2018 Dodge Grand Caravan Problems and Top Complaints – Is Your Car A Lemon?

Electrical, brakes and powertrain issues among the top complaints received by the NHTSA from vehicle owners

By Brian Jones | Updated on

By Brian Jones | Updated on

While minivans have lost some popularity with the rise of SUVs, the 2018 Dodge Grand Caravan continues to be a family favorite. The company claims that this model provided “uncompromised capability,” but that’s not the general consensus from owners. In fact, the defective powertrain, faulty exterior lighting, glitchy electrical system and faulty service brakes make this minivan a dangerous vehicle to drive.

Don’t be stuck with a lemon. You have legal rights to cash, return or buyback.

The law makes Dodge pay legal fees.

We've fixed thousands of lemon problems. Message or call 877-795-3666 today.

NHTSA Complaints for the 2018 Dodge Grand Caravan

Complaint CategoryNumber of Complaints
Electrical System
49
Structure:body
37
Unknown Or Other
32
Engine
14
Power Train
10
Service Brakes
8
Air Bags
7
Seats
4
Fuel/propulsion System
3
Steering
3

Problems with the Transmission

The powertrain includes one of the most vital components of any vehicle: the transmission. When this part fails, all bets are off.

That’s what happened to this Edmunds reviewer. “When it reached 64,000 miles the entire transmission went out. The transmission torque converter, which if you did not know is a round piece of steel in your transmission, got a hairline fracture in it. This tiny crack caused the entire transmission to fail. We had to pay $3,500.00 dollars for a rebuild. The company that rebuilt it AA Allstars were awesome! They informed us that they were regularly replacing transmissions for Dodge Caravans because of this part. The mechanic said Dodge used a cheap steel for the torque converter. He also mentioned that there was a kit sold by Dodge to repair it because it was a common problem. When I contacted Dodge to get some type of reimbursement I was denied because my warranty stopped at 60000 and I was at 64000. In my opinion a vehicle bought new should not need a new transmission at 60000 miles.”

Sadly, FCA has kept the manufacturer communications to a minimum and has nothing to say regarding the defective transmissions or why they are failing right after the warranty expires. If you ask some of the owners, it’s simply a racket. In the meantime, owners are left footing a hefty bill that wasn’t planned for. Maybe the tagline should be – “uncompromised capability until the warranty expires; then you are on your own.”

Problems with the Headlights

If things couldn’t get any worse, it’s about to be clear how dangerous this Dodge Grand Caravan is.

Sit down before reading this Edmunds review. “This is a very sad review because I’ve done plenty of nighttime driving before never had an incident until last night. I’ve noticed when I got the van that the headlights were too dim, well what happened last night confirmed it as I was driving a small distance destination going the speed limit on a city highway and hit a woman pedestrian going 35 to 40 mph! The street lights in this section of the highway were almost nonexistent and I didn’t see this poor woman until I was right on top of her by then it was too late! I am 99% sure she died leaving behind a daughter and brother to take care of her now!!! This was in Orlando FL on Oak Ridge Rd. It seems like the headlights that are on this van are there for simple legal purposes because they serve no other purpose!!!”

No one wants to be in this type of situation, but once again Dodge is quiet regarding any concerns. Instead, the company continues to manufacture minivans that hit unassuming pedestrians. Consider this a warning to all pedestrians everywhere. If you see a Dodge Grand Caravan heading your way at night, stay out of the way.

Problems with the Electrical System

With the electrical system, faults can be downright annoying or dangerous. This minivan has a mixture of both.

One NHTSA review talks about a nuisance. “The power locks are failing to work. Right now passenger door and sliding door locks stopped working. Sometimes, you can’t even unlock the door to open them. Which is a big safety problem.”

FCA doesn’t want to talk about any issues unless they are forced to issue a recall, which is precisely what occurred with the electrical system. NHTSA Campaign Number 18V524000 talks about a faulty voltage regulator that can cause the minivan to stall and cause an accident. This affects over 12,000 vehicles and poses a real safety concern. Surely, it’s evident to see where all of the compromises are now.

Problems with the Brakes

Another vital system is the service brakes, especially with all of the other malfunctions occurring with this vehicle.

Yet, another NHTSA complaint says this system is faulty as well. “I was in Allentown and my brake pedal drifted halfway to the floor while at the stoplight. I was at Pep Boys and they bled the brakes. That seemed to do the trick. Here we are two weeks later and the brake pedal is getting spongy and drifting again. Therefore no fluid leaks any place. There have been similar complaints on online boards. I paid cash for this van July 1, 2019. I should not have this problem. This is a manufacturer defect and is a safety hazard for myself and my passengers. Not to mention other persons on the road or crosswalks.”

Funny this review warns pedestrians after what has already been revealed. The company was forced into a recall related to the braking system. NHTSA Campaign Number 18V52300 talks about how the rear brake caliper pistons feature an insufficient coating that could reduce braking performance and cause a crash. Combine that with headlights that don’t illuminate the road and a stalling condition, and this Dodge Grand Caravan is just waiting to cause trouble. Sadly, this recall affected over 150,000 vehicles, which further proves how much FCA lied when claiming that this vehicle doesn’t compromise. It should be in the junkyard with other lemons.

Your Lemon Law Legal Rights

Think you have a lemon? Sit back and let the experts work out your lemon case at no cost to you. The law makes Dodge pay legal fees. You may be able to get your lemon out of your life. Every year, auto manufacturers buy back, replace or pay cash settlements to thousands of ‘lemon’ owners like you.

Complaint Data

CategoryStructure:body
DateDec 05, 2022
StateCA
Description
Both of my sliding door actuators are seized and won't unlock/lock. Currently, my driver side sliding door is stuck in the lock position. This is a safety hazard because if my car were in an accident and my kids needed to exit the vehicle, this door not opening would be an issue. Also, my passenger side sliding door also doesn't lock. This is an issue because anyone could enter my vehicle without me knowing and either steal the vehicle or could try to harm my wife or kids by waiting inside without them knowing. I have tried to discuss this with the dealership and with dodge, but they are unwilling to inspect the vehicle without a fee. I currently don't have enough money to get my vehicle inspected or to get the repair done. I have looked online and I do see that this issue has occurred with the same model for years 2013-2017. I have also read online of other vehicle owners having a similar problem.
CategoryLatches/locks/linkages
DateNov 30, 2022
StateNJ
Description
The contact owns a 2018 dodge grand caravan. The contact stated that the passenger's side electronic sliding door could no longer be opened manually or remotely. The vehicle was taken to the local mechanic who diagnosed that the door actuator was faulty and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The local dealer and manufacturer were notified of the failure, but no assistance was offered. The failure mileage was 56,000.
CategoryElectrical System, Fuel/propulsion System
DateNov 22, 2022
StateNV
Description
Cranks but no fuel fix. Possible tipm fuel pump relay issue.
CategoryStructure:body
DateNov 17, 2022
StateCA
Description
The sliding door on the driver's side is locked closed and it cannot be unlocked or opened. The sliding door on the passenger's side can be opened and closed, but cannot be locked. As such, that door can be opened when the van is driven. The door locking failures occurred without any warning. According to the mechanic, both failures were due to worn door latches, which can be repaired/replaced for more

Who are we? We are Lemberg Law, a Consumer Law Firm

Lemberg Law is a consumer law firm helping victims of bad manufacturing and run-arounds from auto companies. We are ranked A+ by the BBB. Call our Helpline today!  There is no charge unless we win.

,300 each in parts and labor. The van was purchased used more than 5 months ago with an odometer reading of 61,380 miles. The odometer read 71,173 miles when the van was dropped off today to have the door latches fixed. A request was made for all replaced components and parts to be retained for inspection, if warranted at a later date.
CategoryElectrical System, Unknown Or Other
DateNov 15, 2022
StateNV
Description
The rear driverside sliding door was stuck in the lock position for several months. It was inconvenient that the actuator stopped working on the door. After months of it being stuck it suddenly works, but everytime the door s lock the rear driverside sliding doors locking system makes a buzzer sound while locking. If this fails again and we need to leave the car quickly in an emergency not having both doors working properly could be very dangerous.
CategoryAir Bags
DateOct 19, 2022
StateTX
Description
The contact owns a 2018 dodge grand caravan. The contact stated while driving approximately 6 mph and crossing a railroad track, the driver's side front and driver's side rear passenger's side air bags deployed. The contact stated there was no warning light illuminated. The contact stated that the police were on scene and filed a police report. The contact stated that the air bags deployed with force and damaged the side sliding door. The contact stated that the sliding door could not be opened. The contact had not taken the vehicle to a local dealer. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The contact stated that his insurance provider was sending an appraiser to inspect the vehicle. The manufacturer had not been informed of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 50,000.
CategoryElectrical System, Structure:body
DateOct 17, 2022
StateIA
Description
Passenger door lock actuator stuck in the unlock position. When manually locked, actuator began buzzing when unlocking using electric methods. The van will not always unlock the doors via key fob since this has happened. I have small kids, and in the event of an emergency, it is important to be able to reliable unlock the rear doors if vehicle evacuation were necessary. I am in the processes of ordering a replacement actuator and will self install, but will keep the original on hand if the need arrises for it to be inspected. The vehicle has not been looked at by anybody other than myself as I do my own mechanic work.
CategoryElectrical System, Engine
DateOct 07, 2022
StateMA
Description
My cars engine light came on. First I thought it's was after a fill up of gas. Then it went off. Days later I went to go home from work and the car just wouldn't start. I had to have it towed- the mechanic stated it's always a problem em with dodge caravans it's the engine. I towed it to my normal mechanic which replaced the battery and lo and behold engine light is on. Took it to the dodge dealership and it's a cylinder head that needs to be replaced. This car is 4 years old, just at 75,000. In the ordinal owner and maintenances as suggested by manufacturer. This is unsafe and I cannot drive my children around in this vehicle. This is a known issue with these. My mechanic had another one in his shop with the same issue, but only 45,000 miles. I cannot drive this car, as it will continue to crack and cash a fatality with my children in the car.
CategoryElectrical System, Unknown Or Other
DateOct 06, 2022
StateIL
Description
The driver side sliding read door is stuck in the lock position. The door is unable to be opened manually in case of an emergency. This is a known problem with these vans and it is a safety issue. To fix this problem a part needs to be replaced, the "door lock actuator", which is costly. This should be fixed by the manufacturer as it can be dangerous if my family is stuck because of an accident and there is no way to force the door open. This problem could also happen to the sliding door. I have small children and I worry about this issue. My van only has 64,000 miles and I bough the vehicle used just six months ago. Prior to the failure the door would make a buzzing sound and seem to struggle to close. There should at least be a way to operate the door manually for safety reasons and that is not the case. This is dangerous.
CategoryElectrical System, Unknown Or Other
DateOct 03, 2022
StateFL
Description
Power control module or totally integrated power module(tipm) is giving multiple faulty codes. Car would not turn off(even when key is taken off) some times can not be put into gears. I'm afraid and concerned that vehicle could derail and not respond correctly. Veicle has been inspected by mechanics but failed to locate problem. An schedule has been made at dodge dealership for octuber 10. They will charge 0 just to inspect. Vehicle vin # not included in the recalls with the same issue.
CategoryElectrical System
DateOct 02, 2022
StateOR
Description
Every time I unlock the door or lock it it makes this loud buzzing noise,
CategoryStructure:body
DateSep 29, 2022
StateTX
Description
Left side passenger door stuck and will not open. Minivan was manufactured 12-2017 according to door sticker information.
CategorySeats
DateSep 19, 2022
StateFL
Description
The front seat passenger headrest broke open (the back of the headrest separated from the front which should only happen in a rear end collision) without cause. It appears to be a known problem with this seat headrest as noted on other dodge vehicles which have recalls. If somebody was sitting in the sit when this happened, it would have resulted in a head and neck injury. The 2018 dodge caravan should also be on the list of having ahr (active headrest restraint) system that is malfunctioning. This happened on september 5, 2022.
CategoryStructure:body
DateAug 06, 2022
StateTX
Description
The sliding rear passenger door (on the driver's side) will not open. It happened without warning; after some internet research, it appears that is a frequently occurring issue with models of dodge grand caravans. I'm the event of an emergency the side door panel would be difficult to escape. I have yet to take it a repairman for evaluation.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateJul 27, 2022
StateIA
Description
Passenger sliding door alternates from locking and cannot open to will not lock. This is a safety issue when trying to extricate my great grandchildren from their car seats!
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateJul 25, 2022
StateMO
Description
Around february 2022 the passenger side sliding door on our 2018 dodge caravan began making a buzzing noise when we locked and unlocked the door. It made this buzzing noise for a few months, until eventually it made no sound at all and was stuck in the lock position. We were not able to get it out of the lock position and cannot open the door. This is problematic because this is the side of the van our kids exit to go to school. It's not safe for them to exit on the driver side of the vehicle due to traffic. It's also problematic if we need to exit the passenger side door during an accident if the driver side doors and hatch are inaccessible. There were no warning lamps or messages associated with this problem. On july 25, 2022 a mechanic identified the issue and indicated the door lock actuator needs to be replaced at a cost >0.
CategoryStructure:body
DateJul 07, 2022
StateFL
Description
2018 dodge caravan (52,000 miles) rear sliding passenger door will not open under any circumstances. Door is in locked position and cannot be opened manually from the outside or inside of vehicle. Door will not open electrically with the key fob or the overhead console button. Door actuator is frozen in the locked position. If passenger in rear seat on passenger side had to get out of vehicle in an emergency they would have to exit using another door. It is my understanding that chrysler is aware of potential safety issues with this situation occurring and I have seen several class action lawsuits regarding this online.
CategoryElectrical System
DateJun 23, 2022
StateMS
Description
Rear passenger door is stuck in closed position. No way to override actuator to allow door to open. This is an for the rear passenger in the event they need to exit that door.
CategoryStructure:body
DateMay 30, 2022
StateWI
Description
The sliding door will not unlock and can not be opened from the interior or exterior. There is an extended warranty covering 2015 through 2017 dodge grand caravans but it does not cover 2018 or newer models even though it is the same design.
CategoryLatches/locks/linkages:electronic Lock/latch Actuator
DateMay 25, 2022
StateMO
Description
The contact owns a 2018 dodge grand caravan. The contact stated his wife had locked the vehicle and while attempting to unlock the driver's side sliding door the next day, the door failed to unlock. The contact's wife attempted to unlock the door using the key fob and manually from the inside and the outside however, the door failed to unlock. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the door lock actuator needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The dealer was notified of the failure. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 59,700.
CategoryEngine
DateMay 15, 2022
StateCA
Description
My 2018 dodge grand caravan had a check engine light come on indicating a cylinder 2 misfire. I took it to my dealership to find out if it was just the spark plugs. After multiple days of back and forth calls they informed me it was the cylinder head it's self and that the cost would be around 00 to fix if warranty chooses not to cover the repair. My child is wheelchair bound and we have been forced to cram into a small dodge dart until warranty department clears the repairs. I have already turned in all the service paperwork showing all services have been done on time. It only has around 75000 miles on it, it's never been in an accident, and has always been maintained. After extensive searches on the internet it has been an ongoing issue with the 2013 -2018 dodge grand caravan models cylinder heads.
CategoryAir Bags
DateMay 13, 2022
StateCA
Description
The airbag is malfunctioning and sending aa fault to the dashboard. My safety is at risk because if I'm in a accident and the airbags might not deploy. The problem has not been confirmed by a dealer yet or inspected by the manufacturer. Yes the warning lamp appeared 48 hours ago.
CategoryElectrical System, Structure:body
DateApr 20, 2022
StatePA
Description
Sliding side door on drivers side is locked and unable to get in or out of door. Carry 4 grand children in back and they could not be removed from side door in an emergency. Cannot unlock by key fob or manually. Vehicle has 46000 miles on it
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateApr 18, 2022
StateCA
Description
Both sliding doors started making buzzing sounds when they were locking or unlocking. Then they would open halfway and then suddenly close- when it closed it would not reopen and we could not exit the rear of the van. I had to wait a month to get it into the dealership, now they are saying that it will be at least a week to figure out what is wrong with the vehicle???? I have read numerous other complaints online regarding this very problem, please have it addressed!!! This has been going on for over a month. It is currently at the dealership for repairs.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateApr 01, 2022
StateMO
Description
My 2018 dodge grand caravan drivers side rear sliding door stopped opening 2 weeks ago without warning. It is stuck in a locked position and cannot be unlocked by overhead button, manually, interior door button, key fob or outside handle. This is a huge safety issue in case of emergency where my children would not be able to get out of the car. Upon investigation, this is a known, huge problem with these vans. This is a very expensive and unsafe problem.
CategoryElectrical System, Unknown Or Other
DateMar 28, 2022
StateNV
Description
Driver side sliding door will not open. Is locked and can not use this door to enter or exit the van. We bought this 2018 dodge grand caravan about 2 years ago only had this car for 2 years doors been stuck for 1 year I would say. It just stopped working one day!!! We have 2 disabled children and if something happens our children can not get out . There have been alot of complaints on this!! Why hasn't anything been done?? . My one child is not able to understand if he needs to get out another way. My other child climbs in from the back hatch back . Or over the front seat to the back! Come on enough fix my door. I should not have to put out thousands of dollars to fix something that has been a known problem. Shame on dodge for not fixing a problem where they put lives in danger!!
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateMar 26, 2022
StateTX
Description
Sliding passenger lock makes a loud buzzing noise when the door is locked. The door seems sluggish and not comfortable with operation. Door locks how ever buzzes when locked by switch and auto locking when operated.
CategoryElectrical System, Unknown Or Other
DateMar 15, 2022
StateKY
Description
The drivers side sliding door stopped working in the locked and shut position and is impossibleto open. Because of this we had to climb over our car seat to get our daughter out of the car. This is incredibly unsafe and should not happen.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateMar 06, 2022
StatePA
Description
The sliding door , on the passenger's side, is unable to be opened remotely or manually. The lock will not unlock manually or remotely. The door cannot be opened. The dealership said that the lock actuator probably broke and make it impossible to open the door. My mini van is available for inspection upon request. It is a safety issue because the passengers in the back of the mini van, especially my children, cannot use that door as an exit. The sliding door made a "buzz" sound for about a second when all of the doors were locked as we started to drive. After the noise, the door has been unable to open.
CategoryElectrical System
DateMar 04, 2022
StateWA
Description
Driver side rear slider is stuck in the locked position. The auto slider and door locks will not allow is to open from the inside or outside. My concern is that the passengers would not be able to exit in the case of an emergency. This happened without warning.
CategoryEngine, Power Train
DateMar 01, 2022
StateCA
Description
Transmission just stopped on the freeway... No warning or lights came on.
CategoryStructure:body
DateFeb 27, 2022
StateNY
Description
The drivers side sliding door has stopped working and is stuck in the locked position. It won't unlock and will not open manually. From what I can tell it's a problem with the actuator in the door. It is available for inspection. This could endanger my passengers if I'm hit on the passenger side and my passengers can not get out. I have yet to go to the dealer since I found out it's a lot of money to repair. The door did click and sometimes paused during closing it leading up to its failure.
CategoryStructure:body
DateFeb 07, 2022
StateVA
Description
The passenger side sliding door on my 2018 dodge grand caravan has had multiple lock/unlocking, automatic sliding, and door-ajar issues. I have had to have the automatic locks replaced on the door, but now the automatic sliding door won't close all the way when pushed, and even though it's ajar the van doesn't sense it and notify the driver with the warning light. I took the van to billy craft chrysler on 1/27/22. They identified the issue as the door latch/actuator failing internally. Because it is failing, it cannot identify if the door is open or closed. I have four children that ride in the back and several times have driven with them, thinking the door is closed only to hear air once I start driving. It is a serious safety concern that the warning light doesn't come on when the door is ajar. Also, when the button is pushed to close the door, it now is unable to close the door completely. Thank you for your time in addressing this safety issue.
CategoryEngine
DateFeb 03, 2022
StateOH
Description
The check engine light came on, we took it to a auto zone it showed cylinder 2 misfire. We repaired the spark plugs and spark plug housing units. The check engine light was still on after that. So we took it to a shop had them run a diagnosis again and the same cylinder 2 misfire came back. They took out and replaced all the spark plugs and housing units again and even replaced the fuel pump. Reset the check engine light and it still came back on. Upon checking the internet for possible issues, I found it was reported from over 100 dodge grand caravan owners this same exact issue. After doing the tune up exactly as we did replacing the same parts we have replaced twice they have all still had the same issue. This has been found that it is an engine cylinder that has gone bad. I do not see how this cannot be considered a recall when multiple owners have had the exact same issue. This is only a 2018 vehicle and to already have major engine issues is not ok and to see that I am not the only one. I would appreciate some looking into this problem to see about having the issue made into a recall. This is at least a ,000. 00 fix. That's not an easy pill to swallow on a new vehicle.
CategorySeat Belts:critical Fasteners, Seat Belts:front, Seat Belts:front:retractor
DateFeb 03, 2022
StateWV
Description
The contact owns a 2018 dodge grand caravan. The contact stated while driving at an undisclosed speed, she depressed the brake pedal and noticed that the passenger in the front passenger's seat was not restrained properly by the seat belt. The contact stated that the passenger moved forward and almost struck the windshield. The contact stated that the failure was intermittent. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was unknown.
CategoryAir Bags
DateJan 28, 2022
StateCA
Description
The contact owns a 2018 dodge grand caravan sxt. The contact stated that the air bag light illuminates intermittently. The contact stated that it remained on if the doors were open, and when driving. The contact stated that there was a chime sounding. The dealer nor the manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The mileage failure was 37,690.
CategoryElectrical System
DateJan 25, 2022
StateKY
Description
Both sliding doors will not open manually or with the key fob. The lock is permanently stuck in place. I was told it was due to a bad actuator. When you google this issue there are 1000's of other people that have this same issue. This is a huge safety concern as if I were in an accident all of my rear passengers wouldn't be able to get out of the car. Meaning my children would be stuck. This is so unsafe.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateJan 25, 2022
StateNJ
Description
Many times, I've tried to contact someone about this problem, and I've search other blogs in relation to the same problem. My driver's side door will not unlock with remote nor from inside the car. All other doors work fine but the driver's side doesn't unlock unless I use the emergency key to unlock it. At first it was working for a week or so than stopped. And then it would work again then stop. Now, forget about it. Stopped working completely. Many blogs have mentioned a faulty door lock actuator. And that is common, but I've tried to contact the manufacture with email and messages and no response. God forbid if I or my wife has to run into the driver side for any reason and can't because the door won't open like its suppose to.
CategorySeats
DateDec 30, 2021
StateIL
Description
The headrest on the passenger seat popped out while the car was in the garage. I'm reading that this is a known issue that can cause great harm had someone been sitting in the car at the time.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateDec 27, 2021
StateFL
Description
Driver side sliding door is stuck in the locked position. It will not unlock manually nor with the key fob. It is a safety hazard for any passengers in my car since the door cannot be opened.
CategoryElectrical System, Power Train, Service Brakes
DateNov 28, 2021
StateME
Description
Stalls out randomly rear caliper keeps failing and leaking break fluid transmission will not shift properly up or down shifting which makes had to stop everything the the recalls for usa model has this canada model has going right with it
CategoryElectrical System
DateNov 18, 2021
StateNV
Description
Passenger sliding door will not unlock from the inside or outside, will not open manually or electronically. This is a problem if I have to get my child out of the vehicle and help him with his carseat in an emergency. It has not been inspected by anyone yet.
CategoryStructure:body
DateNov 10, 2021
StateTX
Description
The left side sliding door will not open at all. Tried to unlock manually will not open have to use other side for kids to get out of van. I did some online research saying the the lock actuator on sliding door seized. To me this is major safety hazard. If anything should be able to open manually but cannot even with key fob will not open. Theo locking switch does not move at all stuck in middle.
CategoryElectrical System, Unknown Or Other
DateOct 26, 2021
StateSC
Description
Beginning about the time my regular warranty expired, about 40,000 miles, my rear sliding car door on the drivers side began making a loud buzzing sound when hitting the lock door button. It makes this sound every time the car door is locked. A month or so after it began making that noise, the door became stuck and would not open. It did not matter if the door was unlocked or not the door could not be opened at all. Then all of a sudden out of nowhere, the door became unstuck. A few weeks after that it became stuck again. This makes no sense, as I haven't done anything to warrant this issue. The right side sliding door also will not lock when the lock button is pressed. I have to manually open the door to lock or unlock the back sliding door on the right side. This is so frustrating. This issue is no longer "covered" by the warranty and it is incredibly annoying, not to mention expensive to have fixed. I bought this car new! It would seem to me the door being stuck and not being able to open is a major safety hazard. This should be a recall and customers should not have to pay 1,000$ or more to have this fixed. I cannot afford to have this fixed at this time so I am just having to live with it. I pray that if we are ever in a car accident that my children and I will be able to open the door and exit the vehicle safely and not be trapped inside.
CategoryStructure:body
DateOct 19, 2021
StateWI
Description
Drivers door lock latch motor failed, door would not lock. Replaced latch assembly. 3 months later, drivers rear slider door latch jammed, and would not open. Awaiting parts. Passengers rear slider door occasionally buzzes.
CategoryElectrical System, Structure:body, Unknown Or Other
DateOct 18, 2021
StateFL
Description
About 2 weeks ago, the power rear driver door stoped working, it is stuck in the lock position and can not be opened by hand from the outside or the inside, by remote or with the button in overhead console the car. This is a safety issue as we need to be able to open it up when a passenger (in this instance our kid) needs to get out. After some research online, I found out that this is a known issue but dodge decided to do just nothing. Safety first...... This needs to be an immediate recall!
CategoryEngine
DateOct 18, 2021
StateFL
Description
Check engine light came on, around 60000 miles, checked at autozone, cilynder 2 misfired. I fixed it with new coils and spark plugs. However, check engine light was still on. Dodge dealership said that there might be an electric problem, they replaced for 0 a. Able underneath the driver seat, this fixed an air an issue but not the check engine light. Now at around 75000 miles and after a trip to wisconsin, the car starts to shake and rattle and after some research I found out that it most likely the head gasket and dodge knows about it but just don't do anything to the hundreds of people. With the same complaint............
CategoryEngine, Power Train
DateOct 14, 2021
StateIL
Description
I have a 2018 dodge grand caravan I bought used from a cdjr dealer. I went on a 2,500-mile road trip in july 2021. The engine began running rough for about the last 500 miles. When we got home there was about 63,000 miles on the vehicle. I took it to a local mechanic at home in august and he said I had bad fuel so he put in a fuel treatment and had me fill up with premium fuel one to two times. This seemed to help only marginally. A month later I took the van to another mechanic and he determined that there was a misfire in cylinder #2. He performed a relative compression test and said the engine will need to be disassembled and inspected. He called a local dealer and found the warranty was 5 years/60,000 miles. He suggested I call my dealer because this shouldn't be happening even outside of the warranty. I did. They offered no solutions. Very frustrating.
CategoryStructure:body
DateOct 13, 2021
StateKY
Description
Neither of my rear passenger doors will open. The driver's side quit 2&1/2 months months after I bought the vehicle in 2019 at around 44000 miles. The passenger side quit at around 60,000 miles in 2021. The doors just suddenly stopped working without any indication there was something wrong. They will not open electronically or manually. The only way to access the rear of the van is through the cargo gate. It is a very expensive fix and very dangerous if we were in an accident to be able to get passengers out along with being extremely inconvenient. I have seen multiple reports of this online. I do not know why there is not a recall on the part that is malfunctioning so quickly with regular use.
CategoryStructure:body
DateOct 04, 2021
StateOH
Description
The hoods paint is bubbling up - I contacted customer care at dodge they told me to contact you
CategoryElectrical System, Unknown Or Other
DateAug 20, 2021
StateMA
Description
A few weeks ago, the passenger side slider door became locked and will not unlock with the overhead dome controller nor the key remote. Cannot unlock manually. Now, a couple of days ago, the driver side slider door locked up too! The only access to the back seats is through the rear lift gate!
CategoryLatches/locks/linkages
DateAug 05, 2021
StateGA
Description
The contact owns a 2018 grand caravan. The contact stated that after refueling the vehicle, the driver's side rear door failed to unlock. The contact stated that the safety feature activated and locked the doors while the vehicle was being refueled. The contact stated that the activation button to disable the feature failed to correct the failure. The dealer was contacted and informed the contact that the vin was not under recall. The contact received an estimate for the inspection of the vehicle. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 100,000.
CategoryLatches/locks/linkages:doors:latch
DateAug 03, 2021
StateMI
Description
The contact owns a 2018 dodge grand caravan. The contact stated that the driver's side sliding door locking mechanism had malfunctioned and the door was stuck in the locked position. The door was unable to be opened from inside or outside the vehicle. The cause of the failure was not yet determined by the local dealer however the dealer was notified of the failure. The manufacturer was not contacted. The failure mileage was 76,000.
CategoryStructure:body
DateAug 02, 2021
StateNM
Description
My sliding door does not open. I am worried that in the event of an accident the safety of the passengers (my children) in the backseat will be compromised.
CategoryStructure:body
DateJul 27, 2021
StateNY
Description
The driver's side passenger door suddenly locked and cannot be unlocked. This is a serious safety issue, as passengers can not exit that way in an emergency. We've gone online to see if there was an easy fix and there we found hundreds of owners with the same problem.
CategoryEngine, Power Train
DateJun 22, 2021
StateWI
Description
We have a 2018 dodge caravan with 69,000 miles on it - the check engine light showed a misfire on cylinder 5, after taking it to multiple mechanics they all have told us its an issue with the head gasket or possibly needs a new engine. This should not be happening with such a new vehicle with so few miles on it. After doing some research I have learned this is a common problem with this year, make and model.
CategoryElectrical System
DateMay 18, 2021
StateTN
Description
My driver side rear door will not open or shut at all. I believe the locking mechanism is stuck preventing the door from unlocking and opening. I have a child that rides on this side of the vehicle and if we was to have an accident no one would be able to get that door open to get to child. There was no warning to this happening. I just came out of no where and one day stopped working.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateMay 07, 2021
StateAL
Description
Passenger side sliding door stuck in lock position and will not open at all.
CategoryVisibility/wiper
DateMay 05, 2021
StateNY
Description
Sprayer for the wipers does not spray correctly. Left side is very week and right side does not spray at all.
CategoryElectrical System
DateApr 27, 2021
StateKY
Description
The rear passenger door is stuck in a locked position. It cannot be unlocked manual. The latch is completely stuck. With three kids, it is a safety issue for it not to open. It quit working without any warning and the van has less than 34,000 miles on it. We went in to church on sunday and locked the doors with the keyless remote. We came out and it wouldn't unlock. I see this is an issue for multiple people. There should be a recall issued.
CategoryStructure:body
DateApr 24, 2021
StateHI
Description
Passenger door, one on the driver side, is stuck on lock position. I can't open manually or key fab to do any functions as a door. It doesn't make any noise, just won't open.
CategoryStructure:body
DateApr 20, 2021
StateNE
Description
The left side passenger sliding door locking mechanism fails and sticks in the lock position. After doing some research on the internet it has been clear that this is a pretty common occurrence with dodge grand caravans. If I would need to get my baby out quickly from this side of the van, the lock malfunctions and this is a high safety problem.
CategoryElectrical System, Structure:body
DateApr 19, 2021
StateCA
Description
Driver side sliding door stuck on lock position can't manually door button on driver's door also won't respond and fob unlocks other doors except that one. Door is closed and locked and I have small children in case of an emergency there is no way to open the driver side door to gain access to them or to safely get them out of van it's a known issue in vans from other years and never recalled.
CategoryAir Bags, Structure:body
DateApr 13, 2021
StateNC
Description
Small overlap vehicle accident. Driver unrestrained. Front airbags failed to deploy. Driver fatality.
CategoryElectrical System, Structure:body
DateApr 10, 2021
StateNC
Description
2018 dodge grand caravan driver side passenger slide door stuck in the locked position will not release to open. Vehicle was in motion when the automatic door locked, now it will not unlock and unable to open for normal use or incase of an emergency. , per dealer this is ongoing problem and estimated cost to repair $ 1100. 00.
CategoryElectrical System
DateMar 26, 2021
StateCA
Description
We were driving our van from yermo, ca to las vegas, nv on 3/25/2021. When we arrived in las vegas, the driver-side rear sliding door became inoperable because the lock was stuck in the engaged position. This occurred without warning; the door was operable in yermo and there were no unusual sounds that would indicate an impending problem. After a little research, I found that this is a common problem with grand caravans, and is usually caused by a failure of the electronic lock actuator. It often occurs after about 3 years, or 40k miles. Indeed, our van was at about 42k miles at the time of failure. The thing that troubles me about the electronic lock failure is that it prevents the user from manually unlocking the door. It seems to me like the vehicle has been designed to comply with 49 cfr 571. 602 s4. 3 for only three years. Then dodge charges ~

Who are we? We are Lemberg Law, a Consumer Law Firm

Lemberg Law is a consumer law firm helping victims of bad manufacturing and run-arounds from auto companies. We are ranked A+ by the BBB. Call our Helpline today!  There is no charge unless we win.

,100 to replace the failed actuator, meaning that the annualized cost to the driver is 7 per rear door. We have four young kids with ages ranging from 8 years to 5 months. The infant car seat was placed on the passenger side, so our other three children could only really enter and exit the van from the driver side. The failure of the driver-side door meant that we had to remove the entire infant car seat to allow the other kids egress from the van. Having only one operating door is not sustainable for us, nor is spending 3 per year to keep both doors operable.
CategoryStructure:body
DateMar 24, 2021
StateKS
Description
Drivers side passenger door will no longer open.
CategoryElectrical System, Power Train, Unknown Or Other
DateMar 17, 2021
StateTX
Description
I was driving up a busy intersection and my 2018 dodge caravan stopped randomly in on going and on coming traffic and I couldn't start it. I have had the car for 8 months and I keep up with maintenance. My family was afraid because cars were driving up fast behind us in a narrow two way street.
CategoryElectrical System, Unknown Or Other
DateMar 15, 2021
StateIL
Description
2018 grand caravan driver rear slider door is locked close and will not open!!! I've seen multiple complaints of same issue
CategoryStructure:body
DateMar 11, 2021
StateFL
Description
Passenger side, rear sliding door locking mechanism failed. The door is stuck in the lock position and cannot be unlocked remotely or manually. This creates a safety issue as the door cannot be opened.
CategoryVehicle Speed Control
DateMar 03, 2021
StateTX
Description
Tl* the contact owns a 2018 dodge grand caravan. The contact stated that while driving at various speeds, the contact went to apply the accelerator pedal which traveled to the floor without warning. The rpms revved up however, the vehicle failed to respond. The contact veered to the shoulder of the road and contacted her husband. Her husband turned off and restarted the vehicle however, the failure persisted. The vehicle was towed to nyle maxwell chrysler dodge jeep ram (14150 u. S. 79, taylor, tx 76574 (512) 218-5300) to be diagnosed, which was still pending. The vehicle was not yet diagnosed nor repaired. The failure recurred. The vehicle was taken to the same dealer twice however, there was no solution to the failure. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 60,000.
CategoryElectrical System
DateFeb 21, 2021
StateTX
Description
My power locks will not work. I used the key fob and the manual in the van but they work off and on. Then completely lock up and will not lock or unlock. Its npt the key fob so something else is happening causing me to be locked out of my vehicle.
CategoryStructure:body
DateJan 31, 2021
StateNC
Description
My driver side sliding door has been stuck in the lock position. It was working fine and then nothing. System says to unlock to operate while parked whether the car is started or not. Every door unlocks except this one. Definitely a safety hazard. The car is fairly new with less than 70 k miles on it.
CategoryElectrical System, Structure:body
DateJan 26, 2021
StateVA
Description
The driver's door will not lock, or unlock, with either the fob or with the button on the door. I need to take the physical key out of the fob and manually unlock the door to get inside. Once inside the van, I need to remember to manually lock the my door, because it will not automatically lock like the rest of the doors. Once I exit the van, I need to push the lock down because the fob will not lock it. It only has 66,000 miles.
CategoryPower Train
DateJan 22, 2021
StateGA
Description
Power train control module causes car to idle rough and almost stall. Problem happens in park and drive as well when the vehicle is in motion. I have seen there has been a recall on my particular van for this part as well.
CategoryEngine
DateJan 14, 2021
StateFL
Description
Mileage was only 58k when I got a misfire code coming up in cylinder 2. I had a local mechanic look at it and he suspected it needed a tune up with new coil packs and spark plugs. We did that and still it came back on. Wasn't able to get into the dealer until 65k and now dealer says there is a leak in the valve of cylinder 2. Power train warranty is up at 60k so dodge won't do anything for us. They did tell me that other engines that were similar had a recall on them and extended the warranty for those that vin numbers matched that recall. They also informed me that I could get re-imbursed if they start the recall down the road. If the problem is known I don't understand why they won't cover it. Ashame a van with only 65k miles has such major problems with the engine.
CategoryElectrical System, Service Brakes, Steering
DateJan 10, 2021
StateNY
Description
9:45 pm I had just taken the exit for 781 off off I-81 in jefferson county, ny to head to fort drum. I was in the right hand lane. I set the cruise control to 62, the speed limit is 65. It was about a mile or so down from the on ramp when the van shut off by itself at 62mph. There was no electrical or lights, not even the headlights worked. The steering wheel locked, the brake pedal locked and would not work. I had no control. There is no road lighting in that area and no other cars were around so I could not see the road or anything around me. My first instinct was that I needed to try to get out of the middle of the highway because no other cars could see me but the vehicle was still moving. I tried the hazard lights and they worked so I tried as hard as I could to pull the wheel to the right to get to the shoulder. I ended up hitting a guard rail and that's what ultimately stopped the vehicle. I was able to put it in park, and then I called 911. I tried to restart the vehicle and it worked fine. It took about 15 minutes for the police officer to arrive. She asked what happened, looked at the guard rail and the vehicle. I gave her my license, insurance and registration and she did the paperwork. I left the scene in the vehicle at 10:35pm. There is damage to the right side bumper and wheel well as well as damage to the hub cap. This was terrifying to experience. I am very, very lucky that I was alone on a straight, one way piece of highway. Total loss of control of the vehicle at a high rate of speed could have resulted in a catastrophic accident had the circumstances been different. I could have gone into oncoming traffic, I could have been rearended, my children could have been injured. There is an open recall for this model year grand caravan and the powertrain control module, but if I input my vin it says there's no recalls for that vin.
CategorySeats
DateJan 02, 2021
StateAZ
Description
We were in an accident with our 2018 dodge grand caravan where a person rear ended us going at least 75 mph while I was going a maximum of 20 mph. We were in a city maintained road, silverbell rd at the intersection of cortaro rd. My sister in law was in the very back 3rd row passenger side chair when it dislodged from the metal hooks on impact. The seat flung around with her in it and the head rest hit so hard against the back window/door that it is now permanently bend forward. We cannot get the seat to stay up anymore or close down into the ground. The car is now totalled. In the impact, she sustained 2 big bumps on the top of her head & left side behind her ear. She also has severe whip lash and hit the right side of her face, causing a red mark & bruising on the cheek bone right under the eye. There was a police report taken with marana police department.
CategoryEngine
DateJan 01, 2021
StateIL
Description
My wife and I purchased a 2018 dodge grand caravan in 2020 with 54000 miles on it. Its had a misfire on cylinder 4 but was told it was just a coil pack or spark plug. Finally, we had that financial means to put it in the shop and come to find out it had low compression in cylinder 4 which led to needing a new head. The mechanic that fixed this said that some other mechanics had mentioned heads being an issue on those engines. I contacted dodge and they said that since it had surpassed the 60000 mile factory warranty by 4500 miles that they could not help us. The only thing that they told me was if it does become a recall or be included in a warranty extension that I could get reimbursed.
CategoryEngine, Service Brakes
DateDec 23, 2020
StateCA
Description
The brakes did not hold when backing up. I was driving when brakes went soft. I had vech towed to a local mechanis and it was disecovered a gas bubble in brake line . I searched and found a recall noted this was found and would reocour. Mafracture states it could reacour aganin at anytime
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateDec 23, 2020
StateNV
Description
Passenger side sliding door will not lock properly. When vehicle is parked, locking and setting alarm on the vehicle with the key fob the sliding door can still be opened. The door will not lock. Dealer advised that door locking actuator was bad and estimated

Who are we? We are Lemberg Law, a Consumer Law Firm

Lemberg Law is a consumer law firm helping victims of bad manufacturing and run-arounds from auto companies. We are ranked A+ by the BBB. Call our Helpline today!  There is no charge unless we win.

,650 to repair. This appears to be a manufacturing defect.
CategoryFuel/propulsion System, Power Train
DateDec 16, 2020
StateMD
Description
On the filler neck, when I put the fuel nozzle in to fill up my van the filler neck is loose. I have owned many vehicles and have never run into this problem. On the power train ,when climbing a hill it slows down and I go to give it gas and it boggs down, like sputters. It makes like a cluncking in the back of the van. Also the hood has come up on me 3 times. This last time I took it to the dealer they did not check it out. I was going down the road and the latch popped loose and made the hood come up. I was going about 45 miles an hour.
CategoryStructure:body
DateDec 07, 2020
StateND
Description
Passenger side sliding door not locking/unlocking when the key fob locks/unlocks the other doors. Vehicle is stationary, running or turned off in park.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateDec 03, 2020
StateMS
Description
Driver door lock malfunction. Will not lock
CategoryPower Train
DateNov 21, 2020
StateGA
Description
Motor knocking, lifter failed causing major motor damage. No warning lights less than 60,000 miles on motor with regular service.
CategoryVehicle Speed Control
DateNov 13, 2020
StateNC
Description
1st incident occurred while accelerating to pull on to the highway. After accelerating and removing foot from pedal, the pedal did not release and the vehicle continued to rapidly accelerate. Applying the brakes did not stop the engine acceleration but did allow us to exit the highway and shift to neutral and turn off the car. Restarting the car, all returned to normal. However a little while later while accelerating to pass a vehicle the gas pedal once again stuck in the downward position and would not release. Once again brake was applied and only after the vehicle dropped to around 40 mph did the throttle disengage.*dt*dt*jb*jb
CategoryElectrical System
DateNov 01, 2020
StateIL
Description
Sliding side door lock issues. One day works other days don't. Sliding power door does not latch on in open position thus keep closing and hitting a person when its automatically closing. My son and myself has slammed by door more than I would like to say.
CategoryElectrical System
DateOct 24, 2020
StateVA
Description
At power outlet the wiring harness rubs on the frame and caused the connector to get hot and melt the connector, wiring and melts the carpet it is a fire hazard
CategoryElectrical System
DateOct 22, 2020
StateGA
Description
Just like the thousands of other my rear sliding door is locked shut and will not open. It started as a buzzing sound then completely failed. This is a huge safety issue and now my almost new van with only 54,000 miles is worthless. The whole point of buying it is to have the two sliding doors. The dealer says it will be

Who are we? We are Lemberg Law, a Consumer Law Firm

Lemberg Law is a consumer law firm helping victims of bad manufacturing and run-arounds from auto companies. We are ranked A+ by the BBB. Call our Helpline today!  There is no charge unless we win.

,700 to fix. I promise this much. If dodge does not do a recall on this specific issue I will never purchase from them again. This is ridiculous that there is no recall already on the doors. I have read all the forums and submittions and this is a wide spread issue. Chrystler/dodge is well aware of the problem and have stepped up like an honest company and made it right. Buyers beware.
CategoryElectrical System
DateOct 22, 2020
StateOR
Description
This problem began about a month ago. We had locked the door and we heard a loud buzzing sound come from the right side sliding door. Now every time we open ,lock or unlock the car it makes a loud buzzing sound on that side.
CategoryElectrical System
DateSep 18, 2020
StateNC
Description
Passenger sliding door will not unlock/lock other than doing so manually by moving the lock by hand. This renders the automatic lock/unlock button, key fob and automatic opener useless.
CategoryElectrical System, Electronic Stability Control
DateSep 17, 2020
StateNY
Description
All the emergency light going on in the dash board, wipers working by them self, doors, radio, ac not working. Took to the mechanic center they change the fuse box but it did not solve the problem. Is their any explanation to fix this issue??
CategoryElectrical System
DateSep 11, 2020
StateKY
Description
Without warning, the drivers side sliding door of my 2018 dodge grand caravan initially began making a very loud buzzing noise when the automatic power locks engage while driving, however, this quickly escalated to not only an extremely loud buzzing noise when locked while driving, to an extremely loud buzzing noise anytime the locks are activated at all. This issue alone, while not exactly a safety concern, is concurrent with the same door intermittently either staying locked despite any effort to open it, or not being able to lock at all. Both of these latter problems could present a dangerous situation if not rectified.
CategoryElectrical System
DateAug 13, 2020
StateGA
Description
I have less than 56,000 miles and have already had to replace the locking mechanisms on both sliding doors. The drivers side was stuck in the lock position and the passengers side was stuck in the unlock position. Both pose a safety concern for children in the backseat and theft of valuables because I could not lock one of the doors. Both were repaired by chronic chevrolet under my paid extended warranty but I still had to pay the deductible for each one.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateAug 13, 2020
StateNC
Description
Sliding door lock problems, my driver's side sliding door will not ope when stationary, the door stop working, after 5 days the right side stopped working and my family began to exit through driver's door or front passenger's side. I contacted dodge they said it will cost 0 to diagnose and 00 to repair depending on what they find out.
CategoryStructure:body
DateAug 12, 2020
StateVA
Description
Driver side passenger sliding door stopped unlocking and wont open
CategoryElectrical System
DateAug 03, 2020
StateFL
Description
Our dodge caravan is 2 years old and the passenger side door locks won't lock or unlock with the fob or the actual door locks on the inside. It just stopped working. It was stuck in the lock position and we couldn't get my daughter out of the car without using the other door. The van is not longer under warranty for this issue as it has 45,000 miles on it. We bought the van from hertz 11 months. This is a safety issue and is a known issue with dodge caravans. There should be a recall on it. The dodge dealership wants to charge 00 for the actuator another ott that will probably break when they replace it and also an issue with the left control stick although working wasn't registering with the codes. It is 00 just for the actuator, master switch and labor. The van was stationary when we first noticed it. We got back to the van when it was locked and parked and we couldn't open the passenger side door because it was stuck in the lock position.
CategoryEngine
DateJul 29, 2020
StateMO
Description
Bought a 2018 dodge grand caravan from dealer with about 56000 miles on it. Idled a little rough, but had one in the past with same issue. Within 5000 miles, my engine light came on with misfire in cylinder 2. Took to dealer, they changed plugs and coil. Within 500 miles, same light came on, misfire cylinder 2. Took back and they moved plug and coil. Drove for probably 600 miles and light came back on. Took it back to dealer and after digging discovered low compression in cylinder 2. They talked to dodge dealership and they advised this is a common issue in these motors. The vehicle now has to be taken to the dodge dealership to be fixed since the head has to be worked on. My dealership doesn't have the tools to properly fix. Luckily I purchased extended warranty, however if this is a common problem, I am requesting a look into making it a recall across the board so no other individual has the same issue.
CategoryStructure:body
DateJul 22, 2020
StateCA
Description
The sliding door will open completely then start closing once open. The up top button is set to off so the open/ close button by the door would not work. This has happened on several dates up to now. The door doesn't lock or un lock using the key fob or in car lock button.
CategoryService Brakes
DateJul 14, 2020
StateCT
Description
When I applied the brakes the vehicle kept going it wouldn't srop this happened to me 3xs 2 times I was in a crash the brakes fo low to the floor but when it was checked I was told everything was fine. This last saccident people where with me they witnessed me frantically applying brakes but car wouldnt stop.
CategoryElectrical System
DateJul 13, 2020
StateTX
Description
Sliding door locks malfunctioning. At times even trying to manually unlock the door will not unlock. This is extremely unsafe should a situation requiring a quick exit arise and the children are unable to open the door(s). This happens with the vehicle is in park. The rear locks always make a buzzing sound but will lock/unlock only when it feels like it.
CategoryElectrical System, Service Brakes, Steering
DateJul 07, 2020
StateFL
Description
The first time this happened I was (june 22, 2020) on my way home from the dealership where I had just purchased the vehicle. I purchased it from out of state so it was about a 400 mile drive home. I was coming to a stop light and the brakes stiffened and didn't work. Also the power steering was gone. Luckily, I was able to pull over and turn the car off and then turn it back on again. A brake light was flashing on the dash so, I pressed the parking brake release twice and restarted it again. After I did this the car seemed fine. I drove home very carefully and called the dealer. They said to take it to the closest dealer to my house. I did the next day (june 23, 2020). The only problem code they found was in the brakes so they replaced those parts. I went home thinking that all was fixed. I drove the vehicle another 500+ miles in the next week without any problems. Then on july 4th it happened again, no brakes or power steering. I was lucky again in that I could pull over and restart the car. I took it in to the dealer when they opened on july 6th. They found no problem code and said until they had it happen while they were driving it, there was nothing they could do. The first time this happened I was driving downhill slowing down to a stoplight. The second time I was driving downhill and slowing for traffic when I noticed it. I was lucky that I was not on fast highways when this happened.
CategoryStructure:body, Unknown Or Other
DateJun 30, 2020
StateNC
Description
Rear right sliding door lock actuator buzzing when unlocking door.
CategoryElectrical System, Power Train, Unknown Or Other
DateJun 17, 2020
StateNM
Description
Bought the van in december of 2019. A few months ago I noticed that the van wasn't accelerating/shifting when going up hills. It delayed started one night and I had to shift if off and restart it. My front a/c stopped working and kicks on randomly. The doors don't automatically lock until a few minutes after being put into drive. Back right door doesn't lock. Recently took it to my mechanic and was informed that there is burnt wiring and possible plugged cad. Converter. *tr
CategoryEngine
DateJun 12, 2020
StateFL
Description
Tl* the contact owns a 2018 dodge caravan. The contact stated that while driving at 30 mph, the vehicle shuddered and stalled. The contact stated that the power steering and brakes were also inoperable. The vehicle was restarted after several attempts. The vehicle was not taken to be diagnosed nor repaired. Neither the dealer nor the manufacturer were notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 55,000.
CategoryElectrical System, Structure:body
DateJun 02, 2020
StateLA
Description
Driver side slide door stuck on lock. *tr
CategoryAir Bags
DateMay 31, 2020
StateMD
Description
Took my car to two dealers the first dealer said he didn't have a tool to remove the light. The second dealership kept my car for five days said it was a seatbelt error. When I went to pick it up they said they didn't have a mechanic that could get rid of the air light. And they charged me for a new driver side seat belt
CategoryStructure:body, Unknown Or Other
DateMay 23, 2020
StateTX
Description
Sliding door locks on both driver and passenger are not working driver side sliding door is in locked position and will not open with key fob, manual lock passenger side sliding door does not lock with key fob, have to manually lock and unlock door. *tr
CategoryElectrical System
DateMay 14, 2020
StateNY
Description
The driverside door lock does not operate with remote or unlock or lock using the inside door lock button. Must use the key inside the fob remote device to unlock door from outside. I manually have to push knob down to lock and inside handle to unlock door. *tr
CategoryElectrical System, Structure:body
DateApr 10, 2020
StateKY
Description
Driver's side sliding door will not unlock/open. I got to my destination and used the power button over visor to open the door and unload children. Used power button at the door to close the door after unloading children. Came out to van to go home and door would not open. The vehicle had around 42,000 miles and I had only owned the vehicle for 3 months. I bought it used from a dealer. I have researched this problem and it appears to be a common problem with the vans models 2014 and later. The repair cost is about 00 for a faulty lock mechanism. I have tried multiple times to force the door to unlock and it will not unlock and can not be opened which limits access to the back on the van on the driver's side.
CategoryElectrical System, Unknown Or Other
DateMar 14, 2020
StateFL
Description
The driver-side rear sliding door has locked and will not unlock manually, with door unlock button, or by key fob. When trying to unlock manually the mechanism rubber bands back to the lock position as if the locking mechanism in the door is stuck. This presents a safety hazard in case of emergencies. This luckily happened as I was going to put my son in the vehicle before leaving my home.
CategoryElectrical System, Engine, Power Train
DateMar 03, 2020
StateTX
Description
Engine stalls without warning when gas gauge gets to 1/4 of tank. It has happened when going 70 mph on highway, in stop and go traffic on highway, going slow speeds on a residential street, or at a stop sign. Loose power steering and power brakes. Have to come to complete stop, put it in park, and restart it. No warning, no engine misfires, just abrupt sudden stop. The only common thing is the level of gasoline in the van. As long as it is filled before it gets to 1/4 tank, it doesn't have problems. Took to dealer who could not duplicate problem (had more gas in it) and they said there were no codes. They would not perform diagnostic tests on all systems. Asked them to test power control module since same problem was subject to recall of other 2018 dodge caravans under recall no. U87 for chrysler and nhtsa campaign id 18v524000, but they would not, even though vehicle was still under the warranty provided as a certified used vehicle.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateFeb 13, 2020
StateAZ
Description
The passenger rear sliding door has locked and will not open manually, with button, remote and overhead button. This presents a safety hazard incase of emergencies. Upon further research, it seems this is a common problem with dodge grand caravans and have cost customers more than

Who are we? We are Lemberg Law, a Consumer Law Firm

Lemberg Law is a consumer law firm helping victims of bad manufacturing and run-arounds from auto companies. We are ranked A+ by the BBB. Call our Helpline today!  There is no charge unless we win.

,000 for repairs. This should be recommended for a recall.
CategorySuspension, Unknown Or Other
DateFeb 07, 2020
StateAZ
Description
At 48,000 miles rattles in rear end getting louder. Sounds like coming from rear suspension. Not covered under warranty after 36,000 miles. Hear rattling when in motion.
CategoryEngine, Service Brakes
DateFeb 06, 2020
StateTX
Description
Vehicle is stopping very slow. Also is jerking when going from idle to pull off. Breaks require additional stopping room. These issues began immediately after purchase in september 2019. I have seen several online complaints for this same vehicle. There are recalls on similar vehicles.
CategoryService Brakes
DateJan 16, 2020
StatePA
Description
I was in allentown and my brake pedal drifted halfway to the floor while at the stop light. I was at pep boys and they bleed the brakes. That seemed to do the trick. Here we are two weeks later and the brake pedal is getting spongy and drifting again. Therefore no fluid leaks any place. There have been similar complaints on online boards. I paid cash for this van july 1 2019 . I should not have this problem. This is a manufacturer defect and is a safety hazard for myself and my passengers. Not to mention other people on the road or crosswalks.*dt*jb
CategoryElectrical System
DateDec 19, 2019
StateFL
Description
On 9/19 the power locks are failing to work. Right now passenger door and sliding door locks stopped working. Sometimes you cant even unlock the door to open them. Which is a big safety problem. Now 12/19 driver side locks are having problems and not locking and unlocking. And sometime the driver side sliding door will not unlock so the door is stuck making it a major problem for exit if there was an emergency
CategoryStructure:body
DateDec 16, 2019
StateKY
Description
My driver's side sliding door stopped working. I bought my van from a dealer at the end of july 2019 with around 40,000 miles on it. In the middle of october 2019 (around 45,000 miles) the door stopped working. I used the key fob button to open the door and put my grandson in his carseat. I used the door power button to close the door. When we got to our destination, I used the power button on the roof dash to open the door, I got my grandson out and used the door power button tho close the door. Everything worked as usual. When we came out, I tried to use the key fob button to open the door. The lights blinked, but the door did not open. I tried to open the door manually and it would not open. When I got home I tried to figure out what was wrong. I tried to unlock the door, but it will not unlock. The button will move some manually but will not unlock. I tried calling the dealer and they said they couldn't do anything because it was out of warranty. I called dodge to see if there was a recall on it and they said there was not a recall and they could do nothing to help me. I was looking online and saw that many people have had the same problem and most of the vehicles were fairly new like mine. They suggested coming here to file a complaint to try and get a recall on these doors.
CategoryService Brakes
DateNov 17, 2019
StateTX
Description
I was crossing an intersection when 2 cars stopped in front of me making a left turn I tried to stop slammed my brakes no skidding at all and ran into the back of a car totaling my van as of the result of the wreck in wich l felt like there was something wrong with the brakes
CategoryStructure:body
DateOct 11, 2019
StateFL
Description
Rear passenger doors often don't unlock or open. Huge safety issue. Car is turned off. Inside unlock button pressed twice, rear passenger door doesn't unlock. When key fob is used to unlock the doors, rear passenger door doesn't unlock. When car is turned on and the inside unlock button is pressed, rear passenger doors don't unlock.
CategoryElectrical System
DateSep 30, 2019
StateFL
Description
The power locks are failing to work. Right now passenger door and sliding door locks stopped working. Sometimes you cant even unlock the door to open them. Which is a big safety problem.
CategoryAir Bags
DateSep 19, 2019
StateDE
Description
The airbag indicator light comes on/off intermittently. The driver's side airbag has been replaced 2 times by 2 different dealerships and the wiring harness that supplies that airbag has been replaced 1 time. This has taken place no matter if the van is stationary or moving. I have several pictures of the dashboard that shows both the tacometer and speedometer.
CategoryFuel/propulsion System
DateSep 04, 2019
StateCA
Description
Car was stationary. Decided to go into another lane so while turning into other lane, depressed gas pedal firmly and it stuck to the floor revving up the engine to where ii immediately slammed the brakes on but still hit the car in front of me. This happened before while entering the freeway from an onramp where I "unstuck" the pedal by wedging my foot under the side of the pedal and pulling out. I thought it was a one time thing and dismissed it. The freeway was pretty empty. This new circumstance was completely different as I was at a stop in traffic and this happening is extremely dangerous. I consider it to be defective should be taken care of from the manufacture.*dt *tr
CategoryElectrical System, Unknown Or Other
DateAug 31, 2019
StateTX
Description
Passenger doors do not open automatically. They will not work from the driver controls, key fobs, or from inside the vehicle. They are locked and will not open. Went from working fine to not working at all. No accident occurred. Battery and all electric components are intact. Vehicle was stationary over night and next morning they didn't work. All other features on vehicle are as they should.
CategoryElectrical System, Structure:body:door
DateAug 01, 2019
StateTN
Description
Tl* the contact rented a 2018 dodge grand caravan. While the passenger side sliding door was being closed from inside the vehicle, the contact's son's hand was crushed from stopping to close the door. The contact mentioned that the door sensor failed to detect his son between the door. There were no injuries. In addition, the door continued to latch. The contact released the door manually from the outside latch. The vehicle was not taken to a dealer. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure and informed the contact that the door was not supposed to continue to close. The approximate failure mileage was 35,400.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateJul 15, 2019
StateKS
Description
Takata recall right side passenger door won't lock.
CategoryStructure:body
DateJun 16, 2019
StatePA
Description
Sliding door on passenger side suddenly locked and cannot be opened from the inside or outside, manually from latch or unlock buttons, or from key fob. In an emergency, a passenger could be trapped inside the vehicle. Vehicle has approx. 12000 miles on it.
CategoryAir Bags
DateJan 18, 2019
StateNY
Description
Vehicle was taken in to dealer for air bag light on, was told active head restraints had deployed. Van has 5700 miles on it. Dealer stated "someone must have backed in to something." there is no evidence of any damage to rear of van, & parts alone were quoted at 93. 00 + labor. This seems to be an ongoing issue with chrysler. Perhaps they should announce a recall to mitigate this situation.
CategorySteering
DateDec 07, 2018
StateGA
Description
The tie rod on the right, passenger side, tire of this vehicle broke while driving. This was a rental car.
CategorySuspension
DateOct 24, 2018
StateIL
Description
Rear suspension rattles even over little road imperfections. Brought to dealer only for them to tell me all new grand caravans rattle over bumps. Concerned over premature suspension failure maybe by faulty or dodge not using appropriate shocks or other means of dampening rear suspension. Ing better new shocks
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateOct 01, 2018
StateOH
Description
The sliding passanger door closed on my child's hand. The door did re-open but not immediately. It ended up causing a break in her hand.
CategorySeats
DateJul 19, 2018
StateFL
Description
2018 dodge caravan. Consumer writes in regards to defective passenger seat which resulted in injury to passenger. *ld the consumer stated the while attempting to adjust the seat to an upright position it slammed forward against the back of the head. This caused and injury to the head and jaw. The consumer did not seek medical attention. *js *tt *bf *tr
CategoryStructure:body
DateJul 16, 2018
StateTX
Description
Have had the brand new van for only 2 weeks and liftgate (back hatch) on van does not open. I have a base model so I have to open it manually... Tried everything ... Nothing will open it. Taking it to dealership this weekend. Hopefully they can't open it.
CategoryTraction Control System, Unknown Or Other
DateJun 10, 2018
StateCO
Description
Wheels spin during acceleration, poor traction on road. Rental car from portland, oregon airport from the enterprise. Don't know the vin. Perhaps an issue with all dodge grand caravans. *tr

Who are we? We are Lemberg Law, a Consumer Law Firm

Lemberg Law is a consumer law firm helping victims of bad manufacturing and run-arounds from auto companies. We are ranked A+ by the BBB. Call our Helpline today!  There is no charge unless we win.

Share your story

Does this ring a bell? Have you had a bad experience too? Sound off and share your experience with other visitors in the comment box below.

Brian Jones

About the Author:

Brian Jones spent more than 20 years working as an ASE Certified Master Tech and Parts Specialist at multiple dealerships. Brian has become an authority in the industry, traveling across the country to consult for car dealerships and contributing his expertise as a writer for several major automotive publications. In his spare time, Brian enjoys working on pickup trucks, muscle cars, Jeeps and anything related to motorsports.

See more posts from Brian Jones
4 COMMENTS
  • KRISSY

    I bought a 2018 Dodge Caravan SXT Jan,2020, Dec 2021 the transmission needs to be rebuild for $3700 at 77,000 miles this is unbelievable. I will do my homework on the next vehicle that I purchased.

  • Alisha

    My transmission on my 2018 Dodge Grand Caravan went out 2,000 miles after my extended warranty with no warning whatsoever. It was running fine then just wouldn’t move in the middle of an intersection. This is apparently a common issue but why isn’t there a recall if this is a common issue? Now I’m supposed to come up with 6500 on top of the mechanics fees of 579 to find out the whole transmission isn’t even repairable.

  • Gary G

    We have multiple Dodge Caravans 2018-2019 It seems that between 55-70 the transmission fails…….no warning.
    Is this a manufactures defect? Is Chrysler responsible for these repairs?

  • gail

    I have a 2018 Dodge Caravan with 34,000 and it needs a new transmission. Years ago I purchased a new 1997 and had the same issue and never purchase another Dodge until this one. The vehicle is under warranty but this is ridiculous for a transmission to go out at 34,000. What’s to say the new one won’t do the same thing. Not happy!

Leave a Reply or Comment

Write a comment below to share online. Or, instead you can to our legal team.

Please select your star rating.

Briefly describe your experience Briefly describe your experience

What’s your name? What’s your name?

What’s your phone number? Please enter a valid phone number

Want to know if you could sue? Get a free legal evaluation Lemberg Law?

Get Your No-Obligation
Case Evaluation

Send a secure message to our legal team.

What’s your name? What’s your name?
What’s your email address? What’s your email address?
What’s your phone number? What’s your phone number?
Briefly describe the problem Briefly describe the problem
Confidentiality Guarantee: We keep your information completely confidential and will not send you spam or sell your information.