StateSD
Description
Tailgate opens on its own... No indication that it is open... Can not see in the mirror.
CategorySteering, Suspension, Wheels
DateDec 06, 2019
StateID
Description
Speeds greater than 70 mph and hitting small bump causes truck front tires/drive suspension to shake uncontrollably. Also known as a death wobble.
CategorySuspension
DateDec 06, 2019
StateOH
Description
I was traveling at 64 mph on 75 south unloaded around austin landing area when my truck encountered a few cracks in the pavement. The truck began to shake violently with the steering wheel rapidly moving left to right. The problem did not cease until I reduced speed to 20 mph. Truck was very difficult to control. I have no modifications on the vehicle and call service has been performed at all service intervals by ford dealers only.
CategorySteering, Suspension
DateDec 02, 2019
StateWA
Description
When driving about 55 mph on a two lane highway and after going over a small roadway bump, my steering and entire truck started shaking violently. The shaking stopped after quickly slowing down to about 35 mph. This has happened 5 times in the last month so far. I fear this will cause serious injury or death at some point, especially if the violent shaking occurs while towing our trailer. I do not let my 17 year old son drive the truck anymore due to fear this might happen to him while driving. The truck is a 2018 f350 with only 22,000 miles on it.
CategorySuspension
DateDec 02, 2019
StateMT
Description
This vehicle has had the ford death wobble for months. It has been to the local dealership 3 times now, and is currently waiting for parts for the third repair. The second time this truck was in the shop the issue returned the very next day. I have been in contact with ford customer service several times with no satisfaction on this issue. I have also voiced concerns with ford that if this happens on icy roads that something more serious could happen. I asked the ford rep to research this issue so she could realize just how common it is. My wife fears something is going to happen to me any time I take this truck on the highway. The wobble has happened anywhere from 55 to75 mph with no notice.
CategorySteering
DateDec 01, 2019
StateOR
Description
I was driving on I-5 south in portland oregon at a speed of 50 mph around 12pm 12/01/2019 in my 2018 f350 diesel pickup. The driver side front tire encountered a small bump in roadway surface at which time that occurred the truck started shaking violently and steering was wobbling back and forth making the ability to control the vehicle almost impossible. This is a serious safety issue giving the ability to control the vehicle is almost completely lost. My wife and ii were in the vehicle at the time of the incident and both experienced this first hand. I have done some research and see that this is called a "death wobble" well having experienced it something needs to be done the vehicle is not safe I purchased the truck new and I am the original owner.
CategorySteering, Suspension
DateNov 20, 2019
StateMD
Description
In january of 2019 while traveling at highway speed of approximately 65 miles per hour on the interstate in vt my truck steering wheel began oscillating uncontrollably causing violent shaking in the entire vehicle. I immediately pulled truck over as I thought I had a flat tire. Much to my surprise I found no problems apparent so I began on the highway again. About 5 minutes later I hit some bumps on the road and again the violent oscillation occurred. It seemed to be the front driver side where the problem was located. I pulled over again and further inspected suspension but could not find any problem. I called dealerships but being a sunday all we're closed and I was 8 hours from home. Again I got on the road.... I noticed this violent shaking would occur at speeds at or above 60 mph whenever I would hit a bump on the road. The shaking would continue until I brought the truck to a complete stop. For the remained of the drove home I drove in the slow lane at 45 miles per hour. When I returned home I spoke to my local dealership pottsville ford who advised me to bring vehicle for sevice. They examined and said that they would replace steering damper and the front bushings. This was covered under warranty. Again yesterday 11/19 while driving to pa to visit my brother in the hospital the same problem occurred while traveling approximately 68 mph on i476 in pa. This time I was in the fast lane in much traffic and the oscillation nearly caused me a major accident prior to my being able to pull car over. I called dealer in pa who advised this is part of a tsb 19-2274 however part to fox is in back order and would not be covered under warranty as no recall exists. I am now stuck hours from home with no vehicle and no means to repair. This extremely unsafe condition should be evaluated by ford and given recall status to holder ford accountable to fix.
CategorySteering, Suspension, Wheels
DateNov 19, 2019
StateSD
Description
Death wobble!!! I have 15,600 miles on my vehicle and I can't not drive it down the road due to the death wobble. This has happened at speeds between 50 and 80 mph and has nearly sent me into the ditch and other other vehicles
CategorySteering, Suspension
DateNov 19, 2019
StateTX
Description
First time, was in motion pulling a trailer at about 70 mph and hit a rough spot in the highway, truck started violently shaking and thought we were about to go into the ditch as I lost control of the steering. The truck brakes made it shake worse so I used the trailer brakes to slow down which made the shaking finally stop. Last time it happened hit an uneven part of a highway going about 60 mph, not towing anything, truck started to violently shake and I lost control of the steering until it was slowed down enough to stop shaking. Unable to brake, just had to let it slow down on it's own. Wheels were wobbling. Caused me to lose control of steering. Happens anytime I'm going over 60mph and hit an uneven spot in the road.
CategorySteering
DateNov 17, 2019
StateVA
Description
So far twice within one week (11/10/19 and 11/16/19) while traveling at highway speeds I experience violent steering oscillations. Researching online I see that many call this the "death wobble." the only thing that stopped it was decelerating to a very slow speed - not very safe on the highway. The first time it happened, I was traveling about 65 mph and towing an airstream travel trailer (about 8,000 lbs). The second time I was traveling about 55 mph and not towing. Both times it happened when hitting an expansion joint on the road. It appeared to occur several other times, but less sever and corrected itself. I have approximately 55k miles on the truck. Everything on the truck is original oem. All tires were properly inflated.
CategorySteering, Suspension
DateNov 15, 2019
StateWV
Description
When driving down interstate above 60 mph on 11/14/2019, I hit a bump and the steering wheel and front suspension became to vibrate and shaking violently almost like the front driver side tire was going to come off. Took it to a dealership and they stated it experience the "death wobble" and that there is an issue with the front suspension on newer model f350 trucks. I had to keep the vehicle under 60 mph in order to maintain control when the vehicle hit any bump in the roadway in order to maintain control of the vehicle. The entire suspension seemed to vibrate up and down anytime it hit a bump in the roadway when trying to go highway speeds.
CategorySteering, Suspension
DateNov 15, 2019
StateIL
Description
17000 miles on truck and has rapidly developed a death wobble in front of truck when anove 45 mph and hit bump in road, must rapidly brake to control truck
CategorySteering
DateNov 12, 2019
StateWI
Description
Truck has a severe wobble when driving over a bump at like a bridge or pothole in the road when driving over 50mph.
CategoryStructure:body
DateNov 12, 2019
StateRI
Description
Tl* the contact owns a 2018 ford f-350. The contact received notification of nhtsa campaign number: 18e021000 (structure). The contact responded by forwarding his information, per the manufacturer's instructions, to www. Readingbody. Com/warrantyinfo. The contact was informed that no repairs were necessary because there was no failure with the vehicle. A couple of months later, while driving approximately 30 mph, the vehicle was pulled over when the contact was flagged down by a motorist. The contact stated that the bumper bracket snapped and detached from the vehicle. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and stated that the contact should have contacted the dealer for the recall and not the distributor via their website. The contact was not called back and the vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 24,000.
CategorySteering, Suspension, Wheels
DateNov 05, 2019
StateTN
Description
My truck has the death wobble.. Started at 15k miles. Front sterring dampener has been replaced 2 times already and getting the 3rd one done today.. Truck now has 36k miles and am getting scared to drive her.. Small bumps in the road cause the truck to shake violently until I get to a complete stop... Very dangerous when on the highway... Also believe that this problem has caused issues with my tires as well as other suspension issues
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateOct 29, 2019
StateOR
Description
Ford 2018 f-350 super duty uncommanded tailgate opening with 3577 miles. Vehicle can be parked , stationary, turning or in motion and tailgate will open on its own without warning. Vehicle taken to ford dealer on 3-seperate occasion's and still unable to duplicate tailgate issue. Dealer did state it happen to them once in the shop. Total of 13 days in dealer shop. I called ford customer relationship center and was advised to take vehicle back to ford dealer. This vehicle is equipped with electronic tailgate that can be opened with the key fobs. Ford dealer has advised me from , human error pushing tailgate button, garage door opener or low battery on key fobs. All those issues have been addressed without any success. I did find on line a identical issue and a ford service bulletin (tsb) 17-2196 was issued on a ford 2017 super duty trucks but not for 2018 trucks. As of this date I quit counting after 30-tailgate openings. I have now attached a chain on tailgate to inside truck body to prevent the tailgate opening and loosing my cargo in truck bed. Note: there is no mechanical device to lock the tailgate or to override electrical component of tailgate?
CategorySteering, Suspension
DateOct 10, 2019
StateTX
Description
If traveling 30 mph or more, after riding over the slightest bump in the road, the vehicle will begin to violently shake and become impossible to steer. Only applying on the brakes for some time with bring the vehicle back to a controllable state. I have brought it in to the dealer to have this issue addressed 3 times - to no avail. While it will appear to be gone shortly after picking up from the dealer, it will soon begin to still occur again.
CategoryStructure:body:tailgate
DateOct 03, 2019
StateTN
Description
Tl* the contact owns a 2018 ford f-350. While driving approximately 15 mph and makiing a turn, the tail gate dropped and struck a horse trailer. The tai lgate was destroyed. The dealer was not called. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and stated that there was no recall. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The dealer was not contacted. The failure mileage was approximately 5,200.
CategoryService Brakes, Steering
DateSep 28, 2019
StatePA
Description
I was driving my 2018 f350 crew cab dually deisel traveling at approx. 55mph down a hill. I was towing my 20ft equipment trailer with my tractor on it for a combined weight of about 6k pounds. As I was traveling down this hill, I hit a pothole and immediately lost control of my vehicle as the steering wheel shook so violently, I couldn't keep my hands on it. I panicked and did what I could, which was slam on the brakes, which made the steering wheel shake even worse. As my truck was all over the road and my trailer fish tailing behind me, my passenger and I braced for impact. As the truck decreased in speed, I was finally able to regain control of the truck. My ford has 11, 800 miles on it. I purchased the truck used with 11, 400 miles on it, and now I'm beginning to realize why such a beautiful truck was traded in. I will be contacting my nearest ford dealership on monday. I'm just happy that I didnt kill anyone and was able to go home safe at the end of the day.
CategorySteering, Suspension
DateSep 27, 2019
StateAL
Description
Tl* the contact owns a 2018 ford f-350. While driving 45 mph over a bump in the road, the wheels wobbled uncontrollably. There were no warning indicators illuminated when the failure occurred. The contact took the vehicle to landers mclarty ford of fort payne (1916 glenn blvd sw, fort payne, al 35968, 256-273-0060) and was informed that the tracking bar was replaced; however, the failure continued. The manufacturer was notified and did not assist. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was approximately 32,000. The vin was unknown.
CategoryStructure:body
DateSep 26, 2019
StateMD
Description
I ordered this vehicle, f350 king ranch, and took delivery february 2018. Since then the tailgate has intermittently opened on its own. The first time was february 27, 2018. The truck does have the power tailgate release option. This has happened both when the truck is stationary and in motion. In the 19 months I have had the truck the tailgate has opened approximately 15 times. Fortunately, I haven't lost anything out of the bed while driving, so far. I have no idea what the cause is.
CategoryWheels
DateAug 02, 2019
StateAK
Description
Four valve stems have been replaced for corrosion and leaking in the last 2 months on 3 of my 6 wheels. Tends to happen over night. Tire is fine when parked then next day little to no air in tire.
CategoryElectrical System
DateJul 30, 2019
StateTX
Description
The tailgate opens on its own. The latest incident, the tailgate opened on its own while traveling. Initially I thought I might have press the tailgate button but after securing the key to ensure nothing presses against the button found out that is that is not the case. Latest incident occurred on 29 jul 19 and cause damage to my travel trailer and the tailgate itself . I am currently use s bungee cord to secure the tailgate from opening.
CategorySteering, Suspension
DateJul 27, 2019
StateKY
Description
While driving across a highway overpass at about 45 mph and driving over a small rough spot, vehicle steering wheel began to shake violently to a point I had to hit the brakes hard, to slow down and regain control of my vehicle. If another vehicle had been driving past me while this was happening, I would have hit them. I special ordered this truck and didn't expect anything dangerous like this to happen in a new truck.
CategoryStructure:body
DateJul 26, 2019
StateMN
Description
We are experiencing numerous uncommanded tailgate drops while the vehicle is in motion or just running. We recently were towing our 5th wheel trailer and when we pulled into fuel up our tailgate dropped and damaged both the truck's tailgate (top molding) and put a hole in the front compartment door of the fifth wheel. (pictures provided). We have taken the truck into two ford dealerships and they have not been able to duplicate or diagnose the problem and per ford motor company, they have stopped trying to diagnose the problem. On another day, we experienced three different uncommanded tailgate drops while we were towing our boat. One time, my husband was backing the truck and I was standing alongside the truck and the tailgate dropped uncommanded.
CategoryStructure:body, Unknown Or Other
DateJun 28, 2019
StateFL
Description
We were driving down the highway i26 into asheville and the tailgate opened we heard a noise went to pull off the highway and the poise was worse stopped immediately got our tailgate had come open and was shredded by the horse trailer. This has never happened while pulling the trailer but it has happened a few time previously but I assumed I hit the button on the key. Didn't think much more but now seeing this it may have happened while driving. Scary
CategoryWheels
DateJun 20, 2019
StateIA
Description
I own a 2018 f 350 dual rear wheel pickup. I have had leaking tires/rims for several months now. My own research has shown this to be a continuing problem and have had the truck to the dealer several times without resolution. Two of the tires still leak a lot and 2 of the tires leak slower. The inner two rear wheels do not leak likely because they are steel rims, and not the aluminum ones connected to a steel tpms sensor that causes corrosion.
CategorySuspension, Wheels
DateJun 12, 2019
StateNM
Description
Death wobble on freeway going about 75mph, went over a small bump when going over an overpass and it was shaking so hard I almost crashed with my two children in the truck and I had to pull off the road and completely stop before I could get it to stop , truck has less than 18,000 miles on it. Took it in to ford and they show the caster being out of alignment. Just had it aligned at a different ford dealership a few weeks ago. Now I'm being told I have to pay to replace some sort of bolts and it'll take about 2. 5 hours to replace, which means a few hundred dollars?!
CategoryPower Train, Steering, Suspension
DateMay 30, 2019
StateUT
Description
The truck experienced what is called death wobble hit a bump and tires and steering wheel shook uncontrollably told by ford this is a common issue. I have it on a drive camera uploading video. I was going 66 mph on hwy 201 west bound slc, ut. Https://youtu. Be/ltigjldxsjo link to video on youtube.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateMay 14, 2019
StateMO
Description
After parking and getting out of truck and closing the front door the rear window in the cab shattered and bowed outwards. It was 60 degrees outside . Ford said they will not cover a replacement . Truck has 12391 miles on it. Ford said it is not covered under warranty and refused to admit something was wrong with the glass.
CategoryStructure:body
DateMay 02, 2019
StateGA
Description
The tailgate will come down while riding down the road or after hitting a bump. Very unsafe while hauling or towing. There is no indicator in the cab to tell you the tailgate has dropped. Have had it in for service at least 4 times. Vehicle is less than a year old.
CategorySteering, Suspension
DateApr 29, 2019
StateMT
Description
Experience front end wobble when encountering rough sections of highway . Occurs when driving highway speeds.
CategorySteering
DateApr 28, 2019
StateMO
Description
Traveling on the interstate at aprox 65mph hit a bump in the road and the front end started violently shaking & had to slow to below 30mph to get the shaking to stop. I have experienced this several times. I took the truck to the shop & they did a front end alignment and checked the balance of the tires, never mentioning the "death wobble". It did take care of the problem for 3 months however the problem has returned.
CategorySteering
DateApr 17, 2019
StateCA
Description
When traveling at freeway speeds (70 mph), I hit a rough spot in the road and my steering wheel began to shake violently. I had to slow down to get it to stop. The truck has 13,256 miles on it.
CategoryElectrical System, Exterior Lighting, Power Train
DateMar 14, 2019
StateNC
Description
This vehicle is equipped with a feature that shuts the engine and ignition off after 30 minutes of idle without driver interaction. These vehicles have "up-fitter switches" which can be tied to things like auxiliary warning lights. When the vehicle shuts down, the headlights/tail lights turn off as well as power to any auxiliary loads. I am a firefighter in north carolina. I have these switches attached to auxiliary sae-w warning lights. The other night, I was on the scene of a collision and after 30 minutes, my truck shut itself off in the middle of the road and went completely dark. The headlights/tail lights turned off, as well as the warning lights installed on the perimeter of the body. This resulted in a significant traffic hazard and put the safety of myself and others in the roadway in jeopardy. The feature can be disabled each time the vehicle is started, but requires the vehicle to be stopped and various menus to be cycled through. I thought I'd kicked it off but apparently missed the setting while I was trying to get out and render aid at this particular incident. I have spoked with ronald fuller with ford's body builder advisory service who informs me that this feature is included in all retail trucks, and can not be disabled. Their logic is that they want to prevent people from accidentally running the vehicle in their garage and asphyxiating themselves. The recommendation was to purchase a police package vehicle which does not include this software package. My concern is any vehicle used for construciton, road works, or for general commercial application is likely to experience a similar situation which can result in the vehicle being totally dark in the middle of the roadway.
CategorySteering, Suspension
DateMar 13, 2019
StateAZ
Description
A shaking or wobble in the front end generally occurs at speeds over 60mph, when you run over a rough spot in the road or a road seam. The front end will shake violently and the vehicle is difficult to control until you slow down (40-50mph). A ford dealer has looked at it and said that the alignment and tire balance is correct. However the problem still persists. This is very dangerous at highway speeds. Truck has 20k miles on it.
CategorySuspension
DateMar 07, 2019
StateUT
Description
Death wobble after hitting bridge joint, at 70 mph on highway, had to come to complete stop to for truck to stop wobbling. Truck has 14000 miles on it
CategoryStructure:body
DateMar 05, 2019
StateAZ
Description
Electric tailgate has released and dropped open while driving. Has happened three times at low speed. Twice while pulling fifth wheel trailer and once not towing anything.
CategorySteering
DateFeb 12, 2019
StateNE
Description
Traveling approximately 50 mph over rough paved road, the steering started oscillating severely and continued until vehicle was slowed down to approximately 20 mph. Happened the next day under very similar circumstances
CategorySteering
DateFeb 12, 2019
StateNY
Description
When hitting a pot hole or expansion joint on roadways the truck has a violent shake or wobble in the front end making it very hard to control and drive.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateFeb 10, 2019
StateCT
Description
Driver's door latch won't hold. The door won't stay closed
CategorySteering, Suspension
DateFeb 06, 2019
StateIA
Description
While driving on the interstate, on multiple occasions, at speeds of 55-70mph I've hit a small bump or rough patch on the rode. This sends the steering wheel/front end into a violent, uncontrollable, oscillating wobble which requires you to pull off the road to get it to stop. This vehicle is un modified and well maintained since I purchased it brand new 9 months prior. These incidents have caused shoulder and neck pain and have made me scared to even drive it. Ford has yet to acknowledge or repair this issue.
CategoryStructure:body
DateJan 23, 2019
StateTN
Description
Doors will not close, open, and or come open while driving usually on below freezing temperature days. This has happened while stationary and driving while making a turn drivers side door whipped open fortunately there was no oncoming traffic. Moisture in door latches freezing is the problem. Unfortunately there is no way toknow if the latch is fully engaged while in motion. Also circumstance can occur that leave you locked in vehicle with only escape thru a window. Ford has called this repair customer servive advisor 18n03. However this has been a ongoing problem with for vehicles for several years and ford keeps putting out repairs that are often ineffective.
CategorySteering, Suspension
DateJan 14, 2019
StateTX
Description
Steering wheel oscillates above 50mph causing a steering to be come loose and unpredictable. Has been an ongoing issue since vehicle was new, has only gotten wore with accumulated mileage.
CategoryEngine
DateDec 17, 2018
StateCA
Description
At ~ 1200 miles I noticed an oil leak around upper oil pan gasket. After cleaning then driving another 3000 miles the same leak is back.
CategoryStructure:body
DateDec 11, 2018
StateOH
Description
Tailgate opens unexpectedly while driving. This has happened several times.
CategorySteering, Suspension, Wheels
DateDec 04, 2018
StateTX
Description
Driver experiences wobbling or shaking in the vehicle at highway speeds (>45 mph). It stops at lower speeds. The symptoms are consistent with ford's tsb 18-2268.
CategoryStructure:body
DateNov 30, 2018
StateGA
Description
Tailgate will open randomly when hitting a bump on the road or highway. Has happened 4 times in the first 6 months I have owned. The dealership can find no problem. Resulted in loosing my payload on the interstate, very dangerous.
CategoryElectrical System
DateNov 20, 2018
StateNC
Description
The tailgate releases (opens or drops) unexpectantly when the parking brake is released. This seems to be an intermittent problem when the vehicle is stopped. It has occurred with the vehicle transmission in park, reverse, or drive and the parking brake release lever is actuated. This has been for the last 18 months.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateNov 15, 2018
StateTX
Description
The tailgate open button on the key fob can be easily accidentally pushed twice while carrying it in your pocket thus causing the tailgate to open. Should the vehicle be parked next to something or a child standing or riding a bike could be injured by the opening tailgate, there is no way to disable this feature on the key fob. Bending and working near the vehicle can easily cause the button to be pushed twice while in your pocket. Need to be able to disable this feature for safety.
CategoryElectrical System
DateNov 14, 2018
StateWA
Description
Back up camera goes blank and shows black on display.
CategoryElectrical System
DateNov 14, 2018
StateWA
Description
Tailgate comes down on it's own. It has happened three times now. Dealer cold find now codes.
CategorySuspension
DateOct 22, 2018
StateCA
Description
While driving on the highway at ~65mph I hit a bump in the road that caused the steering to shake violently and uncontrollably. I was unable to control the vehicle until I was able to slow truck down to ~25mph. The shaking almost caused me to lose control and slowing down almost had vehicles hit me on the highway.
CategoryStructure:body
DateOct 19, 2018
StateTX
Description
The remote tailgate deployed (opened) at 60mph on I-40 east of nashville, tn. While towing our fifth wheel trailer. We heard a load boom, and did not notice anything until we stopped and the tailgate was down. There were no external inputs causing deployment of the tailgate
CategoryStructure:body
DateOct 19, 2018
StateTX
Description
While pulling from a fuel pump I began turning when I heard a loud noise. The tailgate had inadvertently opened and pierced through the front of a 5th wheel camper I was pulling. This caused significant damage to the camper as well as the to the top of the tailgate. This 1st incident happened ~ 3700 miles. I latched the tailgate and picked up another trailer (pintle hitch). I pulled into a parking lot to drop off the load and noticed that the tailgate had came down a second time. After dropping trailer off I began to drive home. Half way home to get fuel (un laden) I noticed the tailgate down again. The remote nor the dash button had been touched. The tailgate has since been removed as I can not risk further damage caused from my tailgate opening by itself. I informed my dealership (ryan ford of sealy,tx.) multiple times of the incident however was replied with only that there was no active tsb issues for my vin.
CategorySteering
DateOct 02, 2018
StateMO
Description
Tl* the contact owns a 2018 ford f-350 sd. While driving approximately 60 mph and pulling a 40 foot fifth wheel, the vehicle drove over an expansion joint on the road. The front end of the vehicle began oscillating severely, bouncing across two lanes of traffic. The contact managed to pull over to the road shoulder and waited a couple of minutes before continuing to drive. While attempting to control the vehicle, the contact sustained a torn left shoulder muscle because the steering wheel shook so violently. Medical attention was ongoing and surgery was required. The vehicle was taken to the dealer (broadway ford inc, 980 w broadway street, idaho falls, id 83402) where it was diagnosed that there was steering oscillation (part of tsb number: 18-2268). The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure and provided case number: cas-15812304. The approximate failure mileage was 8,200. *tt *jb
CategoryTires:pressure Monitoring And Regulating Systems
DateSep 24, 2018
StateND
Description
Tl* the contact owns a 2018 ford f-350 sd. The contact stated that the tire pressure monitoring system indicator illuminated when the vehicle was started. The vehicle was taken to phil long ford of denver (7887 w tufts avenue, denver, co 80123) where it was determined that the rear passenger dual exterior tire had a faulty tire pressure sensor and needed replacement. The contact also stated that the rear driver side dual exterior tire monitoring system was repaired on september 6, 2018. In addition, there was a failure with the front driver side tire's tire pressure monitoring system. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failures. The approximate failure mileage was 14,295.
CategoryStructure:body, Suspension
DateAug 28, 2018
StateCO
Description
Tl* the contact owns a 2018 ford f-350 sd. While hauling a trailer at highway speeds, the trailer detached without warning from the pins and aluminium connection. The failure damaged the rear of the vehicle and the trailer. The owner's manual had not indicated that the towing capacity exceeded the guidelines. The dealer was not contacted. The manufacturer was notified. The insurance adjustor towed the vehicle to a repair facility to inspect the damages. The contact was waiting for a response from the manufacturer. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The failure mileage was not available. *tt consumer stated factory installed gooseneck hitch failed. Updated 11/29/18*jb *dt*jb
CategoryWheels
DateJun 27, 2018
StateNC
Description
Recurring valve stem leaks causing low air pressure while vehicle stationary and moving. Ford does not have a fix.
CategoryWheels
DateApr 12, 2018
StateVT
Description
Aluminum wheel valve stem leaking - tire loosing approximately 10 psi per day. Tpms alarm notified me of a problem on highway when pressure reached 50 psig (spec =65) but identified the wrong tire because the sensors are incorrectly mapped. Apparently a this is a common failure on the 2017 and newer ford f350 drw trucks as indicated here and in other online forums: https://www. Ford-trucks. Com/forums/1495539-2017-drw-recurring-valve-stem-leaks. Html based on this I am expecting leaks in the other three aluminum wheels soon. The inner steel wheels apparently do not get the same problem. The frequency of this defect detracts from the effectiveness of tpms because it's always in alarm.

Who are we? We are Lemberg Law, a Consumer Law Firm

Lemberg Law is a consumer law firm helping victims of bad manufacturing and run-arounds from auto companies. We are ranked A+ by the BBB. Call our Helpline today!  There is no charge unless we win.

Share your story

Does this ring a bell? Have you had a bad experience too? Sound off and share your experience with other visitors in the comment box below.

Brian Jones

About the Author:

Brian Jones spent more than 20 years working as an ASE Certified Master Tech and Parts Specialist at multiple dealerships. Brian has become an authority in the industry, traveling across the country to consult for car dealerships and contributing his expertise as a writer for several major automotive publications. In his spare time, Brian enjoys working on pickup trucks, muscle cars, Jeeps and anything related to motorsports.

See more posts from Brian Jones
BE THE FIRST TO COMMENT

Leave a Reply or Comment

Write a comment below to share online. Or, instead you can to our legal team.

Please select your star rating.

Briefly describe your experience Briefly describe your experience

What’s your name? What’s your name?

What’s your phone number? Please enter a valid phone number

Want to know if you could sue? Get a free legal evaluation Lemberg Law?

Get Your No-Obligation
Case Evaluation

Send a secure message to our legal team.

What’s your name? What’s your name?
What’s your email address? What’s your email address?
What’s your phone number? What’s your phone number?
Briefly describe the problem Briefly describe the problem
Confidentiality Guarantee: We keep your information completely confidential and will not send you spam or sell your information.