2017 Cadillac Escalade Top 3 Complaints and Problems – Is Your Car A Lemon?

Braking, Electrical System and Transmission issues among the top complaints received by the NHTSA from vehicle owners

By Brian Jones | Updated on

By Brian Jones | Updated on

When drivers get behind the wheel of a 2017 Cadillac Escalade, there’s an expectation of quality. The 2019 model is referred to as “The Original Icon of Arrival” from GM. What does that mean about models prior to that year? If you ask owners, you hear an overwhelming response that this SUV wasn’t worth the premium price. From faulty brakes, a defective engine and jerky powertrain, drivers have a lot to contend with when heading out on the road.

Click on other model year to view more problems: 2018   2020   2021

Don’t be stuck with a lemon. You have legal rights to cash, return or buyback.

The law makes Cadillac pay legal fees.

We've fixed thousands of lemon problems. Message or call 877-795-3666 today.

NHTSA Complaints for the 2017 Cadillac Escalade

Complaint CategoryNumber of Complaints
Service Brakes
15
Power Train
12
Engine
8
Unknown Or Other
6
Electrical System
5
Structure:body
4
Suspension
2
Electronic Stability Control
2
Vehicle Speed Control
2
Exterior Lighting
2

Brakes

Brakes are designed to stop a vehicle. When the system fails, you are at risk for injury and accidents. That’s exactly what owners of the 2017 Cadillac Escalade find. Whether it becomes hard to brake or impossible to stop at all, owners aren’t happy with what they are finding behind the wheel.

Here’s one complaint that was filed with the NHTSA. “The contact owns a 2017 Cadillac Escalade ESV. While attempting to park the vehicle, the brake pedal traveled to the floorboard. The vehicle failed to stop and crashed into another vehicle. There was no warning indicator illuminated. The airbags did not deploy. There were no injuries and a police report was not filed. The vehicle was damaged, but not totaled. The vehicle was taken to City Cadillac where it was diagnosed that the master cylinder leaked fuel and damaged the brakes.”

GM issues several correspondences to deal with faulty brakes. One of the prevalent fixes comes from Service Bulletin #PIT5361D. In this situation, drivers struggle to depress the brake pedal. At the time, there might also be a ticking noise heard. This requires replacement of the vacuum pump, vacuum line, brake booster or master cylinder, depending on where the failure is. While Cadillac believes their SUV ushers in iconic arrival, you have to wonder if you can stop once you get there.

Here are some actual complaints logged with the NHTSA about the 2017 Cadillac Escalade Brake Problems:

TL* THE CONTACT OWNS A 2017 CADILLAC ESCALADE ESV. WHILE ATTEMPTING TO PARK THE VEHICLE, THE BRAKE PEDAL TRAVELED TO THE FLOORBOARD. THE VEHICLE FAILED TO STOP AND CRASHED INTO ANOTHER VEHICLE. THERE WAS NO WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED. THE AIR BAGS DID NOT DEPLOY. THERE WERE NO INJURIES AND A POLICE REPORT WAS NOT FILED. THE VEHICLE WAS DAMAGED, BUT NOT TOTALED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO CITY CADILLAC WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE MASTER CYLINDER LEAKED FUEL AND DAMAGED THE BRAKES. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE TECHNICIAN REPAIRED THE BRAKES, BUT THE REPAIR SPECIFICS WERE NOT DISCLOSED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE AND DID NOT ASSIST. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 18,000.

Engine

The engine is the powerplant for the car. It’s a required component needed if you plan to go anywhere. With a faulty engine, drivers can’t rely on their transportation, no matter how much they paid for it. That’s what many owners are running into with the 2017 Cadillac Escalade.

One owner wrote on Edmunds, “Run from this car!! It is the biggest piece of crap we have ever owned! Car is less than 2 years old with 18K miles on it. Car was in shop 2 months ago for a bent engine rod” and now car is in the shop AGAIN for knock sensor not to mention issues with traction control going on and off by itself. Buy or lease something else as this is by far the WORST SUV we have ever owned. Should of stayed with our Infinity.”

The automaker has countless correspondence related to engine issues and concerns. Specifically, Service Bulletin #17-NA-166 addressed the common problem of rough idle while in Drive. To repair the problem, GM recommends that technicians inspect for trouble with the engine mounts and replace them as needed. While this doesn’t address the same issues as the complaint above, it shows the magnitude of trouble from this SUV. When the vibration becomes excessive, it places additional strain on other components and can lead to further failure. The engine is the lifeline of your car and it must run properly for everything to remain smooth. In this case, very little seems to be smooth and comfortable.

Here are some actual complaints logged with the NHTSA about the 2017 Cadillac Escalade Engine Problems:

ENGINE CEASED RUNNING AT 55 MPH. CHAIN OF FAILURES- ENGINE VALVE STEM FRACTURED (CYLINDER # 2), VALVE DROPPED INTO CYLINDER, PISTON STRUCK VALVE, VALVE DEFORMED TO CYLINDER HEAD, ENGINE CEASED PROPERLY DETONATE FUEL COMPLETELY, MULTIPLE CODES, ENGINE SHUT OFF.

IT HAS HAPPENED SEVERAL TIMES , WHILE DRIVING IN A PARKING LOT AT 10 MPH WHILE MAKING A TURN THE ENGINE SHUT OFF, LOST STEERING AND BRAKES AND THE STABILITRAK WARNING LIGHT CAME ON… THE ENGINE RESTARTED IN ABOUT 5 SECONDS… I CONTACTED CADILLAC MAIN OFFICE LAWANDA 855-880-1400 EX 5911833 AND SENT A EMAIL TO MARY BARRA CEO… THEY GAVE ME A CASE #[XXX] THEY ARE AWARE OF THE PROBLEM AND RECALLED OVER ONE MILLION VEHICLE BUT MY VIN NUMBER HAS NOT BEEN ADDED YET.. THEY WILL NOT FIX IT TILL GM ADDS MY VIN TO THE NATIONAL RECALL #18289… I WAS TOLD OFF THE RECORD THAT MONEY TRUMPS CONSUMER SAFETY….THEY ARE MAKING US PICKUP THE CAR WITH THE KNOWLEDGE BY US DRIVING THE CAR COULD KILL SOMEONE IF WE LOOSE STEERING AND BRAKES WHILE DRIVING..

Powertrain

The powertrain contains all of the parts that transmit power from the engine to the road. This includes the engine, drive shaft, differentials and transmission. It requires that many components work together in harmony for a peaceful, relaxed ride. With the 2017 Cadillac Escalade, owners aren’t experiencing the luxury they signed up for.

Read what an owner had to say on Edmunds, “I feel unsafe in this car. It jerks or lunges on me at a stop or slow speed at least once a day. The dealership has had my car 7 times and has not fixed it yet. I filed a lemon law complaint.”

GM addresses some drivability issues in Service Bulletin #16-NA-175. With the problem discussed, drivers experience a shake or shudder during acceleration when driving between 40 and 80 mph. The recommended fix is a transmission fluid flush, but the automaker claims it could take up to 200 miles after that flush to see improvement. The larger powertrain issues, like the one listed above, hasn’t been addressed by the company. It’s the way that GM makes the small problems large and the bigger complaints tiny. In magic tricks, misdirection is one of the main ways to accomplish deception and that’s exactly what we are looking at here – an elaborate magic trick with a very high price tag. Between faulty brakes, a malfunctioning engine and defective powertrain, there are a lot of things GM should be looking at, but for the most part, they aren’t.

Here are some actual complaints logged with the NHTSA about the 2017 Cadillac Escalade Transmission Problems:

TL* THE CONTACT OWNS A 2017 CADILLAC ESCALADE. WHILE DRIVING VARIOUS SPEEDS, THERE WAS AN ABNORMAL SHUDDERING AND VIBRATION FROM THE VEHICLE. THE CONTACT ALSO STATED THAT THE VEHICLE FAILED TO SHIFT INTO GEARS PROPERLY. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO DALE EARNHARDT JR. BUICK/GMC WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE TORQUE CONVERTER WAS POSSIBLY DEFECTIVE. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED; HOWEVER, THE FAILURE RECURRED. ADDITIONALLY, THE CONTACT STATED THAT THREE OF THE FOUR TIRES WERE ALSO REPLACED; HOWEVER, THE VIBRATION AND SHUDDERING PERSISTED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 6,000.

WHEN I AM DRIVING ON SMOOTH SURFACE STREETS SOMETIME THERE A FEEL OF INTERMITTENT JUTTERY RIDE WHICH FEELS LIKE YOU ARE RIDING OVER VERY SMALL SPEED BUMPS VERY CLOSE TOGETHER. I WAS TOLD BY TWO (2) MECHANICS THAT THERE IS A PROBLEM WITH THE TRANSMISSION THAT IS CAUSING THIS. I STARTED ABOUT TWO (2) MONTHS AGO AND CONTINUE DAILY.

Your Lemon Law Legal Rights

Think you have a lemon? Sit back and let the experts work out your lemon case at no cost to you. The law makes Cadillac pay legal fees. You may be able to get your lemon out of your life. Every year, auto manufacturers buy back, replace or pay cash settlements to thousands of ‘lemon’ owners like you.

Complaint Data

CategoryService Brakes, Suspension, Vehicle Speed Control
DateNov 08, 2022
StateTX
Description
•available for inspection. Unknown exact system failure •issue regularly occurs •dealership service. Transmission had to be replaced at around 10k miles and covered by warranty. •no lights indicating any problems. Forward collision alert activated. Vehicle has a lag between the time pressure is applied to the gas pedal and it causes a delay in acceleration resulting in the vehicle sort of lunging forward unexpectedly. About 15-20 seconds after the gas pedal is pressed it will have a sudden burst of quick acceleration. It only lasts a few seconds and there's no time to correct the sudden acceleration by braking. I finally realized the seriousness of the issue after I very close to being in an accident today as a result of the delayed acceleration. I was stopped at a red light and pressed the gas once it turned green, another driver happened to change lanes as soon as we crossed the intersection, moving to the front of my vehicle, probably closer than they should have but more than able for me to react under normal circumstances if needed. However, it occurred at the same time my vehicle randomly had a burst of acceleration and I had to swerve into the next lane to avoid hitting the car, because I wasn't expecting to speed forward and did not have time to correct by braking. It happens about 40% of the time when going over 15-20mph (estimate) after I come to a complete stop and then press the gas to begin moving again. For example it won't do it if I'm letting off the break to movie forward at a stop sign or lines, etc. It only happens when I accelerate with the intention of being able to reach the posted speed limit before I'd need to make another stop. Stop lights are the primary issue, as well as when exiting somewhere to get back onto the road, for example the gas station.
CategoryElectrical System
DateOct 12, 2022
StateVA
Description
The side view mirrors will randomly tilt to the sky or ground. Whatever it tilts to also becomes the saved position. The dealership has replaced the seat memory module, battery cables, fuse block and driver mirror. The dealership was unable to correct the issue and says there is nothing else they can do. The problem seems to occur wen the vehicle has been driving for 2 or more hours then goes away if the vehicle has sat for a few days.
CategoryVisibility:rearview Mirrors/devices
DateJul 28, 2022
StateMD
Description
The contact owns a 2017 cadillac escalade. The contact stated that the vehicle was equipped with a feature that once the vehicle was placed in reverse(r), both side view mirrors would adjust downward to assist with the driver's visibility. The contact stated that the vehicle would either fail to perform this function or would fail to readjust to its proper position once the vehicle was in drive(d). The contact also noted that the mirrors would also adjust upwards which obstructed the contact from using both side view mirrors while driving. The contact took the vehicle to a dealer where he was informed that a software update could be performed to correct the failure however, if the software update failed, the contact had to pay for the repair. The software update was performed; however, the failure persisted. The manufacturer had yet to be notified of the failure. The vehicle had yet to be repaired. The failure mileage was approximately 48,000.
CategorySuspension:front:control Arm
DateJun 22, 2022
StateMA
Description
Frame rotted where the control arm conects to the frame causing the control arm to break away from the frome. I lost steering fortunetly iwas coming to a stop. The dealer colonial cadillac woburn ma. Confirmed the damage. It was inspected by a tecnition at the dealership. No there was no warning, I bought an etended warenty when the origanel one ran out. Ty are not covering this? There resaning the say is because of rust. A 5 year old car should not rot out this bad.
CategoryEngine
DateMar 08, 2022
StateKY
Description
Driving and heard loud pop and shudder. Heavy vibration at highway speeds making vehicle unsafe to drive and vehicle also shuddered and acted like it was going to die when turning. Took to dealer and dealer discovered broken engine mounts. This is a known issue from gm. Tsb 17-na-166. Gm certified service refused once to look at the engine mounts while vehicle was under warranty and had me continue to drive it until warranty had expired.
CategoryTires:sidewall
DateJan 17, 2022
StateTX
Description
Purchased a new set of 4 in may of 2020 with 50,000 miles on the vehicle - just one year, 8 months ago and only 10k miles on the new set. Walked out yesterday morning and the rr tire was flat. Tried to add air and heard a rushing sound coming from the outside sidewall from a 3-4" broken, jagged slit. The car was driven yesterday and all was fine until it just blew. And no it was not cut by a ne'er do well overnight. The sidewall clearly failed as reported by so many with this alenza tire. Many others were driving when the dangerous alenza sidewall failed. I was lucky as we often drive this vehicle on interstate highways... And it texas that means 75 and 80 mph speed limits. I shudder to think what would have happened with a failing defected tire blowing at 80 mph!
CategoryElectrical System:adas:video Monitor/screen
DateNov 01, 2021
StateVA
Description
The contact owns a 2017 cadillac escalade. The contact stated while driving 55 mph, the touch screen monitor started jumping up and down and sporadically going in and out while the contact was attempting to use the gps. Additionally, the hands free and answer screen was inoperable. The vehicle was taken to the local dealer to be diagnosed. The contact was informed that the monitor was faulty and needed to be replaced. The contact was informed that the repair would be an out of pocket expense since the vehicle was no longer under warranty. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 38,000. The vin was unavailable.
CategoryForward Collision Avoidance: Automatic Emergency Braking, Service Brakes
DateOct 27, 2021
StateCA
Description
The brake assist function has been very sketchy and coming on unexpectedly and the emergency braking when reversing is malfunctioning and coming on unexpectedly with no need in error in a very hard/ fast stop. Yes its available for inspection. How was your safety or the safety of others put at risk? This puts my saftey as well as others at risk because the brake system is malfunctioning and at times unpredictable, and making quick/hard stops when not expected or necessary. The car was just in the dealership for repair of the break assist and I am sending it back in again because it is still malfunctioning. The vehicle has been inspected by the dealership. The brake assist light was coming on and off , sometimes but not all of the time and now that the car was serviced by the dealership the light is not coming on but their are still malfunctions. I do not feel safe driving this car.
CategoryPower Train
DateSep 11, 2021
StateCA
Description
I parked my 2017 cadillac in a parking spot put the car in park shut it off and put the brake on went in side the pharmacyand my daughter was in the passenger seat with the windows downwind the car went forward and hit a pole then rolled back and wrecked in the two cars with the car shut off in park a man tryed to stop it and the brake pedal was hard as a rock and the car was still in park . I got in to move the car and it was still in park .. I had the keys in my pocket in side the pharmacy..
CategoryService Brakes
DateJul 14, 2021
StateVA
Description
When applying the brakes at a slow speed (>20 mph), the brakes seem “spongy”. The brake pedal seems to require further travel to stop the vehicle. It feels as if air is trapped in the hydraulic system and this does not happen all the time, it is an intermittent problem.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateJul 12, 2021
StateMS
Description
Cadillac cue system has stopped working. Gm will not replace but is aware of the issues with the faulty system. Screen has been checked by the dealership. They indicate that they are aware of the issues with the system but no recall has been issued. Because this controls many functions of the vehicle, it's safety issue. Consumers should not have to pay the costs to have this issue resolved.
CategoryService Brakes
DateJun 28, 2021
StateMI
Description
I was travelling down the highway and the brakes failed to respond. I was able to deliver the car to a cadillac dealer in holland michigan. At highway speeds with no breaks I believe my families lives were in danger. We have brought the car into the dealership multiple times for electrical system issues and I believe these unresolved issues have culminated in the failure of the braking system at high speeds. The dealer has stated that it was a vacuum pump and it has now been replaced but found no other issues with the electrical system. There was a warning light for the brake assist feature during the drive prior to the brakes not functioning. We reported this to the dealer during the drive and they made an appointment for the following thursday (this was on a saturday). We were not notified at the time of the call that this issue could put our lives in danger or that we should stop driving the car.
CategoryStructure:body, Suspension
DateMar 23, 2021
StateGA
Description
I was retrieving something out of the truck and the liftgate fell on me. I never felt such excruciating pain. I had to lift the liftgate off of me. There was no warning or anything that gave me the indication the liftgate was malfunctioning. When I opened the trunk of the suv there was no indication something let this would happen because it opened just fine. This liftgate hit me so hard that it caused major bruises on my back and hips. I hurt my shoulder because I had to lift the liftgate off of me. To say the least I ended up in the emergency room. Me and my husband started seeing is this an ongoing issue with the liftgates and it is. So many complaints, yet no recalls. What does it take? Someone to be killed by this? So many people are being hurt, but gm does not recall this? So sad. Its time gm put people over profits!!! This should have never happened!!!
CategoryPower Train
DateDec 20, 2020
StateFL
Description
Repair please
CategoryPower Train
DateNov 19, 2020
StateCT
Description
*safety issue* escalade will shift violently into gear in either forward or reverse, causing vehicle to suddenly lurch. Condition is especially present when stopping at intersection on an incline. From a stop or rolling stop, the vehicle will be unresponsive to gentle acceleration for a second or two, then bolt into gear screeching the tires and launching vehicle violently forward. Likewise, from rolling stop then shifting to reverse to park, same lag with sudden burst of power. The effect is very similar to someone who is learning to drive a manual tranny in a muscle car. There seems to be no difference with transmission temperature, the intensity of the condition seems to be random, and difficult to intentionally recreate. Vehicle has been in shop twice, received the 18-na-355 bulletin service, and problem persists. Dealer indicates that transmission is operating as designed. Additionally, the transmission shifts harshly both up and down through gears 1-3 when gently accelerating or braking. Again, similar to someone who is learning to drive a manual transmission. I dont consider this condition a safety issue, but an annoyance and may well be related to the "lurching" condition.
CategoryPower Train
DateNov 08, 2020
StateKS
Description
We have owned this car for approximately two years. In the last six months the transmission has begun feeling clunky at times. What I mean is that sometimes the shift from 1st to 2nd or 2nd to 3rd the car lurches forward with a clunk as it shifts. If you do not have your foot firmly on the brake you could slide into traffic which thankfully has not happened as of yet. We took the car in for service on this and was told it was typical of escalades of our year and earlier(2017). They(eddy's cadillac in wichita ks) said cadillac needs to do a recall on this but they do not know how to fix it. We have a few other friends who had the same year or earlier and all eventually developed the issue. Ours started with the issue about 20k mileage mark. Cadillac needs to fix this issue because it is a safety concern and leaves me little doubt that with shifts that hard in the transmission that a failure is looming in the not to distant future.
CategoryElectrical System, Structure:body
DateOct 08, 2020
StateOH
Description
I remote started my vehicle to take my car into the dealership for service and when I went out to get into my vehicle the running board extended and I stepped on to running board, running board immediately started to retract into vehicle almost trapping my foot. I took vehicle to dealership and they were unable to recreate the issue. On 10/7/2020 when I went to pickup my car the lot technician brought the vehicle around to the front for me to get it and when he opened the door the running boards folded out and then almost immediately started to retract it could have trapped his foot between the running board and car too. The dealership has the vehicle and is trying to determine the problem. I have video evidence of the problem.
CategoryPower Train
DateOct 08, 2020
StateOH
Description
The vehicle makes a lot a whining noises when driving and then louder whining noises and odd noises that sounds like grinding when you make turns when then transfer case is on auto mode. Dealership told me to put car in off mode unless the roads are in bad shape but the owners manual does not say anything about that. I think there is a problem with vehicle.
CategoryPower Train
DateOct 08, 2020
StateOH
Description
The transmission shifts extremely harshly from 1-2 and from 3-2-1 intermittently. Sometimes this happens rough sometimes its rough and sometimes it doesn't happen at all. I am sure that this is damaging the transmission and one day the transmission will fail at an inopportune time and cause a potentially severe accident.
CategoryService Brakes
DateOct 08, 2020
StateOH
Description
The service abs brake please see dealer message has come up on my dash 3 times in the past 5 weeks. Each time the message appeared the vehicle operated very strangely when braking, the whole vehicle shook and made weird noises so I immediately turned around went home and grabbed our other vehicle. I then called cadillac and made an appointment at jake sweeney cadillac in lebanon ohio for service. The first two times they said they fixed this issue the most recent time they said they found no codes and were unable to figure out why this message appeared on my dash
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateJul 29, 2020
StateMA
Description
I developed an a/c leak from my condensor. Gmc, chevy and cadillac are very aware of how common this problem is and there is no recall.
CategoryElectrical System, Engine, Service Brakes
DateJul 16, 2020
StateCA
Description
Vehicle is affected by steering and breaks the car jurks
CategoryService Brakes
DateDec 20, 2019
StateNJ
Description
At low speeds the brake pedal becomes very slugs if pressed quickly for sudden stop, wile the truck continues to travel for a short distance.
CategoryElectrical System, Visibility/wiper
DateDec 02, 2019
StateOH
Description
It is possible to accidentally hit the lock bottom of the key fob while the vehicle is moving and cause the mirrors to fold. This feature should be disabled at the very least while the vehicle is moving. While traveling on the freeway I accidentally pressed the keyfob while it was in my pocket and the the press caused the mirrors to fold in while I was traveling down the freeway.
CategoryService Brakes
DateOct 15, 2019
StateNJ
Description
My car was the subject of a brake recall n192268490, I have had it to the dealer in flemington gm twice, the last time approximately 2 weeks ago. My car was kept for nearly 10 days and I still have a problem with the brakes, specifically hard braking and prolonged braking distance. Today at 1045 am I called customer service at cadillac gm and they were completely unhelpful telling me to bring it back to the dealer again. I need this fixed in a competent fashion
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateOct 10, 2019
StateNY
Description
Every time that I axelarate, there's a funny noise that I'm hearing from the bottom of the vehicle that battered my ears and the noise kept on going louder as I axelarate. Even more noise on the highways
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateSep 29, 2019
StateNC
Description
While stationary the hatchback will auto close randomly while a person is loading or unloading and does not stop or sense a person is there. It occurs at least once a month. It happens whether you have the fob on your body and when it's not. The hatchback will without warning begin to close while your head or body parts are in the way.
CategoryEngine, Power Train, Wheels
DateSep 20, 2019
StateNY
Description
Car is vibrating when you stop in traffic lights it fills very uncomfortable . I took the car to the dealership they didn't do anything and 2nd problem is steering wheel it gives metal knockin noise on the road bumps
CategoryService Brakes
DateSep 11, 2019
StateMI
Description
The first time I pushed my brake pedal and the brakes did not employ got a few seconds. I pulled over and called lafontaine cadillac service department to tow the car. The car dash displayed a power assist problem. They picked up the car and replaced the vacuum pump which fixed the problem. About 6 months to a year later, the same problem happened again. The brakes were pushed and the car brakes did not deploy for a few seconds. It was like the car was skidding on ice when no ice existed on the roads. It was warm outside. The car again displayed brake assist issue. I took the car back to lafontainr cadillac, and they replaced the vacuum pump again. A few months later, the brakes were pushed again in a driveway when the car was going maybe 3 mph or less. The brakes did not deploy for a second or so and the car appeared to be sliding. This happened also in the summer. The car again is at lafobtaine cadillac, highland michigan. My car is a 2017 cadillac escalade esv
CategoryEngine, Unknown Or Other
DateJul 23, 2019
StateMA
Description
Severe bucking and or surging when switching gears. Has actually surged when at a full stop.
CategoryUnknown Or Other
DateJul 09, 2019
StatePA
Description
I have had onstar for many years because of their advertisements concerning accidents that involve going off the road and not being found for days. I was traveling on I-81 and went into a ravine hit multiple trees and according to several witnesses flipped multiple times. All airbags deployed before this happened . My onstar did not activate. Fortunately as I stated there were witnesses that called 911 and located my vehicle not onstar . When I called to cancel my subscription they wanted to know why since they had no idea that my vehicle was demolished beyond recognition. Jaws of life was brought in to extract me and if not for the bad weather life lion to get me to hershey trauma center . I believe this should be looked into as I paid for this service and the outcome could have been fatal. Thank you for checking into this as I would not want this to happen to anyone else!
CategoryEngine, Power Train, Vehicle Speed Control
DateJun 20, 2019
StateFL
Description
Hard shifting, shaking, jerking, hesitating shuddering
CategoryElectrical System:wiring:fuses And Circuit Breakers, Structure:body
DateMay 28, 2019
StateNH
Description
Tl* the contact owns a 2017 cadillac escalade. While attempting to unlock the vehicle with the key fob, it would not unlock. The contact had to manually unlock the vehicle. Also, the vehicle did not start when the push start button was depressed. The vehicle was jumpstarted, but it had very little power. The vehicle was towed to amesbury chevrolet (103 macy street, amesbury, ma 01913) where it was diagnosed that water was entering the inside of the vehicle from the factory installed antenna on the roof. The water traveled through the interior of the dashboard and shorted the fuse box, which drained the battery. The contact was advised to bring the vehicle back because the tail lights were filled with water and also there was water in the rear of the vehicle. The vehicle was repaired for the fuse box failure. The manufacturer was notified of the failures. The approximate failure mileage was 2,600.
CategoryPower Train
DateMar 18, 2019
StateTX
Description
When I am driving on smooth surface streets sometime there a feel of intermittent juttery ride which feels like you are riding over very small speed bumps very close together. I was told by two (2) mechanics that there is a problem with the transmission that is causing this. I started about two (2) months ago and continue daily.
CategoryElectronic Stability Control, Engine, Service Brakes
DateFeb 26, 2019
StateFL
Description
It has happened several times , while driving in a parking lot at 10 mph while making a turn the engine shut off, lost steering and brakes and the stabilitrak warning light came on... The engine restarted in about 5 seconds... I contacted cadillac main office lawanda 855-880-1400 ex 5911833 and sent a email to mary barra ceo... They gave me a case #[xxx] they are aware of the problem and recalled over one million vehicle but my vin number has not been added yet.. They will not fix it till gm adds my vin to the national recall #18289... I was told off the record that money trumps consumer safety.... They are making us pickup the car with the knowledge by us driving the car could kill someone if we loose steering and brakes while driving... Parts of this document have been redacted to protect personally identifiable information redacted pursuant to the freedom of information act (foia), 5 u. S. C. 552(b)(6). *tt
CategoryElectrical System, Electronic Stability Control, Steering
DateFeb 21, 2019
StateFL
Description
Sporadically when driving the car, turning the wheel hard left or right the message will flash "service stabilitrak" while at the same time, the steering wheel position locks, the electronic system in the car shuts off, and no control of the vehicle is available. This lasts for approximately 1-2 seconds before the steering unlocks and vehicle control is restored. Vehicle has been in the service center for over a week now, and the dealer is trying to return the car to me stating "we cannot recreate the issue so we have no fix". We have photo and video of this happening (after I pulled over to take the video in a safe spot). This has happened multiple times with no rhyme or reason.
CategoryService Brakes, Service Brakes, Hydraulic:foundation Components:master Cylinder
DateOct 09, 2018
StateNY
Description
Tl* the contact owns a 2017 cadillac escalade esv. While attempting to park the vehicle, the brake pedal traveled to the floorboard. The vehicle failed to stop and crashed into another vehicle. There was no warning indicator illuminated. The air bags did not deploy. There were no injuries and a police report was not filed. The vehicle was damaged, but not totaled. The vehicle was taken to city cadillac (866-865-5420, located at 43-60 northern blvd, long island city, ny 11101) where it was diagnosed that the master cylinder leaked fuel and damaged the brakes. The contact stated that the technician repaired the brakes, but the repair specifics were not disclosed. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and did not assist. The failure mileage was approximately 18,000. *tt 'parts of this document have been redacted to protect personally identifiable information pursuant to the freedom of information act (foia), 5 u. S. C. 552(b)(6).' *jb
CategoryEngine, Power Train
DateAug 02, 2018
StateMI
Description
Engine ceased running at 55 mph. Chain of failures- engine valve stem fractured (cylinder # 2), valve dropped into cylinder, piston struck valve, valve deformed to cylinder head, engine ceased properly detonate fuel completely, multiple codes, engine shut off. No advanced signal given to driver, no alarms when engine shut off. Power steering and power brakes ceased to work while driving in 55 mph zone, on a turn coming to a red light. Extremely dangerous for 5 occupants. Failure as shown in pictures below of the valve component are related to a material imperfection. The natural of this failure during the metal forming process was not detected for this component and will exist within other components within my vehicle or other vehicles. Once the problem is identified and corrected, engines of the effected vehicles will have to be replaced to avoid this safety issue, as it leads to potential death.
CategoryService Brakes, Structure:body
DateJun 11, 2018
StateFL
Description
Tl* the contact owns a 2017 cadillac escalade. While driving 60 mph, the vehicle shook violently and brake fluid leaked from the vehicle. The vehicle was taken to vera cadillac (300 s university dr., pembroke pines, fl 33025, (954) 998-1684), but the failure could not be diagnosed. The contact stated that the vehicle had been serviced multiple times, but the failure recurred. The manufacturer was not informed. The failure mileage was 1,300.
CategorySeats
DateApr 27, 2018
StateTX
Description
Vehicle caught fire apr 9th between 6pm and 6:30 pm in houston texas due to second row passenger side seat heater malfunction. Vehicle was in motion on a public highway feeder road when the incident happened during rush hour. Vehicle had less than 2000 miles and was purchased brand new less than 30 days ago from ron carter cadillac of friendswood
CategoryExterior Lighting
DateMar 03, 2018
StateTX
Description
The headlights on the newer escalades seem much too bright. It really hurts the eyes of oncoming traffic.
CategoryPower Train, Service Brakes
DateJan 29, 2018
StateIL
Description
Tl* the contact owns a 2017 cadillac escalade. The contact stated that the vehicle rolled away independently. As a result the vehicle was involved in a rear end collision. There were no injuries and a police report was filed. The vehicle was deemed operable. Hove nissan (1405 n kinzie ave, bourbonnais, il) was unable to diagnose the cause of the failure. The manufacturer was notified of the failure and referred the contact to nhtsa. The failure mileage was approximately 17,000.
CategoryPower Train
DateOct 17, 2017
StateFL
Description
Tl* the contact owns a 2017 cadillac escalade. While driving various speeds, there was an abnormal shuddering and vibration from the vehicle. The contact also stated that the vehicle failed to shift into gears properly. The vehicle was taken to dale earnhardt jr. Buick/gmc (1850 capital cir ne, tallahassee, fl 32308, (850) 270-1453) where it was diagnosed that the torque converter was possibly defective. The vehicle was repaired; however, the failure recurred. Additionally, the contact stated that three of the four tires were also replaced; however, the vibration and shuddering persisted. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 6,000. *js
CategoryExterior Lighting
DateOct 12, 2017
StateTX
Description
Why are the headlights on new cadillacs, especially escalades, so blinding? It's like these vehicles have their headlamps permanently on bright.
CategoryService Brakes
DateApr 19, 2017
StateFL
Description
Tl* the contact owned a 2017 cadillac escalade esv. While driving approximately 35 mph, a police officer abruptly made a left turn causing a chain reaction crash of four vehicles. The contact depressed the brake pedal and it traveled all the way down to the floorboard. The contact crashed into the preceding vehicle. The police and the fire department were present and a report was filed. There were no injuries. The contact also stated that the driver assist system was not working and the dealer made an appointment to have the vehicle diagnosed. The frontal air bags deployed. The vehicle was not diagnosed and was deemed destroyed by the insurance company. The vehicle was towed to the dealer. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 1,400.
CategoryEngine, Service Brakes
DateJan 07, 2017
StateNJ
Description
Brake and gas pedals moved on their own without being commanded. Happened several times, vehicle not moving at the time. Took to the dealer and they observed it. Could not find the problem, sent me away. Happened again and dealer ordered a sensor to be installed when it comes in.

Who are we? We are Lemberg Law, a Consumer Law Firm

Lemberg Law is a consumer law firm helping victims of bad manufacturing and run-arounds from auto companies. We are ranked A+ by the BBB. Call our Helpline today!  There is no charge unless we win.

Share your story

Does this ring a bell? Have you had a bad experience too? Sound off and share your experience with other visitors in the comment box below.

Brian Jones

About the Author:

Brian Jones spent more than 20 years working as an ASE Certified Master Tech and Parts Specialist at multiple dealerships. Brian has become an authority in the industry, traveling across the country to consult for car dealerships and contributing his expertise as a writer for several major automotive publications. In his spare time, Brian enjoys working on pickup trucks, muscle cars, Jeeps and anything related to motorsports.

See more posts from Brian Jones
6 COMMENTS
  • Angela D

    I have a 2017 Platinum Escalade. It drove like a dream for the first 20,000 and after that well… it jerks shudders and vibrates. Now we are dealing with low brake pressure. I had the recall acknowledged and now it’s doing the same thing again. The service providers look me dead in the face and say It’s been taken care of. I’m like I struggle to stop the tank. Now it’s started dying while I’m driving. This hasn’t happened in a while so I was hoping we were over this fluke. I guess I can drive 50 without too much shudder and the car die and no brakes to stop. What a BS manufacturer.

  • Michele C

    Thank you for all thing information, I also just purchase a 2017 I was told by the dealer if I have any problems to bring it back. 2 days after I purchased the car covid19 closed everything. I have not been able to get back in to the dealer but one time since I got the car. I was having a lot of jerking and paid bell tire 1,500.00 to replace the rotating arm, ball join and a few other parts pertaining to the breaking system. I am still having the jerking and the engine light keeps coming on. Currently all the dealers a telling be they have a backlog of 4 weeks for transmission problems. I always try to support things made in the the motor city. I had every Cadillac made since 1982 this is the second one I have had problems. I think I am going to write a few letters, we all should send them to let people know what’s going on.

  • Carmen U

    I also have a 2017 Escalade and I have been in and out of the service department . I have paid over $2700 in “repairs” and the vehicle is still doing the jerking and lunges. I have had the transmission fluid flushed twice, spark plugs replaced, and the latest was a 500.00 cable… Im getting no where with Cadillac any suggestions in what my next steps should be?

  • Laura R

    2 months ago I just purchased a 2017 Cadillac Escalade and come to find out it has 97,000 miles on it now I know why somebody traded it in . I also asked the finance guy do y’all do a thorough check on these vehicles before y’all sell them and he said of course we do, the radio screen doesn’t work the seat doesn’t vibrate when you go into a lane it kicks when it’s in park like it’s ready to go so it definitely has transmission problems that they did not bother to say anything but told me that they do their whole inspection and there’s nothing wrong with it but clearly there’s a lot of things wrong with it so I need to file a lemon law

  • Christine C

    This is exactly what happens in your 2017. I have had it service, flushed, and driven by their service dept. It as still happening. Its been seen over 4 times.

  • Karen S

    Great information, definitely wish I had seen this prior to recently upgrading my 2007 Escalade with a 2017 Escalade. I do have a couple of questions:
    Are these failures more prominent in vehicles with low mileage, I.e. less than 20000 miles?
    Has GM released any recalls regarding these safety concerns ? I’ve searched and have not found anything.

    Any help is greatly appreciated.

Leave a Reply or Comment

Write a comment below to share online. Or, instead you can to our legal team.

Please select your star rating.

Briefly describe your experience Briefly describe your experience

What’s your name? What’s your name?

What’s your phone number? Please enter a valid phone number

Want to know if you could sue? Get a free legal evaluation Lemberg Law?

Get Your No-Obligation
Case Evaluation

Send a secure message to our legal team.

What’s your name? What’s your name?
What’s your email address? What’s your email address?
What’s your phone number? What’s your phone number?
Briefly describe the problem Briefly describe the problem
Confidentiality Guarantee: We keep your information completely confidential and will not send you spam or sell your information.