2017 Ford Fiesta Top Complaints and Problems – Is Your Car A Lemon?

Vehicle speed control, steering and powertrain issues among the top complaints received by the NHTSA from vehicle owners

By Brian Jones | Updated on

By Brian Jones | Updated on

As fewer cars appear on the road due to SUVs and trucks taking over, there’s one that still continues to sell well – the 2017 Ford Fiesta. This Ford is said to have a “Smart Design,” but we can’t find it. We wonder who defines that word “smart” in this equation because a vehicle created by intelligent people wouldn’t leave a faulty powertrain, defective steering and a malfunctioning vehicle speed control system to deal with.

Don’t be stuck with a lemon. You have legal rights to cash, return or buyback.

The law makes Ford pay legal fees.

We've fixed thousands of lemon problems. Message or call 877-795-3666 today.

NHTSA Complaints for the 2017 Ford Fiesta

Complaint CategoryNumber of Complaints
Power Train
13
Engine
10
Fuel/propulsion System
10
Unknown Or Other
5
Vehicle Speed Control
4
Service Brakes
3
Steering
3
Wheels
2
Wheels:lugs/nuts/bolts
2
Electronic Stability Control
2

Powertrain

A car’s powertrain consists of the transmission, engine and everything that causes the vehicle to move. When one part of this system gets out of whack, the entire structure is worthless. That’s why it’s imperative to drive a reliable, dependable vehicle. Unfortunately, numerous complains about the Fiesta powertrain exist.

One Edmunds reviewer wrote, “The challenge with the vehicle was the horrible powertrain; between the engine and the transmission, it couldn’t figure out what it wanted to do. This was especially horrible for a stop-n-go or heavy traffic situations such as one would face in a daily commute, the engine kept revving and the transmission kept changing, it was very indecisive.”

Ford has issued several Service Bulletins related to problems with the powertrain. Some of these include instruction on debris reaching the VCT solenoid, a clunking noise due to a defective A half shaft and trouble getting the Ford to start. They’ve also discussed issues that require throttle body replacement in Service Bulletin #SSM 46266. Overall, it’s clear to see that the Fiesta won’t provide the reliable powertrain most owners need, but by the time most people realize it, it’s simply too late. There aren’t do-overs in car buying.

Here are some actual complaints logged with the NHTSA about the 2017 Ford Fiesta Transmission Problems:

TL* The contact owns a 2017 Ford Fiesta. While driving various speeds, the vehicle lost power without warning and was difficult to restart. The vehicle was taken to heritage Ford be diagnosed. The dealer stated that there was evidence of a fault code; however, the transmission control module needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not contacted about the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 50,000. The VIN was not available.

The car jerks and shutters when pressing on the gas. The car loses power and will not go over 40-50 miles an hours, which is very dangerous when driving on the interstate. The car is not changing gear properly.

TL* The contact owns a 2017 Ford Fiesta. On several occasions, while driving various speeds, the vehicle jerked abnormally and stalled. The vehicle was taken to vista Ford woodland hills where it was diagnosed that the transmission control module was faulty; however, the manager stated that there was no failure with the vehicle. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 18,000.

Steering

If the car moves and operates as it should, the next vital aspect is the steering. When a driver turns the wheel from right to left, it’s expected that the wheels move in accordance. If they don’t, there are serious issues that might occur.

The NHTSA website reports on a complaint it received. “The contact owned a 2017 Ford Fiesta. While driving 55mph, the vehicle inadvertently drifted to the side of the road. The contact attempted to drive back to the roadway; however, the brake pedal failed to engage when it was depressed and the steering wheel seized without warning. As a result, the vehicle crashed into a tree. The contact stated that only the side air bags deployed. The contact noticed smoke coming through the air vents. The contact was unable to open the doors and had to exit through the passenger window. Upon inspecting the vehicle, the contact noticed that the CVC joint under the vehicle was fractured. The contact sustained back, arm, neck, right knee and right hip injuries as well as cuts on his left arm that required medical attention. A police report was filed. The vehicle was destroyed and towed.”

On this incident, and any other steering complaints, the automaker chose to remain silent. There’s not one Service Bulletin or recall discussing any issues with faulty steering systems. As far as the brakes go, which also appears to be a problem in this situation, Ford released Service Bulletin #SSM 46132 which only talks about faulty warnings about the brake system. With steering this bad, it’s a wonder we don’t see more vehicles slaloming down the highway.

Here are some actual complaints logged with the NHTSA about the 2017 Ford Fiesta Steering Problems:

Turning a curvature on a mountain road steering locked and brakes failed car went over the mountain as a result passengers three were injured and one fatality.

Vehicle Speed Control

Finally, we look at the vehicle speed control on the Fiesta. This is part of the advanced driver systems that should make modern cars safer, but only if they work correctly. Today’s technology has created a world of innovations that make roadways better, but Ford might need to take another look at their setups.

The NHTSA website received a complaint saying, “On July 15, 2019, my son was going around a sharp right corner when the car sped up out of control and crashed into a utility pole head-on. My son was driving on a city street and was going approximately 30 miles per hour. He’s uncertain what caused the sudden acceleration. The car was totaled and my son has a severely broken foot.”

What we’ve come to find with this particular model, is that numerous crashes and injuries are occurring due to the faulty equipment. Still, the company has yet to issue any recalls or raise a red flag that there are problems. It seems the troubles with Ford vehicles are downright dangerous and they haven’t done much to remedy the complaints.

The company prefers to give the silent treatment and hope everything just goes away on its own. It’s the same as when a child covers its eyes thinking you can’t see them anymore, except we still see you Ford, and so do all the unhappy drivers.

Here are some actual complaints logged with the NHTSA about the 2017 Ford Fiesta Vehicle Speed Control Problems:

I stopped twice on an intersection and a traffic light and the engine revved up to 3000 to 4000 rpm involuntarily from between 500 and 1000 rpm and I had to step hard on the brake in order not to have the vibrating car move forward. I did not hit the brake and the gas pedal at the same time. After I shifted the car into neutral at the next red light it did not show this behavior again. So it looks like a software glitch in the shifting computer part.

Your Lemon Law Legal Rights

Think you have a lemon? Sit back and let the experts work out your lemon case at no cost to you. The law makes Ford pay legal fees. You may be able to get your lemon out of your life. Every year, auto manufacturers buy back, replace or pay cash settlements to thousands of ‘lemon’ owners like you.

Complaint Data

CategoryEngine, Engine And Engine Cooling
DateOct 25, 2022
StateSC
Description
The contact owns a 2017 ford fiesta. The contact had initially taken her vehicle to an independent mechanic for a tune-up. The check engine light appeared on the instrument panel soon after service and the vehicle was taken back to the independent mechanic six more times. Despite multiple visits, the engine light remained illuminated on the instrument panel. The vehicle was then taken to a dealer who diagnosed the vehicle with a defective pedal sensor. The contract also replaced the battery which removed away the check engine warning light. The vehicle was then taken to another independent mechanic for an oil change; after the oil change, the oil warning light appeared on the instrument panel. The vehicle was taken back to a dealer where they informed her that the engine had overheated and led to engine failure. The contact was given an estimate for a new engine. The manufacturer was notified of the failure and referred her to the nhtsa hotline for assistance. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was approximately 126,000.
CategoryWheels:lugs/nuts/bolts
DateSep 15, 2022
StateFL
Description
The contact owns a 2017 ford fiesta. The contact stated that while the vehicle was parked in the driveway, she noticed that the rear driver's side tire was flat. The contact contacted roadside assistance however, roadside assistance was unable to replace the tire as the lug nuts were swollen and could not be removed. The vehicle was towed to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the lug nuts needed to be replaced and the failure was a known issue. The vehicle was not repaired. The vehicle was then towed to a tire store where the lug nut set was replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure and referred the contact the nhtsa hotline. The failure mileage was approximately 41,000.
CategoryEngine And Engine Cooling:exhaust System:emission Control
DateSep 02, 2022
StateTX
Description
The contact owns a 2017 ford fiesta. The contact stated that the check engine warning light had illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the local mechanic who diagnosed the failure as an evap emission system leak. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 79,250.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateAug 13, 2022
StateNY
Description
At intersection making a turn when vehicle wouldn't move forward. Transmission stoped working. Dangerous vehicle position. Signal light changed. Several cars honked horn and had to go around. Car was in gear (drive). After several minutes shifting into drive and reverse and back into drive I was able to complete turn and pull over to side of road.
CategoryPower Train
DateMay 24, 2022
StateOK
Description
The contact owns a 2017 ford fiesta. The contact stated that while driving at a low rate of speed, the vehicle shut off without warning. The contact had the vehicle towed to an independent mechanic after multiple attempts to restart the vehicle. The independent mechanic then informed her that only a dealer could repair the vehicle; therefore, the vehicle was towed back to her home. The vehicle was then towed to a dealer where she was informed that the tcm (transmission control module) needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was notified of the failure but offered no assistance; they then referred the contact to the nhtsa. The vehicle was not repaired and remained in the possession of the dealer. The failure mileage was unknown.
CategoryPower Train
DateApr 27, 2022
StateDC
Description
The contact owns a 2017 ford fiesta. The contact stated that upon starting the vehicle, a yellow wrench warning symbol and "engine malfunction service now," warning message appeared on the instrument panel. The contact also stated that the vehicle would intermittently stall while driving at various speeds with the warning light remaining illuminated. The contact called several dealers including ourisman ford of alexandria (6129 richmond hwy, alexandria, va 22303), upper marlboro ford(5701 crain hwy, upper marlboro, md 20772), koons ford of silver spring (3111 automobile blvd #1, silver spring, md 20904) and was informed that the failure might be related to a transmission defect. The manufacturer was notified of the failure and the contact was informed that there were no recalls on the vehicle; he was then referred to the nhtsa for assistance. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was approximately 115,000.
CategoryWheels:lugs/nuts/bolts
DateMar 01, 2022
StateMD
Description
The contact owns a 2017 ford fiesta. The contact stated that while driving at an unknown speed, the vehicle was jerking while an unknown warning light was illuminated intermittently. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was diagnosed; however, the contact was not informed of the cause of the failure or what needed to be repaired. The vehicle was repaired. In addition, the contact stated while having maintenance repairs on the vehicle, the mechanic informed her that the lug nuts were swollen on all four wheels and needed to be replaced. The contact mentioned that it was difficult to remove the lug nuts. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 98,743.
CategoryFuel/propulsion System
DateDec 14, 2021
StateNY
Description
The contact stated there was a warning indicator of po456 and p1450. The contact stated there was an abnormal winding sound detected. Additionally, while driving the vehicle hesitated. The vehicle was taken to the local dealer to be diagnosed and fixed but in 4 months again the problem showed in the car. The contact was informed that the canister purge valve needed to be replaced.
CategoryPower Train:clutch Assembly, Power Train:clutch Assembly:master Cylinder
DateDec 13, 2021
StateKY
Description
The contact owns a 2017 ford fiesta. The contact stated while driving 65 mph with the cruise control engaged, the contact depressed the clutch to shift gear however, the clutch seized, and the contact was unable to shift into gear. The contact placed the vehicle into neutral and veered to the side of the road. The contact looked under the hood and smelled an abnormal chemical odor coming from the engine. The contact had the vehicle towed to a local dealer who diagnosed the vehicle with a faulty clutch. The contact was informed that the clutch needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 120,000.
CategoryFuel System, Gasoline
DateOct 18, 2021
StateNC
Description
The contact owns a 2017 ford fiesta. The contact stated the vehicle lost motive power and stalled. The contact stated there was a warning indicator of po456. The contact stated there was an abnormal winding sound detected. Additionally, while driving the vehicle hesitated. The vehicle was taken to the local dealer to be diagnosed. The contact was informed that the canister purge valve needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified. The contact mentioned another recall involving another year, make, and model and indicated the failure was like nhtsa campaign number: 18v735000 (fuel system, gasoline). The approximate failure mileage was 60,000.
CategorySeats
DateMay 10, 2021
StateOH
Description
Tl* the contact owns a 2017 ford fiesta. The contact stated that while stationary, the driver's side front seat fractured. The contact was stuck by a metal piece when he sat in the seat. A dealer was not contacted. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not informed of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 43,000.
CategoryEngine, Forward Collision Avoidance: Automatic Emergency Braking
DateApr 11, 2021
StateNC
Description
After an oil change, oil completely drained from engine. No visible leak from oil pan plug or oil filter.*dt the consumer stated the failure was determined to be an untightened oil filter.
CategoryFuel/propulsion System
DateApr 01, 2021
StateCA
Description
Fuel purge valve leaking. Ford part number d2b19c987ab for whole assembly or b33tb bosch for specific valve. Ford denies this is related to emissions therefor not covered under the extended warranty for emissions parts. Everybody is calling it an emissions device that controls fumes from gas tank. Many other owners have same problem, it's very common. Code p1450 and p0456. Causes car to not turn on after filling up gas tank. For some it has stalled the car while driving and unable to start car. This part should be replaced under warranty. 2017 fiesta, 50k miles. Easy way to test is pull the tube from between the engine and firewall and if vacuum is present it's leaking. Does not require tools to disconnect. There is a green tab on the tube that you use fingers to push. Again no tools required and takes 10 seconds to do. Purge valve is suppose to be shut off by default. If air is moving through, you have a leaking valve. If you remove the whole assembly and blow on the end, it needs to not come out from other end.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateMar 15, 2021
StateMD
Description
The door latch chrome has delaminated and acts like a razor blade severely cutting my finger. This is the second time that this has happened. It occurs when I am opening the door and the chrome detaches from the latch and cuts.
CategoryEngine, Fuel/propulsion System
DateMar 03, 2021
StateCA
Description
Car wants to stall after getting fuel
CategoryEngine, Fuel/propulsion System, Vehicle Speed Control
DateJan 26, 2021
StateSC
Description
I was in an accident in 2019 a few months after purchasing car since then my engine light was on. Had it serviced and the engine light was still on. Was told it could be a transmission problem. Every now and then it would shuttle once started. Today it didn't want to excellerate while driving
CategoryPower Train
DateOct 13, 2020
StateNY
Description
On occasion while backing up steep at home driveway (aprox 15-20 degrees) transmission slips out of gear and rolls forward. Step on brake immediately and instantly shifts back into reverse. Has happened 3-5 times since vehicle was new.
CategoryPower Train
DateSep 03, 2020
StateIL
Description
Tl* the contact's daughter owns a 2017 ford fiesta. The contact stated that while her daughter was driving at various speeds, the vehicle hesitated as several transmission warning lights would appear on the instrument panel. Due to the failure, the contact's daughter had the vehicle towed to auffenberg ford north, inc. (115 regency park, o'fallon, il 62269) where the contact was informed that the clutch failed inside the transmission and needed to be replaced. The contact was informed that there were no recalls on the vehicle. The manufacturer was also notified of the failure and referred the contact to nhtsa for assistance. The vehicle had yet to be repaired. The failure mileage was approximately 65,000. *bf*ln *tr*as
CategorySteering, Suspension, Wheels
DateAug 29, 2020
StateTX
Description
Only had vehicle a month. Had 2 blow outs on tires. Have had problems with suspension since that time. Had to several alignments and replace more tires due to ware. Have problems with steering mostly on the passenger side still continues
CategoryFuel/propulsion System, Power Train
DateJul 07, 2020
StateMD
Description
Not sure if it's the fuel system or the power train but I am having the same problem as lots of other people with this car! The check engine light is on and has read a code for a valve. My car is a 2017 and will not start right away after I add gas! I've been told its the engine valve and have had no luck finding anyone to cover it under warranty! Ford needs to recall this vehicle!
CategoryUnknown Or Other, Visibility/wiper
DateJun 30, 2020
StateTX
Description
My vehicle tints in the back and passenger front side are staring to warp. This make it difficult to view where I'm turning. I can roll down the passenger window for visibility but can't do this for the back, which sucks. I don't have the funds to have tints redone. What do I do in this situation? *tr
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateMay 11, 2020
StateVA
Description
My 2017 ford fiesta has a malfunctioning canister purge valve. I am having the same exact problem for which the 2018 ford focus cars were recalled. My car is only 2 & 1/2 years old and it is stalling after I fill it up with gas. After filling up at the gas station, it will not start on the first try. It starts on the second, third, or fourth try. The check engine light is on now as well. The dealership says it is not covered by my warranty. I have 56,000 miles on it. This car needs to be recalled. They will not pay for the costly repairs due to their faulty purge control valve. The 2017 ford fiestas need to receive the same recall that the 2018 ford focus cars did. This is the same problem! (I do not know if the evap system is considered to be under powertrain or fuel/propulsion system.) *tr
CategoryFuel/propulsion System
DateApr 30, 2020
StateNC
Description
Engine light continues to come on. After adding gas to vechicle, ℂ𝕒𝕣 will stall. Sometimes takes several minutes to start. Was told by several mechanics it's the fuel system bc there is no cap, only the flap that doesn't close properly. Car has stalled while driving several times. Only 58,300 miles on vechicle. I've seen many complaints on this particular issue with this model. It is a safety issue when car stalls on highway or while driving. This has happened several times! Car always has issues starting after adding gasoline.
CategoryElectrical System, Fuel/propulsion System, Power Train
DateFeb 15, 2020
StateTX
Description
The car evap purge valve stays open. The car idles and dies everytime I put gas in. The purge valve was replaced less than a year of purchasing the car and it's gone bad again. The check engine light and engine malfunction warning came on then two days later the car died after I added gas and took 2 hours to start. I bought a new battery and drove it another week. It still idles after adding fuel even with the new battery. It finally died and I had it towed to the ford dealer and they did a diagnostic and said the catalytic converter, throttle body and evao purge valve, o2 sensor is bad and all 3 needs replacing.
CategoryFuel/propulsion System
DateFeb 01, 2020
StateSC
Description
Every time I get gas, my car will not start for about 15 minutes.
CategoryFuel/propulsion System
DateJan 13, 2020
StateFL
Description
Tl* the contact owns a 2017 ford fiesta. The contact stated that after filling the vehicle with gasoline, the vehicle would not start without warning. The contact stated that the engine warning light had remained illuminated on the vehicle prior to experiencing the failure. The contact took the vehicle to veterans ford located at 7201 w linebaugh ave, tampa, fl 33625 where she was informed the vehicle was not included in nhtsa campaign number: 19v515000 (fuel system, gasoline). The manufacturer had been notified of the failure and referred her to nhtsa. The vehicle had not been repaired. The failure mileage was 61,800.
CategoryAir Bags
DateDec 25, 2019
StateNC
Description
My airbag deployed after an accident burnt my left hand and then caught on fire and was burning and then deployed after it burned. I was driving the car when I had the accident
CategoryEngine
DateDec 06, 2019
StateNJ
Description
After and while gassing up car stalls and does not start up right way.. Sounds like evap sensor and canister issues and ford does not want to know about it.. And car only has 60000 miles
CategoryFuel/propulsion System
DateDec 06, 2019
StateCA
Description
Purge valve leaking, has caused car to stall in idle at intersection. Read in forums it is a common issue in focus and fiesta models.
CategoryElectrical System, Engine, Exterior Lighting
DateOct 20, 2019
StateFL
Description
The car want start and the oil light and engine light is on. I had a oil change done on the car today after getting it home it will not start up the battery is good but the car is just not start. Its turning over but staying on
CategoryPower Train
DateOct 02, 2019
StateAZ
Description
Car refuses to start while in p (park). Will start in n (neutral) with difficulty.
CategoryEngine
DateAug 26, 2019
StateAL
Description
My car been acting like it don't wanna start back in march its been saying engine malfunction service now and I been in contact with ford about it for the longest. I wanted them to fix it because I got the car from them and I knew I was still in my warranty. Then my car was only a year and a half old. They been telling me the part been on back order and some people said they don't a order for my car but 3 weeks ago from today I was driving my car and it started slowing down on was on martin luther king drive . I got an oil change a week before my warranty expired no one said anything to me about my car needed more work and they didn't say anything about the part I ordered. It's like as soon as my warranty expired my car started skipping and not wanting to start. I got my car towed and ford worked on it saying that the throttle body to my car went out and it needed to be replaced. I have pictures and videos from when my car started acting up to when it stop driving. *tr
CategoryEngine, Power Train
DateAug 13, 2019
StateCA
Description
Vehicle engine stalls when in traffic. When I decelerate and engage the clutch (manual transmission), sometimes the engine speed will go so low, the engine stalls. It usually happens in very heavy traffic and I have to engage the clutch. This always happens when the vehicle is in motion. This happens pretty much anywhere, street, highway, freeway, drive way. It only happens when the clutch is engaged. If the car is in gear and the clutch is not engaged, it wont stall. I did take it to hemborg ford in norco, ca and they reflashed the computer, but it still is happening. Yesterday 12 aug, I was entering a roadway and a vehicle jumped in front of me. I applied both the brakes and clutch and when I tried to accelerate, the engine was stalled creating a very dangerous situation as I was already committed to entering the roadway and vehicles were approaching me from behind at a very high rate of speed.
CategoryPower Train
DateJul 24, 2019
StateIN
Description
Tl* the contact owns a 2017 ford fiesta. While driving various speeds, the vehicle lost power without warning and was difficult to restart. The vehicle was taken to heritage ford (located at 2075 edsel ln nw, corydon, in 47112, (812) 738-3284) to be diagnosed. The dealer stated that there was evidence of a fault code; however, the transmission control module needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not contacted about the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 50,000. The vin was not available.
CategoryElectronic Stability Control, Vehicle Speed Control
DateJul 17, 2019
StateIN
Description
On july 15th 2019, my son was going around a sharp right corner when the car sped up out of control and crashed into a utility pole head on. My son was driving on a city street and was going approximately 30 miles an hour. He's uncertain what caused the sudden acceleration. The car was totaled and my son has a severely broken foot.
CategorySeats, Unknown Or Other
DateJul 09, 2019
StateCA
Description
Seats are poorly made. The hard plastic piece where the seat adjustment is located broke on my 2 year old vehicle. Broke while stationary.
CategoryPower Train
DateJun 04, 2019
StateKY
Description
Takata recall the clutch is going out of the transmission
CategoryWheels
DateMay 15, 2019
StateMO
Description
While driving down the highway the wheel to my car split in two. It was not caused from hitting anything, there was no potholes, etc in the road. I was traveling at approx. 60mph on a straight road when this happened and thankfully nobody was injured. The tire was not involved. The wheel just split into two pieces!!!
CategoryEngine, Service Brakes, Steering
DateApr 20, 2019
StateCA
Description
Turning a curvature on a mountain road steering locked and brakes failed car went over the mountain as a result passangers three were injured and one fatality.
CategoryPower Train, Service Brakes, Structure:body
DateMar 19, 2019
StateSC
Description
Vehicle swerved in right rear quarter panel with no wind, air, or other source of pressure on interstate. Tires, especially right rear, spun without movement when clutch engaged in driveway; entire vehicle failed to move or gain traction when clutch fully engaged in friends dirt yard; at odd times, vehicle made noise in right rear axle/wheel area failing to respond to clutch release--most noticeably on concrete pad in front of garage with two mechanics questioning. Returned vehicle to dealer as unsafe to operate with request that it be trashed rather than sold to unsuspecting buyer who might find themselves marooned or wrecked without knowing how or why it happened.
CategoryEngine
DateFeb 18, 2019
StateAZ
Description
I recently purchased the 2017 ford fiesta, (just hit the 30 day mark), and about a week in I noticed the car do this jolt thing while accelerating. I thought I may have been just laying my foot too hard on the gas by accident but now, on a few different occasions, while slowing the car down it has violently jumped forward. It started as seeming to have a hard time switching gears on acceleration but these few times I was slowing with my put on the brake and it thrusted forward, violently.
CategoryPower Train
DateJan 17, 2019
StateDC
Description
The car jerks and shutters when pressing on the gas. The car loses power and will not go over 40-50 miles a hours, which is very dangerous when driving on the interstate. The car is not changing gear properly.
CategoryPower Train
DateJan 02, 2019
StateCA
Description
Tl* the contact owns a 2017 ford fiesta. On several occasions, while driving various speeds, the vehicle jerked abnormally and stalled. The vehicle was taken to vista ford woodland hills (located at 21501 ventura blvd, woodland hills, ca 91364, (818) 884-7600) where it was diagnosed that the transmission control module was faulty; however, the manager stated that there was no failure with the vehicle. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 18,000.
CategoryService Brakes, Steering
DateJun 19, 2018
StateMO
Description
Tl* the contact owned a 2017 ford fiesta. While driving 55 mph, the vehicle inadvertently drifted to the side of the road. The contact attempted to drive back to the roadway; however, the brake pedal failed to engage when it was depressed and the steering wheel seized without warning. As a result, the vehicle crashed into a tree. The contact stated that only the side air bags deployed. The contact noticed smoke coming through the air vents. The contact was unable to open the doors and had to exit through the passenger window. Upon inspecting the vehicle, the contact noticed that the cvc joint under the vehicle was fractured. The contact sustained back, arm, neck, right knee, and right hip injuries as well as cuts on his left arm that required medical attention. A police report was filed. The vehicle was destroyed and towed. The dealer frank fletcher ford (3015 turkey creek rd, joplin, mo 64801, (417) 317-5299) was contacted and did not assist. The vehicle was not taken to a dealer or independent mechanic to be diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 43,000. The vin was not available.
CategoryVehicle Speed Control
DateMay 02, 2018
StateNY
Description
When I moved gearshift from park to drive, car accelerated violently. I do not believe I accidentally used the accelerator, this occured in parking lot. After moving about 20 feet I hit a heavy gate with enough force to do extensive damage to car including bent chassis.
CategoryVehicle Speed Control
DateAug 23, 2017
StatePA
Description
I stopped twice on an intersection and a traffic light and the engine revved up to 3000 to 4000 rpm involuntarily from between 500 and 1000 rpm and I had to step hard on the brake in order not to have the vibrating car move forward. No, I did not hit the brake and the gas pedal at the same time. After I shifted the car into neutral at the next red light it did not show this behavior again. So it looks like a software glitch in the shifting computer part.
CategoryElectronic Stability Control
DateJul 14, 2017
StateVA
Description
While I was driving going up on a hill and trying to accelerate from 35 to 35, even though I'm pressing the gas pedal, there is no response for 1 minute and then suddenly it will accelerate up to 45 to 50 and it's so scary especially when it starts going faster on the sharp curves and driving up. I had to brake to slow it down but I don't want to be rear ended. This has been happening lately and it's a safety concern for my family.

Who are we? We are Lemberg Law, a Consumer Law Firm

Lemberg Law is a consumer law firm helping victims of bad manufacturing and run-arounds from auto companies. We are ranked A+ by the BBB. Call our Helpline today!  There is no charge unless we win.

Share your story

Does this ring a bell? Have you had a bad experience too? Sound off and share your experience with other visitors in the comment box below.

Brian Jones

About the Author:

Brian Jones spent more than 20 years working as an ASE Certified Master Tech and Parts Specialist at multiple dealerships. Brian has become an authority in the industry, traveling across the country to consult for car dealerships and contributing his expertise as a writer for several major automotive publications. In his spare time, Brian enjoys working on pickup trucks, muscle cars, Jeeps and anything related to motorsports.

See more posts from Brian Jones
BE THE FIRST TO COMMENT

Leave a Reply or Comment

Write a comment below to share online. Or, instead you can to our legal team.

Please select your star rating.

Briefly describe your experience Briefly describe your experience

What’s your name? What’s your name?

What’s your phone number? Please enter a valid phone number

Want to know if you could sue? Get a free legal evaluation Lemberg Law?

Get Your No-Obligation
Case Evaluation

Send a secure message to our legal team.

What’s your name? What’s your name?
What’s your email address? What’s your email address?
What’s your phone number? What’s your phone number?
Briefly describe the problem Briefly describe the problem
Confidentiality Guarantee: We keep your information completely confidential and will not send you spam or sell your information.