2017 Hyundai Elantra Problems and Top Complaints – Is Your Car A Lemon?

Brakes, engine and transmission issues among the top complaints received by the NHTSA from vehicle owners

Either Hyundai doesn’t know how to make cars anymore – or it never did. Year after year, the Korean automaker continues to pump out vehicles with similar design flaws. An example is the 2017 Hyundai Elantra, a car the seems to suffer from problems supposedly addressed generations ago. The sedan’s main trouble areas, According to the National Traffic Highway Safety Administration (NHTSA) website, are the engine/powertrain, brakes and airbag.

Click on other model year to view more problems: 2018    2019    2020   2021   2022

Don’t be stuck with a lemon. You have legal rights to cash, return or buyback.

The law makes Hyundai pay legal fees.

We've fixed thousands of lemon problems. Message or call 877-795-3666 today.

Problems with the Engine/Powertrain

Hyundai should have learned its lesson; the company already recalled over 1.2 million 2011- 2014 model cars for engine problems. But the issues of hesitation, stalling and catastrophic engine failure don’t seem to have been fixed – just ask owners of the 2017 Hyundai Elantra.

On the NHTSA website, one consumer states, “The car was driving down a city street when the engine ceased while driving in front of a highway off-ramp. The car would not restart and was towed to Hyundai where they installed a new engine, claiming an oil bearing failed.”

The owner accounts sound all too familiar. Previously, on its 2011-2014 model cars, Hyundai found the root cause to be metal debris inside the engine. Fragments left over from the manufacturing process plug internal lubrication holes. When this happens, the connecting rod bearings are starved of oil and fail. Chunks of bearing material then contaminate the oiling system, causing complete engine failure

Also, the NHTSA is investigating engine fires on older Hyundai vehicles. The agency believes recalls may not have been issued soon enough on the 2011-2014 models, allowing some of the cars to go up in flames.

So far, Hyundai has not made public any recalls or campaigns to address engine failures on the 2017 Elantra. There aren’t any open NHTSA investigations, either.

Here are some actual complaints logged with the NHTSA about the 2017 Hyundai Elantra Engine and Transmission Problems:

TL* THE CONTACT OWNS A 2017 HYUNDAI ELANTRA. WHILE DRIVING VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE VEHICLE HESITATED WHILE MAKING LEFT OR RIGHT TURNS. THE VEHICLE ALSO HESITATED WHILE THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL WAS BEING DEPRESSED UPHILL. THERE WERE NO WARNING INDICATORS ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE, BUT DID NOT OFFER ASSISTANCE. THE CONTACT MENTIONED THAT THE ISSUE HAD BEEN PRESENT EVER SINCE THE VEHICLE WAS PURCHASED ON MAY 11, 2017. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 260.

WHEN SHIFTING FROM REVERSE TO DRIVE ON AN INCLINE USUALLY SENDS ME HEADING BACK IN REVERSE AGAIN UNTIL I APPLY THE BRAKE PEDAL HARD FOR A FEW SECONDS. THIS HAPPENED TO ME A LOT IN MY DRIVEWAY AND MOST RECENTLY ON A STEEP MOUNTAIN, WHICH WAS REALLY SCARY. THE VEHICLE STARTS FROM STATIONARY MOTION TO REVERSE, THEN STOP, SHIFT INTO DRIVE AND IT ROLLS BACK IN REVERSE AGAIN. ALMOST LIKE A MANUAL TRANSMISSION DOES. PLEASE INVESTIGATE.

MY CAR WILL NOT START SOMETIMES, AND THE KEYS WON’T HANDLE THE SIGNALS TO THE CAR. IF I WERE TO WANT TO TURN IT ON IT WON’T, WHEN THIS SITUATION HAPPENS. ALSO, THIS HAS HAPPENED TWICE. I PARK MY CAR, AND IT WON’T TURN ON, NOT EVEN THE DASHBOARD LIGHTS. THE ENGINE LIGHT DOES NOT COME ON SO I THE DEALERSHIP CAN’T SCAN IT SUPPOSEDLY. I AM WORRIED THIS WILL HAPPEN WHILE I AM DRIVING.

Problems with the Brakes

The ability to stop quickly is the most important aspect of any vehicle. Hyundai overlooked this seemingly obvious requirement when building the 2017 Elantra: a car with the braking performance of the Flintstone-mobile.

Many owners complain the Elantra is difficult – if not impossible – to stop in emergencies.

On the NHTSA website, one such case reads, “The contact owns a 2017 Hyundai Elantra. While driving 45 mph, the preceding vehicle abruptly stopped. The contact depressed the brake pedal, but the vehicle failed to immediately stop.”

Another says, “The contact owns a 2017 Hyundai Elantra. While driving highway speeds, the contact depressed the brake pedal, but the brakes failed to respond. As a result, the vehicle was involved in a front-end collision.”

Hyundai believes the brake booster – a component that provides “braking assist” – is responsible for the concern. When the booster fails, the driver must rely on leg power alone to stop the vehicle. There is no power assistance. As a result, the brake pedal typically feels harder than normal and the car’s stopping distance increases.

On the 2017 Elantra, the diaphragm in the brake booster may unseat, causing an internal failure. A recall (17V0630000) has been issued to address the concern. On applicable vehicles, Hyundai will replace the booster free of charge.

Here are some actual complaints logged with the NHTSA about the 2017 Hyundai Elantra Brake Problems:

TL* THE CONTACT OWNS A 2017 HYUNDAI ELANTRA. WHILE DRIVING HIGHWAY SPEEDS, THE CONTACT DEPRESSED THE BRAKE PEDAL, BUT THE BRAKES FAILED TO RESPOND. AS A RESULT, THE VEHICLE WAS INVOLVED IN A FRONT END COLLISION. THE FAILURE OCCURRED WITHOUT WARNING. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE DEALER AND MANUFACTURER WERE NOT CONTACTED. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE BODY SHOP; HOWEVER, A DETERMINATION HAD NOT BEEN MADE REGARDING IF THE VEHICLE WAS STILL OPERABLE. THERE WAS ALSO A PREVIOUS BRAKE FAILURE THAT RESULTED IN A CRASH. THERE WAS ONE INJURY, BUT MEDICAL ATTENTION WAS NOT REQUIRED. THE CONTACT SUFFERED MODERATE ABRASIONS. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS NOT PROVIDED.

THE VEHICLE HAS APPROXIMATELY 5,500 MILES ON IT AND IT WAS BEING DRIVEN 10-15 MILES AN HOUR ON A CITY STREET. WHEN TRYING TO COME TO A STOP THE BRAKE PEDAL WENT TO THE FLOOR AND WOULD NOT STOP THE VEHICLE. IT HIT ANOTHER VEHICLE AND AFTER PUMPING THE BRAKE PEDAL THE BRAKES RETURNED TO NORMAL. THERE IS A CURRENT RECALL ON THIS MODEL AND YEAR TO REPLACE THE BRAKE BOOSTER BUT IT DOESN’T CURRENTLY INCLUDE THIS VEHICLE’S MANUFACTURED DATE. IT’S HYUNDAI RECALL NUMBER 157 AND NHSTA SAFETY CAMPAIGN #17V063000

WAS DRIVING ON THE HIGHWAY AT SPEEDS OF AROUND 25-30 MPH…CAR IN FRONT OF ME SLOWED DOWN SO I ATTEMPTED TO SLOW DOWN. I PRESSED ON BRAKE PEDAL BUT CAR DID NOT STOP. IF FELT LIKE IT STARTED TO START THEN SLIPPED AND GAINED SPEED RESULTING IN A FRONT END CRASH. THIS MODEL HAS A RECALL BUT WHEN I PUT IN MY VIN IT SAYS NOT AFFECTED BYTHE RECALL ON THESE BRAKES BUT I’M SEEING SIMILAR COMPLAINTS

Problems with the Airbags

The 2017 Hyundai Elantra has airbag issues in addition to sketchy brakes. Together, these two problems are a dangerous combination.

Many loyal Elantra drivers claim the airbags fail to deploy in a crash. On the NHTSA website, one such individual writes, “My son was in an accident this past Tuesday where he rear-ended another vehicle. The airbag light came on but the airbag never deployed.”

Another complaint reads, “Driving around 35 miles an hour and come to a small curve turned the wheel a little but the car went straight and hit a guardrail. Hit passenger side front of car and driver airbag came out but did not blow all the way up and had a hole in it.”

Hyundai has stepped up to the plate: two recalls (16V956000 and 16V232000) have been issued.

In the first correspondence, the automaker states, “The end seal for the driver’s frontal airbag inflator may not have been properly installed, possibly resulting in reduced inflation of the frontal airbag in the event of a crash.

Hyundai, in the second recall, says, “The driver’s frontal airbag may be missing a chemical enhancer required for the second stage airbag deployment, resulting in the second stage not deploying in certain crashes. The primary stage will deploy as intended.

In both scenarios the dealer will replace the airbag module free of charge.

Here are some actual complaints logged with the NHTSA about the 2017 Hyundai Elantra Airbag Problems – Takata Recall:

I WAS DRIVING AND WAS T-BONED ON THE DRIVER’S SIDE. THE DRIVER’S SIDE CURTAIN AIRBAG DEPLOYED LATE, HITTING ME IN THE HEAD AND TRAPPING ME AGAINST THE WINDOW. I HAVE A RESULTANT SHOULDER INJURY THAT MAY NOT HAVE HAPPENED WITH APPROPRIATE DEPLOYMENT.

DRIVING AROUND 35 MILES AN HOUR AND COME TO A SMALL CURVE TURNED THE WHEEL LITTLE BIT BUT CAR WENT STRAIGHT AND GUARD RAIL HIT PASSAGER SIDE FRONT OF CAR AND DRIVER AIRBAG CAME OUT BUT DIDN’T BLOW ALL THE WAY UP AND HAD A HOLE IN IT WITH STITCHING AROUND IT SO DRIVER AIRBAG IS NO COUNT JUST FALLS IN YOUR LAP AND ELECTRIC STEERING IS UNPREDICTABLE

ENGINE SHUT OFF WITHOUT WARNING WHILE DRIVING ON INTERSTATE HIGHWAY. RECEIVED MESSAGES SERVICE TRANSMISSION AND SERVICE ENGINE. COASTED TO STOP ON SHOULDER OF ROAD. CAR WOULD NOT RESTART FOR ABOUT 10 MINUTES. CHECKED CODES AFTERWARDS; SHOWS P0339 CRANKSHAFT POSITION SENSOR A CIRCUIT INTERMITTENT AND P0335 CRANKSHAFT POSITION SENSOR A CIRCUIT. THIS PRESENTS A SERIOUS SAFETY ISSUE WHEN CAR ENGINE STOPS WITHOUT WARNING.

Your Lemon Law Legal Rights

Think you have a lemon? Sit back and let the experts work aid your lemon at no cost to you. The law makes Hyundai pay legal fees. You may be able to get your lemon out of your life. Every year, auto manufacturers buy back, replace or pay cash settlements to thousands of ‘lemon’ owners like you.

Who are we? We are Lemberg Law, a Consumer Law Firm

Lemberg Law is a consumer law firm helping victims of bad manufacturing and run-arounds from auto companies. We are ranked A+ by the BBB. Call our Helpline today!  There is no charge unless we win.


Share your story

Does this ring a bell? Have you had a bad experience too? Sound off and share your experience with other visitors in the comment box below.

Brian Jones

About the Author:

Brian Jones spent more than 20 years working as an ASE Certified Master Tech and Parts Specialist at multiple dealerships. Brian has become an authority in the industry, traveling across the country to consult for car dealerships and contributing his expertise as a writer for several major automotive publications. In his spare time, Brian enjoys working on pickup trucks, muscle cars, Jeeps and anything related to motorsports.

See more posts from Brian Jones
39 COMMENTS
  • Morgan H

    I also have a 2017 Hyundai Elantra that I just recently bought 5 months ago with 68000 miles and I kept up on my oil changes and maintenance of my car then my car reached 75000 miles and then my engine blows out on me. I have no warranty since I am the second owner. Now I’m in a situation where I either pay 4-5k for all the repairs or I go bankrupt trying to buy a new car making two car payments. I called Hyundai and I’ve called CarMax and of course all I get is the run around on this. They’re saying that not enough air is getting into my camshaft or that it could possibly be a oil pump failure and if it’s not either of those it’s the engine block and they will have to put a brand new engine in it. Not to mention my back left passenger door doesn’t open from the outside or inside

  • Spencer D

    I’m a owner of a 2017 Hyundai elantra sport nothing but issues with this car motor went at just over 100000kms now the transmission is gone at 120000kms just ridiculous and Hyundai does not care at all I’ve email and talked with Hyundai and they pretty much say you have to take where the sun don’t shin pure *** have emails to prove ,definitely won’t buy another Hyundai

  • Elaine T

    I’ve owned my 2017 Hyundai Elantra since January 2018. Everything was fine until last June 2021 when engine light came on and car sounded like it was puttering around at stop signs or signal light. Took it to Firestone where they replaced a cylinder but engine light came back on less than a week later. Took it back to Firestone but technician who diagnoses problems was not there. Had to wait until next day but then engine light disappeared. Technician said he couldn’t identify the problem without light on. Last Friday, April 8, while driving on the freeway my car started to do this weird thing which is hard to explain. I thought the transmission was about to die. I’ve experienced that on another car. Anyways, can anyone update what happened with their car. I’m planning to take my car to the dealership to find out what the problem is (I hope).

  • Karen J

    My 2017 Hyundai Elantra 2.0 engine went out. Hyundai wouldn’t keep enough amount of oil in it between changes. Was keeping well maintained. Bought it brand new off the lot with 9 miles on it and now my engine is seize from the oil debris of a rod bearing . They should have been recalled these cars. They really have mislead their customers to believe that these cars was great cars to purchase. The car was stalling as I was turning corners and it stop in the middle of traffic on the highway while I was driving it, I could have got hit. I really don’t understand how they figured this car is a great deal. I’m the first owner bought it with 9 miles and now I just made it a little over a 100,000 miles and engine gone, that’s a rip off

  • Guylaine P

    J ai un elantra 2017 qui s arrete complètement à bas débit quand je roule depuis un certains temps..
    Le concessionnaire m a changer une pièce (crank sensor )qui n à rien régler…
    Maintenant il veulent changer la pompe à l huile et letensionneur de timing chanceuse 2 cvvt…peux etre 2 autres cvvt après inspection..
    Donc un autre 1500$$$ et plus à venir!
    J ai remarqué que d autre modèle de voiture hyundai avec des problèmes comme la mienne et qu il y avais des rappels…mais pas pour l elantra 2017.
    Je crois que l elantra 2017 devrait faire partie de ces rappels..car les problème sont similaires.
    Merci

  • Sherry C

    My 2017 Elantra limited need a engine which was told by hyundai dealship. It will run and shut down when I come to a stop. I have a warranty, but since I cannot show proof of a oil change, which I had someone do the oil change for me. It will cost me over $8,000 to fix it. They did not take the time to see if can be fix, so I took it to different shop, they fix it.

  • Michael L

    Elantra 2017 had battery die right over 2 yrs old. Have had ignition coil issues since 33k. I’m having break lights go out constantly and a front turn signal go out. Now at 78 k my temp gauge is acting weird and have had a mystery coolant leak that the Dealer can’t find and don’t seem interested in.

  • Obea L

    Purchased my 2017 Hyundai Elantra it’s at about 95k miles first the engine skipped Timing now I need a completely new engine and Hyundai won’t help with getting a new one because I’m the second owner the shops telling me this is a $6000 job

  • Justin H

    I had left this as a complaint with NHTSA online

    The 2017 Hyundai Elantra value edition has issues when and after making left turns the vehicle stalls and loses power causing the cluster to light up. Which can be extremely dangerous when operating the vehicle. There is no check engine light or any indicator that turns on prior on the cluster before the vehicle stalls. The intermediate steering shaft is notorious for going bad and had to have it replaced.

  • Angela Y

    Bought a used 2017 hyundai elantra. The engine has ALWAYS made a weird tapping when it started and when it was cold it was worse but then would settle once engine warmed up. .I also had problems with battery. We replaced the battery a couple times in 18 months. Recently the car started to make a louder tapping upon starting and when accelerating. We changed All the fluids and put in a engine treatment and gas treatment to make sure everything was new and clean. Noise got better for maybe a day and then again started louder. On my way to work the car started knocking very loud. My engine light came on and the car lost power. I limped it off the interstate and had my husband come get me. The car literally sounded like it was going to blow up and would not go more than 20 miles an hour. Mileage just over 100k . I think it was a thrown rod . I can’t even believe it with a engine this new. Dealership will not fix and neither will hyundai add in the second owner. They said they didn’t know if a 2017 elentra recall. All I know is this is B S. I will not pay for an engine in a car im financing with such low miles. THIS SHOULD NOT HAVE HAPPENED!!! Now II’m out of a ride and will have a repo on my credit. Just stayed a be job and will probably lose that too for lack of transportation. This should be criminal…

  • Jamal W

    I have Hyundai Elantra 2017 SE 2.0
    Had the car since being of May of 2021 with 95000 ish miles and sometime late August engine went out oil was regular changed to specific spec. Shop discovered bottom end internal Rod knock.
    I’ve paid for a rental the last few weeks now and the warranty has expired from what I’ve been told the vehicle has 113711 miles. This is not okay a major mechanical issue like this at such mileage is not acceptable for reliable vehicle with normal wear and tear. I’m paying for vehicle I can’t drive? If it goes back I’m Stuck with negative Equity and bad credit even if I try to trade it in as well.
    How is this acceptable Hyundai?

  • Scott

    2017 hyundai elantra with 90k. Misfire codes constantly for cylinder 3 and 4. Taken to get fixed, first sparks plugs gap but stil misfire. Slow, shakes and lag in engine. Unknown reason for issue. Runs good for a week then craps out

  • CALLENA M

    MY CAR WILL NOT START SOMETIMES, AND THE KEYS WON’T HANDLE THE SIGNALS TO THE CAR. IF I WERE TO WANT TO TURN IT ON IT WON’T, WHEN THIS SITUATION HAPPENS. ALSO, THIS HAS HAPPENED TMULTIPLE TIMES. I PARK MY CAR, AND IT WON’T TURN ON, NOT EVEN THE DASHBOARD LIGHTS. THE ENGINE LIGHT DOES NOT COME ON SO THE DEALERSHIP CAN’T SCAN IT SUPPOSEDLY. I AM WORRIED THIS WILL HAPPEN WHILE I AM DRIVING.

  • Malissa

    I bought my 2017 Elantra in Nov 2019, in Dec 2019 ( 2 weeks after purchasing) my ignition coils needed to be replaced. 1,2,and 4 were replaced under warrranty, fast forward to this week and surprise coil 3 is reading misfire. Called the dealership, may be covered under my extended warranty. But it will cost $140 CND to hook up to diagnostic machine to see IF the replacement will be covered. But if it is I will receive my $140 back but it will cost me $100 deductible to get it fixed. The part for me to purchase is $75 CND, so where’s the deal here. And why wasnt ALL coils replaced at the same time.

  • Greg R

    Just read through most of the comments left here. Got to say I was surprised to hear so many bad things. Ok…with that said…I am now experiencing rough idling while sitting at the light. Thought it was bad gas…change over to premium…added a injection cleaner…nothing changed. Took it in to a local shop – diagnosed the error code as a miss fire on cylinder 2. Scheduled time at the dealership – car was there 2 days – they made some adjustments – no error code – got the vehicle back…two days later…the same idling and now the dummy light comes on. Made an appointment for 5/11 and asked for a rental car. More to come…but I am not real sure what to expect. The whole family has had Hyundais with various issues … I know as a fact that Hyundai is very serious about quality and very hard on their suppliers…so I am very disappointed to see what everyone is experiencing. More to come. Greg…. family owners of 6 Hyundais….2012 Elantra, 2006 Santa Fe, 2012 Sonata, 2016 Santa Fe, 2017 Elantra, 2021 Palisade

  • Kenneth A

    I HAVE A 2017 ELANTRA WITH 30000 MILES ON IT. I’M HEARING A TICKING SOUND COMING FROM THE ENGINE WHEN I START IT IN COLD WEATHER,IT SOUNDS LIKE THE ENGINE IS LOW ON OIL. AFTER THE ENGINE WARMS UP THE TICKING GOES AWAY. I’M TAKING THE CAR IN TO HAVE THE DEALERSHIP DIAGNOSE THE PROBLEM AND TO GET IT ON RECORD THAT THERES IS A PROBLEM WITH THIS CAR.

  • Margaret B

    My 2017 Hyundai Elantra has started dying at times when slow down to turn. The engine sounds so loud at times just like a plane trying to take off. The engine seems to be running faster than it should. I cannot get any help with this issue. It is my only vehicle and I have a 1 hour commute to work so it is worrisome to me. It looks like someone would help us.

  • Bonnie

    My 2017 Hyundai Elantra had catastrophic engine failure on dec. 27th. It took them 20 days to get the engine replacement approved through the warranty causing me to have to pay out of pocket for a rental and leaving me with no car for 4 days due to no rentals available. They are only willing to reimburse me $20. a day for the rental. They called saying engine replacement is approved but the car belts need replacement, hoses flushed, something about sensors and they strongly suggest i do this when they are putting in the new engine. That will cost me $650. I agreed. Today, day 30, they called to say they found other problems and some of it they were able to get covered under the warranty but I need an alternator costing $749. and that is not covered. I am beyond stressed! I spoke with Hyundai customer service and was talked down to, almost threatened if I did not just accept the $20. a day reimbursement on the rental then they would do nothing as this is a courtesy and they are not required to do anything. But I have yet to receive the email with the form to submit.

  • Timothy

    My 2017 Elantra (2.0) has a loud ticking/tapping sound when engine is cold. It is much quieter when warmed up. The dealership admits they hear the noise but says nothing can be done nor do they know what the sound is.

  • Justin H

    Issues with 2017 Hyundai Elantra Value Edition. Car burns through oil like no tomorrow. Horrible paint problems, brake boosters had a recall, my car now stalls when I stop and shakes the Dash cluster turns on and the traction light stays on. Warranty is overrated and the car is turning into a money pit headache.

  • Dre

    Hyundai dealer didn’t my oil change the didn’t put the cap on ran dry stalled out they took it back just filled up oil. Few months later I didn’t get an oil change went over by 1k engine stalled out and I need a replacement warranty covered it. But 1 year later I am having issues car wants to stall out but doesn’t. Will not accelerate when pushing down on gas shake very bad unsure what it is. I am tired of Hyundai Elantra 2017

  • Devarone A

    Hello I just recently purchased a 2017 Hyundai Elantra SE .I’ve literally only had the car for a month and it has given me so many problems. At first I thought it was me because I left the lights on which caused my battery to go dead. I brought it back to the dealer and he told me it was something completely different that was wrong with the car. It was a sensor missing and they had to replace it. Which I had to pay for but then when I got back that night my car died again. The dealer then proceeded to say that it was my battery after I asked him if it was when I first brought the car to him. After that I went and changed my battery with a new one and the check engine light was still on after he replaced two of the sensors. It’s really only been a month and 3 days and then honestly don’t know what to do. Now the Check engine light comes off and on when it feels like it my car is rattling now when it’s parked or in idling mode. I cannot get a refund because I signed a contract and was running so good before. Sometimes I’m scared to drive it on the highway because of the shaking.

  • Tonya T

    I bought a 2017 Hyundai Elantra around 55000 mi
    miles on it around the 4 month of having it I started having problems with the engine . had the ignition coil changed . then 2 months later engine problems again codes keep coming up as misfire but mechanic can’t find nothing wrong .. My car has been stalling ,shaking when car is about 60mph , check engine light comes on , won’t accelerate when I’m driving around 40 ish mph it gets stuck . I have taking to several places and they say they can’t find anything wrong .. I have only had 8months now . this seems to be a major problem for these cars . I’m lost of what to do is there any help I can get for this … I can’t continue to pay that has the same issue over and over .. I’m pretty much paying for a car that I can’t drive half the time because of these issues that are the same in most elantras

  • Lizzi S

    Its very easy for crooks to break into. I had it for 6 months and it was broken into 8x. The last time they got in they cut off the steering wheel heavy duty lock and broke into the very assesible steering column hot wired it and took off with it. It also hestated more often then should have on the freeway! And wouldn’t brake at a corner of very busy street

  • Kirk S

    Bought a 2017 Hyundai Elantra from CarMax last year August it’s not even a year since I have this car and start the car started giving me problem the engine light came on when I took the car to fix they said the coils burn out so they fix it ,now the engine light came on back again I do not know what’s going on I’m a nurse and that’s the only car I have to take me to work and bring me back home I do not know what to do I am so frustrated, can we find a lawsuit against manufacturers who make this car because it’s wasted time you buy something that you think is going to last you making a car payment but you cannot enjoy it

  • Naitsha L

    My wife has had issues with her 2017 Elantra limited from the beginning. She’s got to drive it so little it only has 80,000 miles on it and it’s 3 years old. Every issue it had the warranty conveniently expired before it could cover the issue. She went over the oil change a few times only by maybe 3k miles. Her engine started shaking hard, her oil levels were constantly getting burned up to the zero line, and eventually her car completely stopped turning on. When we took it they said it needs a desludging because she didn’t change the oil properly. We payed out of pocket $500 and this time did all the oil changes exactly when we needed to. Guess what. We have the same exact issue. My mechanic friend plugged in the reader and it turns out a cylinder is miss firing. I’m bringing them this article along with the error code to see what excuse they have this time.

  • Faith D

    Bought my 2017 elantra se with 23500 miles. I have 27500 miles on it now and a blown motor. Metal shavings in the oil pan. Apparently I am not the only one this has happened to.

  • Ryan s

    I drove this 2017 Hyundai Elantra SE m/t 6 speed for uber religious oil changes and at 90 k miles noticed the car was burning a significant amount of oil took it to the dealer ship only to be told after doing an oil consumption test that it was burning the right amount of oil (half a quart a week) at 110k my car would not travel up steep grades turns out all that oil was running my catalytic converters which it got to the point it would not even travel down the street. After fixing the catalytic converters the car soon after would stall, wouldn’t idle at stops and at 130k the car started letting out plumes of smoke on the free way. All of this has been told to the dealership whom has done nothing I filed an official complaint with Hyundai USA and they did nothing. Now I owe 10 thousand on a car that doesn’t run because it “burned the right amount of oil”.

  • Felicia

    Bought a brand new 2017 hyundai elantra oil changes were kept at 55,000 miles engine started making a rattling noise, oil was leaking, car kept turning off check engine light came on. Took it in, they said it was a gasket missing from the oil filter and that’s where leak was at. Again at 66,000 miles having the same engine problem, rattling noise,car turns off while driving and no oil leaking. Taking it in again to see what they say now. Looks like engines on these cars no good.

  • Todd S

    2017 Elantra GT: engine failure after 46K miles. Dealer will not replace engine under warranty, citing no dealer performed oil changes. I change my own oil. Since I cannot provide receipts for oil changes from a shop, they will not warranty. Caveat Emptor and don’t change your own oil!

  • Sharon K

    I purchase a vehicle 2017 Hyundai elantra se
    39,000 miles 2 month ago when I took the car home 1 week later the car did not want to start
    I called the car dealer he told me to bring it to their mechanic it took 5 days they found out it was the alternator. 3 weeks later the car started to shake while I was driving on the freeway. Their was alot of cars behind me I went to the last slower lane I got off the ramp . As I was going to a safer place to park the car shut off . I waited for 2 hrs then the car came back on but this time I was driving back home and I called the dealership I told them I am having trouble with the car it wasn’t 2 weeks the car started to break down . I am a disable person and I wanted my money back the dealer told me no since I signed the contract they told me do not take the car to no mechanic only to their mechanic. So now the car dealer told me to send the car back to the mechanic. I told them I am not pleased and not happy I have a lemon in my hands with a 7 yr contact. I am an elderly and I told them the car shakes when I drive it the check engine light flash off and on . While I am driving the car wants to stop .I cannot be going to the mechanic I am scared to drive the car now . All the dealer tells me is I cannot give
    Your money back but to keep sending you to our mechanic. I was very upset I had to postpone my doctor appointment I am a copd . Please help

  • Lyn.v

    Engine shuts off with no warning and no check engine light, its a huge safety issue and I already reported it to the ti NHTSA with confirmation #11277597

  • Adam

    Interesting read. 2017 hyundai Elantra SE bought brand new off the lot. Few thousand miles in radiator fan broke apart on the highway causing the radiator to have a gash and overheating the car. Just recently 12 or 13k the car stalled out while reversing into my drive way. Car started shuttering and shut off 100% multi lights on.
    Re started car and shut off again when i got it in.

    I had the car towed to dealer and they said they couldn’t find anything. A week later same thing again but started on an off ramp at for the highway. I was stopped on an incline and car started to shutter. I was forced to make an illegal turn to get the car to safety to prevent it from rolling into anyone behind me. After contact the dealer again they said we can validate.

    The third time it happened i called them and we did a joint ride with a tech. The car didn’t do anything at all but the tech said it must be the body grounds need cleaning. This “fix” seemed to work for about 3k miles.

    Fast foward to now 16k miles and the car shuttered while parked idling. The car is also hesitating on inclines.

  • Chanel N

    I have had brake issues this 2017 doesn’t stop fast enough, also shaking when starting the car, also bulbs going out, also now engine cutting off

  • Darrell D

    I got a Hyundai Elantra 2017 se just turn 60,000 miles lm got same problem lack of power and shakes bad l boult it used it ran good for a month now it shakes and feels like it don’t want to shift I need help want Do hal think it might be lemon

  • crystal

    I have taken my car in 3 times over the past year for serious shaking issues when starting my car and slowing down. the first time they couldnt find anything, this last time ignition coil….was bad and now its shaking again…So we shall see, I do not feel safe at all.

  • W. H

    My Hyundai Genesis Coupe 3.8L has been in Scottdales Chapman Hyundai since April 6, 2 019 until present time. Every time I ask for a repair date they consistently change it with a new date. Last date of transmission to be received and repaired was June 27th, 2019. I went to location and firmly spoke head serviceman, Michael Simpson, and told him my concern with the 3 month delay in repairing my vehicle, but got the same lip service of another repair date of after the 4th of July. This is about the 4th or 5th change of repair date with no guarantee that it wouldn’t change again. Then it was noted in e-mail that there were several other customers ahead of me for repairs as well. I informed them that I might get an attorney involved at this time and at that moment the service director said that he will not talk to me anymore… Do I have a case for reimbursement of car payments etc,????

  • Daniel A

    My 2017 Elantra GT suddenly stopped and it was towed to a dealer and the technician said one of my connecting rods seized and there were metal fragments in the oil pan. I have read that this is a major issue with this particular engine. When I bought the car and financed it through Credit Acceptance I was forced to buy a WYNNS protection plan and they are denying the repairs

  • Adam W

    My wife has a 2017 hyundai elantra and experience so serious shaking multiple times. One of the times was coming off the off ramp of the freeway. We took it into hyundai and they said they could not find the problem. Now the car will not start or when it does itsounds as if the entire engine is blown. Since we are now over the 60000 mile mark hyundai wont even deal with us even though we believe the problem to have stemmed from the original violent shaking that was never fixed when we originally brough it in

Leave a Reply or Comment

Write a comment below to share online. Or, instead you can to our legal team.
Email is required to block spam, but will not be published.

Please select your star rating.

Briefly describe your experience Briefly describe your experience

What’s your name? What’s your name?

What’s your phone number? Please enter a valid phone number

Want to know if you could sue? Get free legal evaluation Lemberg Law?

Get Your No-Obligation
Case Evaluation

Send a secure message to our legal team.

What’s your name? What’s your name?
What’s your email address? What’s your email address?
What’s your phone number? What’s your phone number?
Briefly describe the problem Briefly describe the problem
Confidentiality Guarantee: We keep your information completely confidential and will not send you spam or sell your information.