2017 Nissan Armada Problems and Top Complaints – Is Your Car A Lemon?

Brakes, electrical, engine and powertrain issues among the top complaints received by the NHTSA from vehicle owners

By Brian Jones | Updated on

By Brian Jones | Updated on

Nissan claims owners can “drive with precision” when behind the wheel of the Armada SUV, but is this large SUV really worthy of becoming a family vehicle? It appears that the 2017 Nissan Armada is riddled with defects from the engine to the electrical system, flowing through the powertrain and service brakes as well.

Click on other model year to view more problems: 2018   2019

Don’t be stuck with a lemon. You have legal rights to cash, return or buyback.

The law makes Nissan pay legal fees.

We've fixed thousands of lemon problems. Message or call 877-795-3666 today.

NHTSA Complaints for the 2017 Nissan Armada

Complaint CategoryNumber of Complaints
Electrical System
18
Power Train
14
Service Brakes
10
Engine
9
Air Bags
6
Unknown Or Other
4
Back Over Prevention: Warnings
2
Electronic Stability Control
2
Vehicle Speed Control
2
Steering
1

Engine

Nissan has become known for producing vehicles with powerful engines, but the 2017 Armada seems to fall short in this area.

Just look at this NHTSA complaint. “Car gave a BCI Malfunction warning on dash. When I turned the car off and went to restart, it would not restart. This used to happenonce every couple of weeks. It has now happened more than 10 times in the last two days. Sometimes the car will start other times I have to try 15 times or more before it starts.”

It wouldn’t be concerning if only one engine malfunction was reported, as every vehicle can’t be perfect. However, Nissan is suffering from a rash of complaints, just like this one. The automaker isn’t hiding issues that are being experienced with the Armada engine. In fact, Service Bulletin #NTB19-057 discusses the problem with an engine knock or ticking noise. To help technicians figure out the potential problem, a flow chart has been supplied. That’s right! There are so many potential causes that the dealership must work through a flow chart to find the culprit. If Nissan was aiming for “precision,” the company clearly missed the mark.

Here are some actual complaints logged with the NHTSA about the 2017 Nissan Armada Engine Problems:

TL* THE CONTACT OWNS A 2017 NISSAN ARMADA. WHILE DRIVING 5 MPH, A RAMBLING NOISE WAS PRESENT AT THE REAR OF THE VEHICLE. ALSO, ALL THE WARNING INDICATORS ILLUMINATED BEFORE THE VEHICLE DECELERATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE LOCAL DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE THROTTLE WAS FAULTY. THE THROTTLE WAS REPAIRED, BUT THE VEHICLE CONTINUED TO EXPERIENCE THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED BACK TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE AIR SUSPENSION WAS FAULTY. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED, BUT THE FAILURE LATER RECURRED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN BACK TO THE DEALER, BUT THE CAUSE OF THE FAILURES COULD NOT BE DETERMINED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURES. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 19,000.

Electrical

In today’s modern vehicles, the electrical system runs just about everything. It seems that everything electronic is also suffering from problems with the 2017 Nissan Armada.

Just look at what this Edmunds user thinks. “Let me say I really wanted to like this car.  I had high hopes for it.  I traded a Chevy Tahoe for my 2017 Amada Platinum 4WD and I initially loved it untill it rained and snowed.  The problem is that the car has a ton of electronic safety features but they are too sensitive so when it rains heavily or when it snows and you get a small snow flake on your bumper, the front bumper sonar report a “front radar obstruction” issue which the car interprets as you being close to crashing with something so you get uncontrollable beeping that can only be stopped by turning off the sonar from the central console.  One additional quirk is that every time this happens, all your radio presents for FM 2 or XM 2 & 3 (there are three sets of presets) will be lost for 24 hours.  After roughly 24 hours, the presents often (not always) come back.  I’ve taken the car into service twice for this and brought them video (I’ve filmed the driver’s console during a rain storm showing it showing the “front radar obstruction” error during a rain storm) and the dealer has returned it both times stating it is working as expected.  Thus, this is a $50K car that apparently was manufactured to work only in clear sunny days.”

Apparently, snowflakes can be dangerous, especially when landing on the bumper. The Nissan’s systems are hyper-sensitive and could lead to disaster. Yet, the automaker isn’t taking complaints seriously. Even with Service Bulletin #PC522,the company discusses trouble with the Electronic Control Module that could cause several problems. In this correspondence, technicians are casually asked to look through inventory and update the software to “ensure customer satisfaction.” If Nissan was concerned with customer satisfaction, the company wouldn’t have shipped out massive batches of defective SUVs in the first place.

Here are some actual complaints logged with the NHTSA about the 2017 Nissan Armada Electrical Problems:

I DRIVE A 2017 NISSAN ARMADA THAT CAUGHT FIRE!!! WE PURCHASED THIS VEHICLE MARCH OF THIS YEAR. MY HEATED SEAT MALFUNCTIONED AND CAUGHT MY PANTS AND MY SEAT ON FIRE WHILE I WAS DRIVING WITH TWO-2- SMALL CHILDREN!!! TUESDAY MORNING NOVEMBER 12TH, 2019 I WAS DRIVING MY 7 YEAR OLD TO SCHOOL WITH MY 3 YEAR OLD WITH US WHEN I STARTED TO FEEL A PAIN IN MY LEFT LEG. I LIFTED MY LEG WHICH THEN I SAW SMOKE AND COULD SMELL SOMETHING WAS BURNING. ALL THIS HAPPENED WHILE I WAS DRIVING WITH 2 SMALL CHILDREN STRAPPED INTO THEIR CARSEATS. WHEN I NOTICED THE HOLE AND BLACK MARKS IN MY SWEATPANTS AND A HOLE IN MY DRIVER SEAT I IMMEDIATELY TURNED OFF THE HEATED SEAT BUTTON. WE COULD OF WRECKED INTO ANOTHER VEHICLE THAT MOST LIKELY WOULD OF HAD ANOTHER KID IN THE CAR. NOT ONLY WAS MY CHILDREN’S LIVES AND MY LIFE AT RISK BUT ALL THOSE PEOPLE’S LIVES AROUND ME TAKING THEIR KIDS TO SCHOOL, TOO. IT WAS ONE OF THE MOST SCARIEST DAYS OF MY LIFE. I AM TERRIFIED TO DRIVE THIS VEHICLE NOW. WE COULD HAD DIED!!! I BOUGHT THIS VEHICLE BECAUSE I WANTED HEATED SEATS, NOW I WILL NEVER USE HEATED SEATS AGAIN. I AM TRULY TRAUMATIZED FROM THIS EXPERIENCE. MY EXPERIENCE WITH NISSAN CORPORATION HAS NOT MADE THE SITUATION BETTER BUT WORSE

VERY OFTEN DOESN’T START AND ISN’T BATTERY PROBLEMS OR ANYTHING ELSE EVERYTHING ELSE WORKS PERFECT BUT JUST THE START DOESN’T GO ON

Service Brakes

With all these defects, it would be more important than ever to have functioning service brakes. Not surprisingly, this is yet another system that seems to malfunction regularly.

One NHTSA statement from an owner says, “Braking system seems to go in/out intermittently while driving or when stopped. You can begin rolling even when the brakes are applied while stopped. It also will not allow you to start the vehicle unless you stomp on the brake pedal. And in a few situations it has not allowed me to take the vehicle out of Park unless stepping on the brake pedal if the car is running. My mechanic and various website blog reports determine this might be a booster sensor issue which is not being issued for recall.”

The Nissan Armada might not have any current recalls, but it should according to owners. The manufacturer is fully aware of several braking issues, one of which is illustrated with Service Bulletin #NTB17-082a. It appears that DTC P0456 is set because of a leak at the vent control valve o-ring, causing trouble with the brakes. Instead of issuing a recall, customers are driving around town with this defective system. How can someone “drive with precision” when it’s not even possible to brake correctly?

Here are some actual complaints logged with the NHTSA about the 2017 Nissan Armada Brake Problems:

I AM IN THE MEDICAL FIELD AND TODAY (8/2/18) WAS TRYING TO LEAVE WORK TODAY AND MY CAR WOULD NOT CRANK. IN THE PROCESS, I NOTICED THAT THE BRAKE WOULDN’T CATCH AND WHEN I FINALLY WAS ABLE TO CRANK IT, THE SHIFTER WOULDN’T GO OUT OF PARK. IT WAS STUCK. THIS HAPPENED 2 MORE TIMES BEFORE DRIVING DOWN THE ROAD ON A TRIP AND THIS WARNING LIGHT BCI MALFUNCTION AS WE ARE DRIVING DOWN THE ROAD. MY BRAKES BECAME REALLY TOUCHY AND I HAD TO PULL OFF THE ROAD TO KEEP FROM HAVING AN ACCIDENT. THEN, I HAD TO CUT IT OFF AND KEEP TRYING TO GET IT GOING BC I COULDN’T GET THE MALFUNCTION TO GO AWAY OR EVEN COME ON TO PUT IT BACK IN GEAR. THIS IS A HUGE SAFETY HAZARD AND TRAVELING WITH TWO CHILDREN COULD HAVE BEEN EXTREMELY HAZARDOUS TODAY. I AM REQUESTING NISSAN AND THE DEALERSHIP TAKE RESPONSIBILITY FOR THIS PROBLEM AFTER PAYING A HUGE PRICE FOR A PREMIUM VEHICLE…THE LAST THING I NEED TO DO IS BE BROKE DOWN ON THE SIDE OF THE ROAD

Powertrain

While the powertrain might be last on this list, it certainly shouldn’t be overlooked. In fact, the powertrain contains the transmission, which is essential for the shifting and operation of the Armada.

Again, Edmunds users have many complaints about the powertrain, including this one. “The interior lighting had a broken ground wire, the radio keeps rebooting itself, the transmission kept losing power under acceleration.  The last two required a software update from the dealer so remains to be seen whether I will encounter the issue again.  The dealer has been good, but a car that is nearly $60K should not have issues like this.”

Notice the review also touches on more electrical system concerns as well. Nissan once again is happy to acknowledge that there are many concerns with the powertrain. Service Bulletin #NTB17-016b discusses the inability to shift correctly, a lack of power and fluctuating RPMs. Again, the instructions issue several reasons for these problems, leading everyone to believe that the powertrain is suffering from numerous problems. To drive with precision, owners are dumping the Nissan Armada and switching to a more reliable option.

Here are some actual complaints logged with the NHTSA about the 2017 Nissan Armada Transmission Problems:

THE TRANSMISSION ON MY 2017 ARMADA SEEMS TO SHIFT IMPROPERLY AND EVEN SEEMS TO SHIFT PREMATURELY CAUSING A STALL OR LOSS OF POWER TO THE VEHICLE. I’VE NOTICE THIS AS I’M STARTING TO ACCELERATE FROM A STOPPED POSITION AND IT APPEARS TO HAPPEN SOMETIME BETWEEN SHIFTING FROM 2ND TO 3RD GEAR. THIS HAPPENS ALL THE TIME WHILE DRIVING IN TOWN, ON THE HIGHWAY, I’VE YET TO NOTICE ANY ISSUES.

FROM SLOW STARTS, THE TACHOMETER WILL FLUTTER AND THAT HESITATION IS TRANSMITTED THROUGH THE DRIVETRAIN TO THE WHEELS.

Your Lemon Law Legal Rights

Think you have a lemon? Sit back and let the experts work out your lemon case at no cost to you. The law makes Nissan pay legal fees. You may be able to get your lemon out of your life. Every year, auto manufacturers buy back, replace or pay cash settlements to thousands of ‘lemon’ owners like you.

Complaint Data

CategoryStructure:body
DateOct 26, 2022
StateNJ
Description
The contact owns a 2017 nissan armada. The contact stated the paint on the hood was deteriorating. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. A dealer was not contacted. The manufacturer had been informed of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 54,000.
CategoryAir Bags, Electrical System
DateOct 25, 2022
StateMD
Description
The airbag light on the dash started blinking in 12/2020 and was repaired under warranty in 1/2021. Was diagnosed as passenger curtain airbag. Airbag light started blinking again in april/may 2022. Diagnosed again as passenger curtain airbag. Repaired in august 2022, at a cost to me of 00+. Picked car up on september 3, 2022. Airbag light came back on on the 6th after my daughter exited the passenger seat. Dropped car off on the 7th and it has been at the dealership ever since. Now they want me to pay 00+ to have the wiring harness replaced. I have reported the issue to nissan and the dealership has been working with nissan. I have already paid to have this safety issue repaired. So far nissan or the dealership has not agreed to pay. This is a safety issue. This is not a luxury item or an add on. I don't feel safe having a passenger in the front seat. This is a known issue with this model. Even the dealer agreed. Nissan does not know how to fix it. They keep doing high cost repairs at a cost to the consumer which is not right.
CategoryElectrical System
DateSep 18, 2022
StateLA
Description
It's my starter switch I had to have it replace twice once last year and the year before and this morning I hit into my truck which is z9-18-22 to go to work and everything came on but the switch didn't so I couldn't start it and for everything else to come on it's not my battery so on monday I am taking it back to the nissan place to get it replace again this will be the third time for the same thing the engine switch to start the truck so this will be the third time it's once a year around the same time for the same thing but yet you guys says it's no recall on it have to be something causing it and each time it's costing me 600. 00 each . Who have that money to keep on replacing the same thing so it have to be some kind of fault with the switch .
CategoryElectrical System
DateApr 20, 2022
StateIL
Description
The vehicle's brake light switch has failed and been replaced twice. When this happens: 1. The rear brake lights do not illuminate when the brake pedal is pressed (which poses a serious safety hazard when driving) 2. If the vehicle is off, the vehicle will not start, given it requires the brake pedal to be pressed and used this switch as the means to confirm that. This is also dangerous because it's left me stranded in dangerously cold weather. Nissan is already aware this is a pervasive problem on 2017-2021 armadas, as the switches are prone to failure. They even issued a tsb notifying dealers of the problem and instructing them to cover replacements for vehicles still within the bumper-to-bumper warranty, using a new “updated” part number, but one just as prone to failures. After doing some digging and speaking with other 2017-2021 armada owners, I've discovered some have already had to have the switch replaced as often as every 3-6 months - with each occurrence leaving owners stranded and/or without functioning brake lights.
CategoryAir Bags
DateApr 09, 2022
StateOR
Description
Airbag failure to deploy
CategoryEngine, Power Train
DateApr 06, 2022
StateMN
Description
The engine is failing on many nissan vehicles with the nissan vk56vd (gasoline v8) engine. Cylinder 7 on the engine has significant scouring, and there is a nissan technical service bulletin (ntb19-057a) indicating this problem is widespread among 2017-2019 nissan armada, nv, titan, and titan xd models. This is a major safety concern. When there is a problem with the engine, the vehicle may stall, lose power, or even catch fire. If a driver loses the power from the engine while driving, or is unable to accelerate as expected, the vehicle could be at risk of getting hit, seriously injuring the occupants of all vehicles involved. The problem has been diagnosed, reproduced, and confirmed by kline nissan in maplewood, mn. The vehicle was inspected by kline nissan. Diagnosis details attached, along with borescope photo showing significant scouring in cylinder 7. Repair action is a new engine short block. My vehicle was outside the 60000 mile powertrain warranty window at the time of inspection. My service advisor at kline nissan contacted nissan consumer affairs to submit a factory goodwill case, but was informed by nissan consumer affairs that they would not be assisting in the replacement of their defective engine. The concern I share with nhtsa is the cost I was quoted to repair this problem is 03. 70. This problem is so widespread, among 3 years of nissan's vehicles, I expect very few vehicle owners outside of the warranty window will be investing this level of repair in their vehicle. As a result, many of these engines to fail on the road, putting the public highways and roads at major safety risk. There are no warning lamps or messages for this problem, simply a tick noise that gets louder over time as the cylinder continues to get scoured, worn and damaged. This will eventually lead to damage significant enough to unpredictably blow the engine while driving which would be a major safety concern putting the vehicle occupants and others on the road at risk.
CategoryBack Over Prevention, Service Brakes
DateMar 25, 2022
StateTX
Description
The contact owns a 2017 nissan armada. The contact stated while driving approximately 25 mph, the stop lamp switch warning light illuminated on the instrument panel. The contact stated that the switch was related to back over prevention feature. The vehicle was taken the local dealer and was diagnosed and repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 44,000.
CategoryElectrical System:ignition
DateMar 07, 2022
StateCA
Description
The contact owns a 2017 nissan armada. The contact stated that the vehicle recognized the fob key; however, the vehicle would not start. The contact's husband replaced the battery, starter, gasket, and manifold; however, the failure recurred. The dealer was made aware of the failure but informed the contact that there was no recall associated with the vin. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired by the dealer. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 75,000.
CategoryAir Bags
DateJan 13, 2022
StateLA
Description
My husband and I were in 2 front end collisions in my 2017 nissan armada and were going at least 50+ mph when someone pulled out in front of us and we t-boned a full size pick up truck. The airbags failed to deploy both times which is extremely alarming to me. We both made it out okay but have severe back and leg pain and constant headaches. We were lucky. It could have been much worse but if airbags would have deployed, it wouldn't have been so bad. This needs to be addressed asap.
CategoryPower Train:automatic Transmission:internal:shaft:input
DateDec 27, 2021
StateLA
Description
The contact owns a 2017 nissan armada. The contact stated that while driving 30-40 mph, she noticed increased friction on the tires, and they were not rotating properly. There were no warning lights illuminated. The contact veered to the side of the road, turned off the vehicle, and restarted it. The contact was able to continue to drive the vehicle with no issues; however, the failure reoccurred. The contact stated that she noticed that the rear tires were significantly close to the top of the wheel well. The vehicle was taken to the dealer but was not diagnosed. The contact stated that the failure had been reoccurring while driving. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 79,000.
CategoryElectrical System
DateDec 11, 2021
StateLA
Description
Instrument cluster lights are going out. This makes it difficult to see the odometer to accurately know speed.
CategoryAir Bags
DateSep 01, 2021
StateOH
Description
My wife was forced off the highway after dropping our 5 children at camp. She was forced off the highway and she hit a large tree at 50+mph. She did have her seatbelt on, but all of her airbags failed to deploy. She has suffered multiple injuries to include whiplash, strained muscles, neurological compromised with burning, tingling into her upper extremities, headaches, and multiple other injuries. The vehicle was inspected and declared a total loss by usaa our insurance provider. The vehicle has also been inspected by nissan motor corporation on 8/25/21. We have not received any feedback or report regarding their inspection to date. This vehicle was purchased new by us in 09/17, it has been serviced by our dealership since it was purchased, it did not have any warning lights or other symptoms of maintenance problems or failures prior to the accident. We have all the service records to attest to the maintenance status of the vehicle.
CategoryBack Over Prevention: Warnings, Back Over Prevention: Warnings, Electrical System, Electrical System, Engine, Service Brakes
DateAug 16, 2021
StateGA
Description
Bci malfunction. The car will not start, reverse, drive, brakes randomly, etc.
CategoryEngine, Fuel/propulsion System, Service Brakes
DateJun 30, 2021
StateVA
Description
My car won't crank or if it does it takes several attempts. I was told it was the brake light switch. I will be taking it back to the dealer asap.
CategoryAir Bags, Unknown Or Other
DateApr 05, 2021
StateVA
Description
I purchased my 2017 armada in may of 2000 and my airbag light has been blinking off and on. I took it to a nissan dealership and they told me that it could be my cabin airbag or my side panel. They said they checked my modular under seat panel and they said it wasn't any wires loose but what ever they did it stopped my air bag light for blinking but they said it will come back on and it did. Now it's time for my car to get inspected this month . What can I do
CategoryPower Train
DateMar 29, 2021
StateTX
Description
The vehicle abruptly lost reverse gear while driving on a public roadway. After approximately 3 hours of continuous highway driving, the vehicle was brought to a stop, placed into reverse, accelerated in reverse for approximately 100', and shifted back to drive. After subsequently coming to a stop, operator attempted to put the vehicle in reverse again but vehicle failed to engage the reverse gear. In fact the vehicle was essentially in neutral despite the gear shifter indicating 'r' gear. Again, the gear shifter would readily shift to 'r' but in fact no gear was apparently engaged as the vehicle would roll downhill as if it were in nuetral. Vehicle failed to proceed in reverse despite opening the throttle (I. E. 'giving it gas'). As far as we could tell the vehicle was able to shift to park and drive. The vehicle was able to proceed in drive. No excessive noises or vibrations were experienced throughout the duration of this incident. Owner called local nissan dealership to report the trouble and later delivered vehicle to dealership. Dealership advised that it had contacted nissan engineering hotline for direction how to proceed. Dealership stated nissan engineering hotline advised replacement of transmission. Nissan consumer affairs refused to provide any assistance or consideration to customer except to rely upon extended warranty purchased by customer at original sales transaction. Dealership stated all labor and material were covered by warranty. This 4 year old nissan suv has only 1 original owner, has kept up with all scheduled maintenance performed by nissan dealership, and has operated for fewer than 10,000 miles per year. Approximate mileage at incident is 38,200 miles. According to the dealership the make and model of the replacement transmission is jatco corp. Re7r01b x100a.
CategoryPower Train, Engine, Power Train
DateMar 25, 2021
StateCA
Description
The transmission is shifting incorrectly at low rpms. I can clearly see the rpm fluctuating especially going uphill. This happens 30-50 mph. Lack of power/acceleration. Feels like transmission is shifting in lower gears too sooner and and won't accelerate until driver pushes significantly. This is very dangerous especially making turns at stop lights.
CategoryElectrical System
DateFeb 10, 2021
StateTX
Description
The instrument panel lighting goes out within 3 years. There are many complaints online regarding the panel light failure of the led lights. This makes parts of the panel dark an unreadable at night.
CategoryElectrical System
DateJan 28, 2021
StateTN
Description
I saw the recall on the pathfinders today and I have a similar issue with my 2017 armada. Something keeps causing my battery to drain. I have taken the vehicle to shop to be inspected, the battery is okay, the alternator okay, and the starter okay. I cut every feature off in my car but something is electrically draining the battery. I replaced the bcm not too long ago bc it kept failing. Have you guys had any reports of this happening with other people? I have seen several youtube people experiencing same issues and I have read articles as well. Something internally is pulling amps when it shouldn't be. There have also been suspension issues. Can you guys please tell me what the issue may be? This happened where it wouldn't crank a few times prior to this day then I would get it to crank.. Now it is almost everytime having to jump it.
CategoryElectrical System, Service Brakes
DateOct 19, 2020
StatePA
Description
Tl* the contact owns a 2017 nissan armada. The contact stated while driving at 25 mph, the vehicle stalled as the abs warning light illuminated. The contact veered to the shoulder of the roadway, turned the vehicle off and waited for approximately 45 minutes and the vehicle resumed normal operation. The vehicle was taken to cochran nissan monroeville (3355 william penn hwy, pittsburgh, pa 15235) where it was diagnosed however, the contact was unaware of the failure. The technician stated that the failure was an electrical issue with the abs. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 46,000.
CategoryElectrical System, Electronic Stability Control, Engine
DateSep 04, 2020
StateNC
Description
Went to start my vehicle and everything but the engine would start. Tried for several minutes, locked, unlocked car then left it alone for 5 minutes and it finally started. Then, less than a week later, while I was driving, the bci malfunction warning and a bunch of other lights came on and car slowed down significantly. Had to pull over, look up this warning and follow directions others who had this same issue did. I turned vehicle off, waited a minut and turned it back on. Warning cleares. The next morning my car wouldn't start. Had to swap cars with husband so I could get to work. This morning I tried to start it again and it wouldn't start. I've now been waiting 3 hrs for a tow truck to get vehicle. Vehicle has less than 40k miles and is a 2017 model.
CategoryElectrical System
DateAug 21, 2020
StateOH
Description
The bci malfunction keeps coming up while I'm driving. When I contact the dealer I'm told that I cannot get anything done unless the alert is on when they look at my vehicle. The car will also become difficult to start. The bci malfunction comes up while I am driving the vehicle randomly.
CategoryEngine, Service Brakes
DateJul 20, 2020
StateMD
Description
Vehicle intermittently displays a bli malfunction and decelerates the vehicle while driving highway speeds. It occasionally does it while idling and will not allow the car to be put in gear. When it happens at start up, it will not allow the vehicle to start and only activates the accessories. The incidents began happening at around 55,000 miles and has been continuous and increasing in frequency since 6/20/20
CategoryElectronic Stability Control, Power Train, Unknown Or Other
DateJul 16, 2020
StateCA
Description
While driving at rate of 45 miles per hour in the city of oxnard, ca in my 2017 nissan armada sl, the car started to immediately slow down to a speed of 5 miles per hour, which almost caused an accident. The antiskid and 4x4 lights and check engine light came on, but the car could not accelerate. I had to pull over to allow traffic to continue. After waiting for several minutes with the car off I restarted the car and then drove as normal. I took the vehicle to get looked at, but the technician couldn't determine the cause using diagnostic equipment. The car continues to drive normal, but then stalls and the same issue arises.
CategoryAir Bags
DateJun 30, 2020
StateNV
Description
Flashing airbag warning light. Car has never been in an accident. Obd code indicated error in side curtain airbag. Dealer replace side curtain airbag. Flashing airbag warning light returned. Obd code indicated same error as before for side curtain airbag. Light occurred during normal driving. Car has low mileage, approximately 17000 miles. Dealer can't determine cause of light or how to correct it.
CategoryPower Train
DateDec 05, 2019
StateCA
Description
The transmission on my 2017 armada seems to shift improperly and even seems to shift prematurely causing a stall or loss of power to the vehicle. I've notice this as I'm starting to accelerate from a stopped position and it appears to happen sometime between shifting from 2nd to 3rd gear. This happens all the time while driving in town, on the highway, I've yet to notice any issues. I purchased this vehicle used from buick/gmc in gilroy, ca. August of 2019. I failed to notice this issue when I test drove the vehicle.
CategoryElectrical System, Seats
DateNov 14, 2019
StateGA
Description
I drive a 2017 nissan armada that caught fire!!! We purchased this vehicle march of this year. My heated seat malfunctioned and caught my pants and my seat on fire while I was driving with two-2- small children!!! Tuesday morning november 12th, 2019 I was driving my 7 year old to school with my 3 year old with us when I started to feel a pain in my left leg. I lifted my leg which then I saw smoke and could smell something was burning. All this happened while I was driving with 2 small children strapped into their carseats. When I noticed the hole and black marks in my sweatpants and a hole in my driver seat I immediately turned off the heated seat button. We could of wrecked into another vehicle that most likely would of had another kid in the car. Not only was my children's lives and my life at risk but all those people's lives around me taking their kids to school, too. It was one of the most scariest days of my life. I am terrified to drive this vehicle now. We could had died!!! I bought this vehicle because I wanted heated seats, now I will never use heated seats again. I am truly traumatized from this experience. My experience with nissan corporation has not made the situation better but worse. See also odi 11280207. *dsy *dt*dt*jb
CategorySeats:front Assembly:seat Heater/cooler
DateNov 14, 2019
StateGA
Description
Tl* the contact owns a 2017 nissan armada. When the contact activated the driver's seat heater, the seat began smoking. The contact stated that her left pants leg sustained a hole in it from the heater. There was also a bruise on her left leg that did not require medical attention. The vehicle was taken to sutherlin nissan mall of georgia (3520 ga-20, buford, ga 30519, (678) 714-1885) where the contact was informed that it was not a manufacturer defect and the contact caused the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 39,200. See also odi 11280222. *dsy *dt*dt *tr *dt*jb *as
CategoryService Brakes
DateOct 19, 2019
StateTN
Description
Braking system seems to go in/out intermittently while driving or when stopped. You can begin rolling even when the brakes are applied while stopped. It also will not allow you to start the vehicle unless you stomp on the break pedal. And in a few situations it has not allowed me to take the vehicle out of park unless stopping on the brake pedal if the car is running my mechanic and various website blog report and determine this might be a booster sensor issue which is not being issued for recall
CategoryElectrical System
DateOct 02, 2019
StateTX
Description
Vehicle will not start properly. The plugs under the brake pad are faulty.
CategoryElectrical System, Engine
DateSep 11, 2019
StateTN
Description
Car gave a bci malfunction warning on dash. When I turned the car off and went to restart it would not restart. This used to happen once every couple of weeks. It is now happened more than 10 times in the last two days. Sometimes the car will start other times I have to try 15 times or more before it starts.
CategoryService Brakes, Unknown Or Other
DateAug 02, 2019
StateTN
Description
Bought this used on june 25,2019 with approximately 46860 miles on it from wolfchase chysler in bartlett,tn. I am in the medical field and today (8/2/18) was trying to leave work today and my car would not crank. In the process, I noticed that the brake wouldn't catch and when I finally was able to crank it, the shifter wouldn't go out of park. It was stuck. This happened 2 more times before driving down the road on a trip and this warning light bci malfunction as we are driving down the road. My brakes became really touchy and I had to pull off the road to keep from having an accident. Then, I had to cut it off and keep trying to get it going bc I couldn't get the malfunction to go away or even come on to put it back in gear. This is a huge safety hazard and traveling with two children could have been extremely hazardous today. I am requesting nissan and the dealership take responsibility for this problem after paying a huge price for a premium vehicle... The last thing I need to do is be broke down on the side of the road
CategoryElectrical System, Power Train, Service Brakes
DateJul 08, 2019
StatePA
Description
Brake pedal switch failure for second time on a 2017 nissan armada. Because nissan repaired this a year ago (mind you when my vehicle was only a year old and had to be towed from toledo) they will not cover the repair again because they have stated that it outside of the 12,000 miles, one year warranty on the part. Nissan has an issue with this switch assembly. The service technician noted that there were two other armadas in for the same repair that week. This is not only a reputational issue but a safety issue. One of the main concerns with the switch is that it is not recognizing when you apply your foot to the brake!
CategoryService Brakes
DateJun 13, 2019
StateFL
Description
Below is a copy of the email I sent to nissan corp. They documented my complaint and close the file. My proof of ownership is attached. Reed nissan is replacing part #25320-ax10a, brake switch on my 2017 nissan armada. Vin # ....... The parts and labor equal, 0. 27. The price is not my issue, let's be clear. I am concerned about my safety. This morning my vehicles transmission started to slip, followed by the inability to stop!!! I almost rear ended another vehicle. The vehicle started to smoke. I was luckily able to get out of the road with little to no brake left to stop my vehicle. This is dangerous. Someone is going to die if this part is not recalled and corrected. I had just dropped my 8 month old and 2 year old off to daycare!!! I was told by riley they have replaced this part on multiple armada's and nissan has failed to recall this part.
CategoryEngine, Power Train
DateMay 24, 2019
StateLA
Description
From slow starts, the tachometer will flutter and that hesitation is transmitted through the drivetrain to the wheels.
CategoryElectrical System
DateMar 23, 2019
StateCA
Description
Very often doesn't start and isn't battery problems or anything else everything else works perfect but just the start doesn't go on
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateSep 07, 2018
StateTX
Description
Vehicle keeps dying saying no key found, it has already been to service and battery replaced in the key, it's a brand new battery
CategoryEngine, Suspension, Vehicle Speed Control
DateAug 13, 2018
StateIL
Description
Tl* the contact owns a 2017 nissan armada. While driving 5 mph, a rambling noise was present at the rear of the vehicle. Also, all the warning indicators illuminated before the vehicle decelerated. The vehicle was taken to the local dealer (jp motors, inc., 3675 frontage rd, peru, il) where it was diagnosed that the throttle was faulty. The throttle was repaired, but the vehicle continued to experience the failure. The vehicle was towed back to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the air suspension was faulty. The vehicle was repaired, but the failure later recurred. The vehicle was taken back to the dealer, but the cause of the failures could not be determined. The manufacturer was notified of the failures. The vin was not available. The failure mileage was 19,000.
CategoryElectrical System, Power Train, Service Brakes
DateJun 06, 2018
StatePA
Description
2017 vehicle hesitated while leaving a drive through, would not shift from park. At next venue, the vehicle failed to start. Owner attempted to start vehicle with remote start. The engine turned on, however, upon entry when the owner pressed the start and placed foot on the brake, the vehicle shut off. The vehicle was then towed to the dealership where repairs were made to a stop sensor, however, the vehicle is still hesitating.
CategoryPower Train
DateMar 27, 2018
StateDE
Description
The new armada for 2017 has a cold weather problem in its transmission. The problem is it doesn't shift properly. My dealer says that's the way it supposed to work to warm the fluid. But in the 40 years that I have been driving cold weather has never been a problem for transmissions. It stays in 2nd and 3rd gears way to long . Anyway that's my problem and there should be a solution, maybe a different transmission fluid or a different code to shift more quickly. An updates needed. This happens everytime you start from a stop until the car warms, about 20 minutes of driving. Nissan mileage could go up an additional 2 miles per gallon more if it didn't have such high revs during this warm up period.
CategoryPower Train
DateNov 27, 2017
StateNY
Description
While driving, the transmission hunts and shifts very early, crippling acceleration. At normal highway speeds, significant depression of the accelerator is required to effect a downshift. This presents a safety hazard when acceleration is required for maneuvering. When the vehicle does shift into the next gear, significant oscillations occur until the transmission settles on a point. Also, at highway speed, the engine rpm continuously 'flutters' under constant accelerator position and no change in engine load (flat straight road). I have also noticed that when I slightly depress the acccelerator to maintain speed, the transmission responds by further reducing engine rpm again hampering acceleration (exactly opposite of any other automatic vehicle I have driven). This transmission operates as if it has air in the hydraulics. I have had the latest tsb installed for the ecm and tcm (revision e). Nissan does not appear to be capable of fixing this safety issue.
CategoryElectrical System
DateNov 14, 2017
StateIN
Description
Bought nissan armada about 7 weeks ago. Went on a 3. 5 hour trip twice. While using the navigation system the navigation system went blank, flicker. Called and took it back to dealer. Texted the service advisor pictures and videos of this happening. The dealer had my vehicle for about a week and could not replicate the problem. They drove my vehicle a few hundred miles and still couldn't get it to replicate. The dealer decided to order a new radio. I droped my vehicle off last night and said the part would be in sometime today 11/14/2017. Received a call from the dealership and service advisor said the part was on back order and they didn't know when the part would be in. Could be upto 6 months.
CategoryPower Train
DateOct 05, 2017
StateNY
Description
The transmission does not seem to shift in a normal manner it does not shift up when starting from a stopped position and seems to downshift un-necessarily. You can hear the engine working harder than it should since it's in a lower gear than it should be, and you can see it in the tachometer because it's running at a much higher rate. On one occasion I noticed the tachometer fluttering for 10-15 seconds while driving at a steady speed. All of the occurrences were on city streets. The problem does not happen all of the time as it could be a few days in between occurrences. I have been to the dealer twice already. They did notice the problem and updated the software, but the problem still exists. They claim they do not have a fix!
CategoryVehicle Speed Control
DateSep 21, 2017
StateMD
Description
There is an indicator light for the on/off of cruise control but nothing that indicates the cruise control is set. Very dangerous.
CategorySteering
DateAug 01, 2017
StateIN
Description
While in motion on a state highway and turning right onto another road the steering wheel stuck and I to brake hard to avoid hitting another car. I was able to pull very hard on the wheel to straighten the wheels out and park the car and get a tow truck.
CategoryExterior Lighting:headlights
DateJul 14, 2017
StatePA
Description
Tl* the contact owns a 2017 nissan armada. The contact stated that the beam from the headlamp was not adequate, while driving at night. The vehicle was taken to blaise alexander nissan located at: 10 alexander drive, muncy, pa 17756, tel: 877-255-4216, to be diagnosed. The contact was informed that the vehicle performed as intended. Additionally the contact was informed that the vehicle met federal safety standards. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was contacted and again the contact was informed that the vehicle met all the safety standards and there would be no assistance in repairing the vehicle. The approximate failure mileage was 5.
CategoryPower Train
DateJun 19, 2017
StateAR
Description
Sometimes when pressing the accelerator, the vehicle will act like it is trying to choke out and will shudder and/or hesitate. This can occur when trying to climb an incline or when merging into traffic from a slowed down or stopped standing. This can be seen in a shudder in the tachometer needle and feels terrible. There is great concern on my part that it will happen to do this at a moment that my children are with me and will cause me to be hit by another vehicle. The occurrence is unpredictable but is incredibly noticeable. I have been told by the dealership many times that this is normal and that no one else has reported a problem. I cannot imagine that anyone would buy this vehicle given how easily the problem is noticed. It is unnerving.
CategoryPower Train
DateJan 06, 2017
StateMI
Description
From slow starts, the tachometer will flutter and that hesitation is transmitted through the drivetrain to the wheels. This hesitation has been seen around all shift points and has been confirmed by service technicians. Nissan does not have a fixed at this time. The condition represents a hazard on icy roads' it caused me to leave a lane due to slip. A video of the tachometer is available on request.

Who are we? We are Lemberg Law, a Consumer Law Firm

Lemberg Law is a consumer law firm helping victims of bad manufacturing and run-arounds from auto companies. We are ranked A+ by the BBB. Call our Helpline today!  There is no charge unless we win.

Share your story

Does this ring a bell? Have you had a bad experience too? Sound off and share your experience with other visitors in the comment box below.

Brian Jones

About the Author:

Brian Jones spent more than 20 years working as an ASE Certified Master Tech and Parts Specialist at multiple dealerships. Brian has become an authority in the industry, traveling across the country to consult for car dealerships and contributing his expertise as a writer for several major automotive publications. In his spare time, Brian enjoys working on pickup trucks, muscle cars, Jeeps and anything related to motorsports.

See more posts from Brian Jones
2 COMMENTS
  • Gregg

    Yes we have a 2017 Nissan armada and the transmission has been acting up since we brought it Dec 2018 sent it back and forth with central Nissan to no avail also when trying to start the vehicle it start puttering like its out of gas and all the light on the dash board comes on and Nissan or central Nissan can fix the issues.

  • Michelle

    The transmission on my 2017 Nissan Armada is going out. With me still paying on this vehicle and it only have 162,000 miles. I have never seen such. There needs to be a recall if more people are having these issues.

Leave a Reply or Comment

Write a comment below to share online. Or, instead you can to our legal team.

Please select your star rating.

Briefly describe your experience Briefly describe your experience

What’s your name? What’s your name?

What’s your phone number? Please enter a valid phone number

Want to know if you could sue? Get a free legal evaluation Lemberg Law?

Get Your No-Obligation
Case Evaluation

Send a secure message to our legal team.

What’s your name? What’s your name?
What’s your email address? What’s your email address?
What’s your phone number? What’s your phone number?
Briefly describe the problem Briefly describe the problem
Confidentiality Guarantee: We keep your information completely confidential and will not send you spam or sell your information.